We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fat Seagull

$$ - $$$Italian, Pizza,
10 Thompson Ave, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
+61 3 5952 3106
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good33%
  • Average12%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“pasta” (36 reviews)
“kangaroo meat” (3 reviews)
“garlic prawns” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Italian, Pizza, Australian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
10 Thompson Ave, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 30 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2017

I was recently in Cowes for a reunion with my husband and a group of Vietnam Vets. Our evening functions were held at the Fat Seagull and I must say we were looked after very well for the 2 nights we all ate there. The...More

Thank helen k
Reviewed 2 August 2017

The pizzas here are very doughy, you cannot request a thin crust at all. The Greek salad is good and their soups taste like they are out of the tin.. I would and will be spending my money elsewhere...

Thank T C
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

Food✔️ Service ✔️ Ambience ✔️ Cost ✔️ Nothing super special but it was pleasant. Great express menu - go here you won't be disappointed but give Isola a miss!

Thank Shontelle P
Reviewed 10 July 2017

Got takeaway to eat down by the water Husband had the marinara and garlic bread he really enjoyed it I had the fish, chips and salad delicious also got a slice of cheesecake that was very large slice very nice and lemon meringue pie yum,...More

Thank Doroton
rob3922, Owner at The Fat Seagull, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Hi Doroton! Thank you from the whole team here at The Fat Seagull for taking the time to leave us such a kind review! It's always nice to know when we hit the mark and are able to provide the level of service and cuisine...More

Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

My friends and I were really Hungary and we couldn't find a restaurant for dinner because they were all full, until we found this hidden gem. Fantastic!!! We were so Hungary when we walked in, then left very full and very happy.More

Thank AlanahAnderson23
rob3922, Owner at The Fat Seagull, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Hi AlanahAnderson23, How wonderful to see we were able to give you and your friends an enjoyable experience here with us! We're always happy to see when we have been able to provide a delicious dining experience for our guests, we're glad you found us...More

Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

Long weekend family stay. We wanted somewhere with variety. Got seated at 6.30pm waiter didn't come to until 6.55pm we ordered our meals with one child meal, the child meal arriving an hour later and our meals arriving nearly 2 hours later, bad service under...More

Thank Aurelia K
rob3922, Owner at The Fat Seagull, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Hi Aurelia K, We were very disappointed to see that on this occasion we haven't lived up to our standard and had you leave unhappy - we would never intentionally want this to happen. The team here are always working hard to improve, and work...More

Reviewed 30 May 2017 via mobile

Unique title and awesome tasting dish!!! Combination of kangaroo meat on skewers and emu and sage sausage....More

Thank Steve M
rob3922, Owner at The Fat Seagull, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Hi Steve M! Thanks for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed your 'coat of arms' experience! We like to have some quirky and different meal options and it's lovely to see that you enjoyed this little gem. Hopefully, we can welcome...More

Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

We visited the Fat Seagull for a family celebration. We ordered drinks on arrival from a waitress who could barely speak English. She also didn't know what was on the menu and even told us they don't serve items that are actually on the menu....More

Thank Andrew C
rob3922, Owner at The Fat Seagull, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Hi Andrew C, We're sorry to see that we've let you down in our service and knowledge on this occasion. We do have a few foreign staff members who come on board while visiting our beautiful country and while we do try to ensure all...More

Reviewed 25 April 2017

Nice, clean restaurant with an outside option with beach views, weather permitting. Had two pasta dishes for lunch and although both were very nice (one was Chicken and Avocado) the Chicken and Cashew was amazing. Liked that when the meal was bought out you also...More

Thank WoodgateFamily
rob3922, Owner at The Fat Seagull, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Hi WoodgateFamily! Thank you from the entire team here for taking the time to leave such kind words about your experience with us! It's always nice to hear when we have been able to provide the enjoyable dining experience that we strive to daily. We...More

Reviewed 21 April 2017

If you're after a delicious quick meal solution, this is the place to go. Moreover, they also cater for vegetarian options. The pizzas were ready in 15 minutes despite of peak lunch hour. More importantly, the pizza tastes really nice. We had a lamb pizza...More

Thank anytimecheerful
rob3922, Owner at The Fat Seagull, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Hi anytimecheerful! Thank you from everyone at The Fat Seagull for letting us know about your experience at our venue! It puts a smile on the entire team's face to see when we have been able to provide an enjoyable experience and it's always nice...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 13 hotels in Phillip Island
North Pier Hotel
51 reviews
.17 km away
The Waves Apartments
235 reviews
.34 km away
Coachman Motel
180 reviews
.37 km away
The Castle Villa by the Sea
87 reviews
.42 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Pino's Trattoria
679 reviews
.08 km away
Isola di Capri
387 reviews
.05 km away
The Trumpet Bar
57 reviews
.10 km away
Sherwoods
180 reviews
.03 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cowes Bazaar and Gallery
29 reviews
.82 km away
Wildlife Coast Cruises
609 reviews
.12 km away
Exceptional Phillip Island Area Tours
71 reviews
.10 km away
Sup Wind Surf
23 reviews
.38 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Fat Seagull staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$24
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 10 Thompson Ave, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Victoria  >  Phillip Island  >  Cowes
  • Phone Number: +61 3 5952 3106
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing