We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Papa's Italian Kitchen

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
105 Hardy Street | 7010 Nelson, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
+64 3-548 8990
Website
Today
17:00 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Tue - Sat 17:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

81 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 78: English reviews
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Couldn't fault it. All of the above plus really reasonably priced. Great for a relaxed meal out. The waitress was super attentive. We also got to meet the owner Kirsty who we chatted to for a while and was very friendly. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jon K
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
118 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Decent menu selection, good sized pizza's. Friendly staff. Good gimmick of being able to draw on tablecloth - pencils provided!

Helpful?
1 Thank Carolmac44
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The pizza is terrible. The wine is worse. They are woefully understaffed -- my heart goes out to the 1 waitress and 1 cook serving the entire place. However, when I find myself saying "we should have gone to Pizza Hut, the Doritos Cheesy Stuft Crust Triple Taco Burger Pizza would have been way better", that is a clear sign... More 

Helpful?
Thank Zach B
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The restaurant only has 1 cook and 1 waiter. Just getting our salad took over 30 minutes, terrible wine, and as I sit here an hour after ordering we still haven't been served our pizza. The waitress was very nice. And sadly not her fault that the restaurant is under staffed.

Helpful?
Thank sf_thereandback
kjam1972, Owner at Papa's Italian Kitchen, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review - and we apologise you had a longer wait than usual. We have many staff, but typically a Tuesday is a more quiet night in hospitality. With no bookings (even you didn't have one I don't think?) so that we could not have anticipated an unusually busy night, we considered the... More 

Yellowknife, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After seeing all the rave reviews here, I stopped in one night, famished, and ordered a half marguerita, half bolognese pizza on a gluten-free crust. First off, the "large" pizza was really a medium. Second, the gluten-free crust was rock hard and dense - I could barely cut it with repeated strokes of a sharp knife. And the toppings! What... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karen047047
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

I was looking for an Italian restaurant and by chance I found this one! The welcoming was very friendly. I loved the idea drawing on the table! My meal was good, I ate salmon pasta, but it would be better with a little bit more of salmon. :) Thank you 😊

Helpful?
1 Thank Virginie P
kjam1972, Owner at Papa's Italian Kitchen, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to drop by and leave a review! We totally appreciate it. Kirsty and Craig More 

Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2017

My wife and I went on Valentines day and we had a lovely tasty meal.We both had pasta dishes and all pasta and sauces delicious. I have to admit I used my fingers to finish the sauce.the pizzas looked great that other diners had.For our vegan coeliac daughter we took home a lasagna dish we ordered as a takeaway and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Boardboy23
kjam1972, Owner at Papa's Italian Kitchen, responded to this review

Thank you so much - we are so glad your Valentine's Day was so enjoyable! More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2017

Being visitors to Nelson and not familiar with Papa's Italian Kitchen, we were just expecting an average Italian meal, having no idea we had stumbled on a food gem. The Pasta Alla Panna was the best pasta either of us have had anywhere, and we will definitely be back next time we are in Nelson. Pizza Lamborghini was also very... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank P A
kjam1972, Owner at Papa's Italian Kitchen, responded to this review

Thank you so much! So glad you enjoyed your meal at Papas - we look forward to seeing you back! More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

Wowsers!! What a pie!!! This is THE BEST traditional-style pizza I've ever had in my 10+ years living in NZ. So delicious! I had the small pepperoni and let me tell you, with fewer toppings there is nowhere for the crust, sauce or seasonings to hide. They did not hide, they sang! I had the small size and a glass... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lyn M
kjam1972, Owner at Papa's Italian Kitchen, responded to this review

Thank you - and thanks for your feedback, we totally appreciate it, especially having lived in USA for 3 years. We will keep on with staff training in this area. Thanks again, Papa More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2017

We were late for dinner and called by on an off chance. They were really busy (always a good sign) but found us a table outside. The service was quite slow but they were busy and we had not booked so can't really complain. The food was worth waiting for and was excellent value.

Helpful?
Thank Frank D
kjam1972, Owner at Papa's Italian Kitchen, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking time to write a review - yes unfortunately we were surprised by a Tuesday night which turned out being unusually busy, but we so appreciate your patience, and glad you enjoyed your meal. Thanks again, Craig More 

Travellers who viewed Papa's Italian Kitchen also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson-Tasman Region, South Island
 

Been to Papa's Italian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$9 - US$18
Cuisine
Italian, Pizza, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations
Good for
Cheap Eats, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Tuesday
17:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
17:00 - 22:00
Thursday
17:00 - 22:00
Friday
17:00 - 22:00
Saturday
17:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 105 Hardy Street | 7010 Nelson, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Nelson-Tasman Region  >  Nelson
  • Phone Number: +64 3-548 8990
Description
Formerly Pizza Bar Nelson, Papa's Kitchen has undergone a transformation with new owners. Serving pasta, gourmet pizzas, salads, desserts and coffee, and fully licensed. Warm friendly service and comfortable happy atmosphere.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Papa's Italian Kitchen staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?