We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sailors' Rest

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
3 Moorabool St, Geelong, Victoria 3220, Australia
+61 3 5224 2241
Website
Today
08:30 - 22:30
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 08:30 - 22:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

308 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 307: English reviews
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A great location across from the bay . Casual seating arrangement under umbrellas . Menu catered for all, nice wine, and service.

Helpful?
Thank juliekI4093HN
SailorsRest, Manager at Sailors' Rest, responded to this review

Hi JuliekI4093HN, Thank you for your lovely review of Sailors Rest I'm so glad you enjoyed dining in our new alfresco area. Look out for some great new dishes and fresh summer wines on our new menu summer menu launching next friday. Look forward to having you again Kind Regards, Katherine manager@sailorsrest.com.au More 

Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Popped down at the weekend for the weekend of speed at called in here for breakfast. Loved it I had the Jack Sparrow, would highly recommend will try other items from the menu next time maybe the triple eggs benedict. Fresh juice, great coffee and service. Give it a go.

Helpful?
Thank John K
SailorsRest, Manager at Sailors' Rest, responded to this review

Hi John K, Thank you for your great review of Sailors Rest, sounds like a great weekend! So glad you enjoyed everything, hopefully next time you are back you'll be able to enjoy our great new summer menu! Kind Regards, Katherine manager@sailorsrest.com.au More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We booked an undercover table with sea views for 4 by email which was promptly answered. On the night we arrived early but were seated straight away by friendly staff. Our Bellarine Peninsula wine was excellent and my seafood marinara was very tasty. My husband enjoyed his fillet steak and our friends had salmon and whilst it was quite good... More 

Helpful?
Thank M N
SailorsRest, Manager at Sailors' Rest, responded to this review

Hi M N , Thank you for your great review of Sailors Rest! I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit and got the chance to enjoy some local produce and wine. Hopefully we will see you back to try our new dinner menu launching next week with a great new feel. Think Pork Belly,Grilled Lamb , Steak Frites and much... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We really enjoyed our brekky at Sailors rest. The friendly waitresses gave my son some colouring in, and he loved the freshly squeezed orange juice. Our pancakes were light & fluffy and my husband's bacon, eggs and rosti were cooked perfectly. My pancakes were sent out with the wrong topping but were quickly replaced with the correct order and an... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bethany T
SailorsRest, Manager at Sailors' Rest, responded to this review

Hi Bethany T, Thank you for your very kind review of Sailors Rest We aim to be a place that families love to come to, so it's so great to hear your whole family felt looked after. I'm dissapointed that we didn't get your pancakes right, but great to hear you still got to enjoy the ones you wanted. I... More 

Geelong, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Ordered the Wagyu Burger for dinner, could have got the same for $6 at a fish and chip shop, meat was about 1/2 cm thick, roll was soft and whole thing was tiny, poor value, asked for an egg in it and got charged an extra $3 - $23 all up, won't be back. Have been several times and food... More 

Helpful?
Thank DebGlee
SailorsRest, Manager at Sailors' Rest, responded to this review

Hi DebGlee, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. I'm dissapointed to hear you didn't enjoy your meal, the Wagyu Beef Burger is such a popular meal and so many say the combination is just right. We use Wagyu beef, the special Szechaun sauce, a specialty bun and that all comes at a cost. However we... More 

Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

New to Geelong and hungry and walked passed Sailor' Rest thought we may as well try this place. Beautiful location and outlook and the outside dining had shade or sun to sit in. We were served immediately by the friendly staff and the meals were quick to come out. Pricing was great and the meals were amazing and great size... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lyndell C
SailorsRest, Manager at Sailors' Rest, responded to this review

Hi Lyndell C, Thank you for your great review of Sailors Rest! I am so glad you stumbled upon us and enjoyed everything Keep an eye out for our new summer menu launching next friday. It will be the same great value with heaps of great new dishes Look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards, Katherine manager@sailorsrest.com.au More 

Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

The service was excellent, we ordered a Fishermans Basket The presentation was excellent, the calamari was perfect. We both struggled to get through the meal, the amount was great. At $ 26.50 I firmly believe it was good value

Helpful?
Thank Keith O
SailorsRest, Manager at Sailors' Rest, responded to this review

Hi Keith O, Thank you for your lovely feedback! The fisherman's basket certainly is a dish designed for a hungry fisherman (or 2!) You'll be happy to know we are definitely keeping it on our new summer menu, but we will be adding some great new dishes for you to try, with the same good value! Look forward to seeing... More 

Brisbane Region, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If your in the area, check out Sailors rest it's great! Great food! Great friendly staff. Food reasonably priced.. and good atmosphere close to the water! Will be back for sure! Enjoyed lots with the family.

Helpful?
Thank i_review_9000
SailorsRest, Manager at Sailors' Rest, responded to this review

Hi i_review_9000 Thank you for your glowing review of Sailors Rest! Be sure to come back next time you're in town to try our great new summer menu! all the favourites with some exciting additions! Look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards, Katherine Manager@sailorsrest.com.au More 

Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went here for lunch a few weeks ago, the meals were good. It is not the first time we have been here and I usually get the same thing every time: the chicken wrap which is consistently good and my wife is happy with the caeser salad. The service is good and it is kid friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Athony78
SailorsRest, Manager at Sailors' Rest, responded to this review

Hi Athony78, Thank you for your great feedback, we love hearing from our regular customers! The chicken wrap and the caeser are two classics we could never get rid of, but hopefully next time you are in we could persuade you to try one of our awesome new lunches from our new Summer menu! Look forward to having you again.... More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great food..lovely outlook, fast service, mostly smiling staff....what more could you want...had a great late breakfast...was also value for money...highly rcommended

Helpful?
Thank chrisfar2016

Travellers who viewed Sailors' Rest also viewed

 

Been to Sailors' Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$11 - US$18
Cuisine
Mediterranean, Cafe, Australian, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Brunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
08:30 - 22:30
Monday
08:30 - 22:30
Tuesday
08:30 - 22:30
Wednesday
08:30 - 22:30
Thursday
08:30 - 22:30
Friday
08:30 - 22:30
Saturday
08:30 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 3 Moorabool St, Geelong, Victoria 3220, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Victoria  >  Geelong
  • Phone Number: +61 3 5224 2241
Description
Sailors' Rest is open seven days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner dining in Geelong, as well as offering an extensive range of drinks and sweet treats to enjoy at any time of the day or night. We warmly welcome families with children at our restaurant, and have a kids' menu just for them! During the day you can indulge your desire for a café-style breakfast at any time with our all-day breakfast menu, a sweet treat with a coffee, or peruse our menu for a more substantial lunch with a glass of wine or a beer. With the moonlight shining on the bay, our Geelong waterfront restaurant is the perfect location for dining with family or friends, a drink and tasty snack with a mate, or a long overdue catch up and cocktails with a big group of friends or colleagues.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sailors' Rest staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?