We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pukekos Nest Cafe

) #26 of 63 Restaurants in Whanganui $$ - $$$ Cafe, , Gluten Free Options
4 State Highway 3 | Westmere, Whanganui 4571, New Zealand
+64 6-345 4706
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good36%
  • Average8%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible0%
20 Apr 2017
“Excellent Value”
12 Nov 2016
“Breakfast”
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Cafe, New Zealand, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
4 State Highway 3 | Westmere, Whanganui 4571, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2017

Pukekos Nest don't pretend to be something that they are not. Steak, Chips and Salad or Fish Chips and Salad are our usual order. The Steak is always perfectly Med Rare ( more on the rare side as asked for ) and flavoursome. The Fresh...More

Thank Kiwicas
Bob C, Owner at Pukekos Nest Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2017

Thanks for that Kiwicas, we try to do basic stuff well..good ingredients cooked properly, excellent Ozone coffee and above all our awesome crew with plenty of smiles! We strive for consistancy and we are always still learning! The icing on the cake is to get...More

Reviewed 5 January 2017

Coffee was good on our recent afternoon tea here but apricot slices and chocolate fudge slices were so hard they were inedible. These slices when attempting to cut with a knife shot all over the table. I was disappointed that $16 worth of food could...More

Thank byebyealbert
Bob C, Owner at Pukekos Nest Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2017

We are sorry to hear about your experience. The apricot and choc fudge slices are both kept in the chilled food cabinet and can be a bit hard when first taken out. Our staff offer customers the option of having them 'dechilled' to soften them...More

Reviewed 12 November 2016

A great breakfast for 6 no major waiting and coffee supberb.Restrooms on site and evening meals,wine catered for too.

Thank higgiesStratford
Bob C, Owner at Pukekos Nest Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2016

Thanks so much for your review Higgies, always nice to see you Taranakians through our way :-)

Reviewed 31 October 2016

Whenever we travel south we find this a great place to stop, have a drink or something to eat and have a break from driving.

Thank StephenOz2016
Bob C, Owner at Pukekos Nest Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2016

Thanks for your comments StephenOz, its always a pleasure to have travellers call in...its a great way to meet people! Glad you enjoyed your experience and we look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 26 August 2016

As I am usually in a rush and just want to buy some lunch, it would be nice to be able to just grab something vegetarian and run. Sadly on my last two visits there has not been a single vegetarian item in the cabinets,...More

Thank crosis
Bob C, Owner at Pukekos Nest Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2016

Thanks for your posting Crosis. We almost ALWAYS have vegetarian optionS in our cabinet ( quiches, vegetarian pies, pasta dishes, sandwiches, toasties etc) along with the offer to make up a specific specialised order where possible. Unfortunately while we do attempt to keep our cabinet...More

Reviewed 6 May 2016 via mobile

Did a last minute booking at Pukekos Nest tonight to celebrate my 5 year old grandsons birthday. Children's meals were all served first at the table ( which was decorated with Happy Birthday glitter and lollies) and then the adults meals came out. All meals...More

Thank ahuahuwhanganui
Bob C, Owner at Pukekos Nest Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2016

We always enjoy hosting special events such as your birthday party at our cafe. Your Grandson had just had his first day at school and was buzzing! It was great to be able to see your family and friends all together celebrating his 5th birthday....More

Reviewed 13 April 2016

Stopped en route from New Plymouth to Marton for a coffee break. Delighted to see they have small slices for $2.00 which just fill a gap as we do not always need a big slice. Tea and coffee were served quickly and great to have...More

Thank Libranace
Bob C, Owner at Pukekos Nest Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2016

Thanks for your comments Librance. We enjoy feedback from our customers, its a very good learning tool. We are always looking at ways to improve the experience at our Cafe and any comments certainly help :-)

Reviewed 14 March 2016 via mobile

Stopped to grab a coffee and cake while I waited for a WOF on my car. As always, awesome friendly efficient service. This place also has a surprisingly good wine list too! Highly recommended :-)

1  Thank Rackil
Reviewed 19 February 2016

Friendly staff, good choice of food, great coffee and outdoor area suitable for dogs. I often stop here for coffee cake and more when cycling from Wellington to New Plymouth and have yet to be disappointed.

Thank cygnusirati
Reviewed 14 December 2015

great place to visit for brunch/lunch. Large portions of food and great coffee as well. Service was great not too long a wait even when they were busy. Ate there on weekends while working down there. a short drive out of town but worth it.

Thank suenrob2015
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Caroline's Boatshed Bar and Eatery
137 reviews
4.16 km away
Yellow House Cafe
158 reviews
4.45 km away
Parnells Cafe Gallery and Garden Art
119 reviews
4.33 km away
Kristy’s Cafe
139 reviews
3.95 km away
Nearby Attractions
Virginia Lake
290 reviews
2.81 km away
Durie Hill Elevator
270 reviews
6.28 km away
Whanganui i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
112 reviews
5.79 km away
Kowhai Park
171 reviews
4.91 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
barbdavepres
14 October 2015|
Answer
Response from Bob C | Property representative |
Yes we sure do. We have a range of GF items in the cabinet and can do menu options as required.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$25
Cuisine
Cafe, New Zealand, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 17:00
Monday
08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 17:00
Thursday
08:00 - 20:00
Friday
08:00 - 20:00
Saturday
08:00 - 20:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 4 State Highway 3 | Westmere, Whanganui 4571, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Manawatu-Wanganui Region  >  Whanganui
  • Phone Number: +64 6-345 4706
  • E-mail
Description
Country style Cafe on intersection of SH3 & Rapanui Road, next to Double S Motordrome. New local family owners from October 2011. Top quality food, both Menu and cabinet at very realistic prices and looked after by friendly helpful staff. Only the best Coffee using ozone coffee roasters. Lovely relaxed atmosphere with good off road parking and suitable kids play area. We can cater for group bookings up to 45 people.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing