We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Fat Seagull

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
10 Thompson Ave, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
+61 3 5952 3106
Website
Today
10:00 - 22:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

265 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 262: English reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2016

Stopped by this charming little town on the way to the penguin parade. The staff at the restaurant were extremely friendly and welcoming! Despite the short time that we spent there, we had a fantastic lunch! The carbonara was creamy, smooth and tasted wonderful. We also had the Smith's beach pizza which was spot on on the thin crust and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leo_Tan87
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2016

MotoGP weekend and the restaurant was very busy, staff were very helpful and moved a few chairs around to get me in (but I still had plenty of room). Decent menu with plenty of choice all at reasonable prices. Good choice of beers and wines make this a good place to eat.

Helpful?
Thank keithhd888
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
233 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2016

Regardless of the day I believe the food would be great and still a fair price, however being there on a Tuesday was a real bonus and 2 of us the seafood marinara which was very tasty with lots of seafood, 3rd person had a creamy salmon pasta dish and said it was delightful. The price of $12 was fantastic... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shirley D
Cowes, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2016

I should be not telling you this as I don't want top spoil it for us locals in that they have $12 Pasta or Pizza dishes on Tuesday nights. Visit regularly with a group of friends and find the food and hospitality is excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Norman W
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2016

An extensive menu with good range of food styles to select from including pasta and Australian. Also a range of wines and beverages that should please most diners. Good service and excellent food.

Helpful?
Thank George W B
Alexandra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2016 via mobile

Cheerful and prompt service. Meals were very tasty and well presented. A nice ambience. Tuesday $12 pasta or pizza a big hit as the place was full. Great value!

Helpful?
Thank Frank D
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2016

Went here with friends on a Tuesday which was half price Pizza and Pasta day. The food was lovely. We all had Pasta (6 of us) and everybody had a fantastic meal. Service was first class. We can thoroughly recommend this place.

Helpful?
Thank Captainsunshine16
rob3922, General Manager at The Fat Seagull, responded to this review

Hi Captainsunshine16! Thank you for taking the time to let us know just how much you enjoyed your $12 Tuesday experience recently! It's always nice to know when we've provided an all round visit to our guests and we hope we are able to do the same thing for you in the future! Kind Regards, The Team @ The Fat... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2016

Went to dinner with friends who are locals as this is their favourite restaurant. We were not disappointed, the food was sensational and the service very good. We shouted our friends dinner and I had to check the docket when I got home as I couldn't believe the price and thought that they must have missed something. The only criticism... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
rob3922, Manager at The Fat Seagull, responded to this review

Hi Lisa C! How wonderful to see that we have good local based word of mouth, and that your friends had you along with them to experience our restaurant! We always strive to provide a warm atmosphere, enjoyable food and service and a reasonable price point. The staff will be happy to hear that on this occasion we were able... More 

Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2016

Nice little Italian restaurant with a good sized menu offering plenty of choices. We went for the pizza and it was really good. "Meat" pizza was my choice!

Helpful?
Thank joellenf910
rob3922, General Manager at The Fat Seagull, responded to this review

Hello joellenf910! Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your time with us, we especially enjoy our meat pizza as well and it's always encouraging to know when we get it right! It's nice to have varied options for meals, we find in such a seasonal area such as this; you need to... More 

Cowes, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2016 via mobile

Treating the locals bad is the worst thing any business could do. I made an order for delivery. When order arrived the drinks did not come with the food. The driver said he was not given them even though they were on the receipt. He said he would come back with them which he never did. We ate the apple... More 

Helpful?
Thank xxxxsc
rob3922, General Manager at The Fat Seagull, responded to this review

Hi xxxxsc, Thanks for taking the time to leave your view on what happened with your delivery recently. While we are not opposed to having anyone leave good or bad reviews we do appreciate if they are true and accurate. Unfortunately this one is not completely truthful. We understand you feel as though you have had a bad experience with... More 

Travellers who viewed The Fat Seagull also viewed

Cowes, Phillip Island
Cowes, Phillip Island
 
Cowes, Phillip Island
Cowes, Phillip Island
 

Been to The Fat Seagull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$8 - US$23
Cuisine
Italian, Pizza, Australian, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 22:00
Monday
10:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 22:00
Thursday
10:00 - 22:00
Friday
10:00 - 22:00
Saturday
10:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 10 Thompson Ave, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Victoria  >  Phillip Island  >  Cowes
  • Phone Number: +61 3 5952 3106

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Fat Seagull staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?