We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Monaco Kitchen

6 Point Road | Monaco, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
+64 3-547 0792
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good32%
  • Average12%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“lamb” (15 reviews)
“panna cotta” (3 reviews)
“calamari” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
European, New Zealand, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
6 Point Road | Monaco, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

A thoroughly enjoyable meal. Everything was delicious. Service was prompt and friendly. Would definitely go again

Thank Richard C
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Delicious!! Meals here two nights. Impeccable friendly service from Tommy who was fantastic. Meals were to die for. The lamb, fish, beef all yummy!

Thank Pauline Polly B
Reviewed 1 week ago

Enjoyed a wonderful meal at the Monaco Kitchen while staying at the Grande Mecure Nelson. While there were some menu items unavailable (Easter Monday) the food that was served was cooked well and tasted great. Tommy was a superb host and is a prime example...More

1  Thank Daniel M
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at the hotel here and decided to try the restaurant for dinner. So glad we did! Beautiful generous servings and the staff were so helpful and friendly on the dinner service. The dinner got 5 stars, However we went on out last morning...More

1  Thank Lexi3102
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at The Monaco Kitchen, responded to this review

Hi there Lexi3102 Thanks so much for your review/feedback - glad you enjoyed your dinner dining experience at TMK; sadly, it seems breakfast has let us down - which is a great disappointment as we've been having great feedback on breakfast of late. I've shared...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We got it wrong and arrived for Mothers Day breakfast a week early but we are glad we did. With our grown up family including our disabled son we really enjoyed our breakfast. Good selection of dishes on the buffet, nice small portions so we...More

Thank Vivienne C
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at The Monaco Kitchen, responded to this review

Hi there Vivienne C Thanks for your review/feedback - how special - having your very own Mothers Day! Seriously, we're delighted that you had a great family breakfast at The Monaco Kitchen which all members of your family enjoyed. I've passed on your feedback to...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had dinner here on our first night in Nelson, staying at this hotel. We had Bretwurst sausage with pastry wrapped around, served with a delicious smokey bbq sauce. To follow, we had the ribeye steak, cooked to perfection with hand cut perfectly fried chips. The...More

1  Thank Fiona C
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at The Monaco Kitchen, responded to this review

Hi there Fiona C Thanks for your review/feedback - it's terrific that you enjoyed your dining experience. I'm dying to try that pastry wrapped bratwurst sausage dish myself! Thanks for the recommendation - we look forward to seeing you again in The Monaco Kitchen sometime...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had dinner here both our nights staying at Grand Mecure. The service was fantastic ESP by Tommy who is a gem to your establishment. The food was good but may need a few more options for mains.More

1  Thank DandJ_Melbourne
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at The Monaco Kitchen, responded to this review

Hi there DandJ_Melbourne Thanks so much for your review/feedback - you're quite right, Tommy is a front of house superstar in restaurant; it was great to read that you enjoyed your food and dining experience. I've shared your feedback with the wider team. Warm regards...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I went to the Monaco Kitchen with my book group this week. Delightfully furnished in a French style.Very peaceful on the eye . Drink orders taken immediately and a long chat about the menu which was just the right size for me. I ordered Duck...More

Thank whatsupdoc471
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at The Monaco Kitchen, responded to this review

hi whatsupdoc471 Thanks for your review/feedback - it was lovely to read just how good and tasty your dinner was, thanks for the accolades "...the best I've ever tasted." is the sort of comment we constantly strive for! We look forward to being your host...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited this restaurant with a group of friends and found it poor overall. The venue looks lovely but is actually quiet cold and noisy. There are no soft furnishings to baffle the sound of other diners. Service was slow and the dish I chose was...More

Thank Gillian O
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at The Monaco Kitchen, responded to this review

Thanks Gillian O for your recent review - we do appreciate feedback from diners; it was disappointing to read that you found the service slow and your chosen meal unappetizing. I've shared your feedback with the team at The Monaco Kitchen. Warm regards Nick On...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I had booked into the Grand Mercure Monaco and on our last night we decided to dine at MK. On arrival the server was distracted and almost dismissive. I ordered a glass of wine and my husband a ginger beer as we...More

Thank 344mireillel
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at The Monaco Kitchen, responded to this review

Hi there 344mireillel Thanks for your review, it was disappointing to read that your recent dining experience did not live up to expectations (neither yours nor ours) - we do however greatly appreciate all guest/diners feedback. The hotel General Manager pick up on your feedback...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
McCashins Brewery Kitchen and Bar
67 reviews
1.51 km away
Honest Lawyer
269 reviews
.08 km away
Squires Pub & Cafe Ltd
44 reviews
1.53 km away
Nearby Attractions
Private Driver Hire
5 reviews
.80 km away
Broadgreen Historic House
64 reviews
.87 km away
McCashin's Brewery
49 reviews
1.52 km away
The Gentle Cycling Company
107 reviews
1.26 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Monaco Kitchen staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$28
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Seating, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Waitstaff, Full Bar, Highchairs Available
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, View, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
07:00 - 22:30
Monday
07:00 - 22:30
Tuesday
07:00 - 22:30
Wednesday
07:00 - 22:30
Thursday
07:00 - 22:30
Friday
07:00 - 22:30
Saturday
07:00 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 6 Point Road | Monaco, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Nelson-Tasman Region  >  Nelson
  • Phone Number: +64 3-547 0792
  • E-mail
Description
The Monaco Kitchen is in a well-known location on the Monaco peninsula (Nelson, New Zealand), presenting a new dining concept in a stunning location. Championing our local produce we aim to provide a sharing experience with small bites, sharing plates and feasts that you can enjoy with your friends, family or your sweetheart