We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bacco Restaurant & Wine Bar

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
295 Trafalgar Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
+64275546622
Website
Today
08:30 - 01:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Wed 09:00 - 23:00
Thu - Sat 08:30 - 01:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

376 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 356: English reviews
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Got coffee from the place, bad latte and the service was awful! Hate the place! Bad memory for Nelson! Shame!

Helpful?
Thank yaoshih
Milcrest, Owner at Bacco Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review

I am assuming that you didn't bring your concern about the Latte to my duty manager or barrister , because had you done so the Latte would have been remade as is our policy, All of our Barristers are fully trained to the highest level and unfortunately coffee is a very subjective thing, not unlike wine. Our service is also... More 

Auckland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

It was a quiet mid week night, when we visited. By the time we left it was about 3/4 full which is good for a week night. There was a special on for a main and a desert for $45 which was good value. We stuck with our mains. The venison was cooked perfectly with outstanding side dishes. I had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kiwithree
Cafe Affair C, Owner at Bacco Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, its nice to receive honest reviews of our service and what we have to offer. We look forward to seeing you back again some time and I will remind staff about the draft from the door. More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Came for breakfast with friends. I ordered the Eggs Benedict and the sauce was different - salmon nice though. The meal was a good size and rezonably priced though.

Helpful?
Thank gpieter
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great welcome from Dawa and the good recommendation and wine suggestion, the Milcrest Chardonnay is outstanding. The fish of the day and prawn linguini were great; highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Walked past after the morning walk and found this place the young lady Anita was very friendly and accomodating as we ordered off menu things. She couldn't do enough for us. Food was very good.

Helpful?
Thank Peter E
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Can't rate the food or service as we walked out due to rude ignorant attitude of staff and chef Excuse- we're busy you'll just have to wait About three wait staff for about 25 guests is hardly busy Try London where three wait staff would handle a hundred with ease We voted with our feet and walked out and won't... More 

Helpful?
Thank LBFM
Milcrest, Owner at Bacco Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review

I would suggest that there is only one rude and ignorant person on this occasion and you are obviously the husband of Vicki. My Chef and staff are not rude and having been on site during your visit I would suggest you have exaggerated the facts based on the response I made to your wives review. Clearly from historical reviews... More 

Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I went to have a late breakfast before we went to the movies. We asked the man behind the counter if we would have time - he said - couldn't guarantee it! We decided to stay and sat at a table - no one came to give us a menu or greet us. After some time my... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki453
Milcrest, Owner at Bacco Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, firstly I'm sorry you didn't receive the service that we pride ourselves on. Being Easter you may not be aware that we were one of only 2 restaurants open and were full from the minute we opened until midnight this evening. We have a large sign that says please wait to be seated, this is... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very different restaurant compared to what Nelson has to offer. Finer style of food with quality ingredients at a great price. I tend to go for their light meals as they are so filling and the mains are massive! Food fresh and flavoursome. Would definitely recommend however not my style of food i would reach for hence the 4 rating.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Z1802GSemilyb
Milcrest, Owner at Bacco Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review

Thanks for your review More 

Melbourne
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Waitress was very helpful and double checked that our meals were catered to both our cheese and garlic allergies perfectly with the kitchen. Chef cooked a fish dish that was garlic free. Both our meals were delicious. Recommended for efficient and great service.

Helpful?
Thank Vivian C
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just went for coffee, where it was a comfortable place to relax. Friendly, attentive service. Light filled with interesting people watching. Outdoor tables available.

Helpful?
Thank WIldCarrot2

Travellers who viewed Bacco Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Bacco Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$14 - US$27
Cuisine
European, New Zealand, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Parking Available
Good for
Business meetings, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 23:00
Monday
09:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 23:00
Thursday
08:30 - 01:00
Friday
08:30 - 01:00
Saturday
08:30 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 295 Trafalgar Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Nelson-Tasman Region  >  Nelson
  • Phone Number: +64275546622
Description
Bacco is the Roman God of Wine, Bacco Restaurant and Wine Bar changed its ownership and name from Café Affair in October 2016. We are a premium wine bar/restaurant with an Italian/European spin to our dishes. We are all about fresh, local ingredients where possible and we have a food matching our premium wines philosophy. Bacco has a wine club and holds Degustation dinners bi-monthly.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bacco Restaurant & Wine Bar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?