We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
Estuary - situated at Kangaroo Point, where the Hawkesbury River joins the ocean - is a restaurant and event centre where waterfront views meet modern Australian cuisine made from fresh local produce. Please take time to study our menu. The goal is to provide an experience for the palate that is no less memorable than the view. Opening Hours Breakfast: Estuary Kiosk is Open in our current time (April 2020) Wednesday to Sunday 8am-2.30pm, lunch from 11am.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
Australian
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (312)
Filter reviews
309 results
Traveller rating
117
71
51
36
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
117
71
51
36
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews barramundi oysters great location amazing views cooked to perfection half way sydney ross winter distance
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed June 21, 2022

rubbish food, rubbish owner, rubbish attitude. Don't dare being a walk in! You'll be served last if at all.......

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 14, 2022 via mobile

...this has to be one of the greatest locations north of Sydney for the perfect breakfast. Great staff, excellent food and a stunning location. Congratulations to SueEllen, Ross, Dianne and the Estuary team.

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed December 18, 2021

Overpriced dinner menu and poor quality food. No wonder they only open for dinner one night a week. Small portion sizes at ridiculous prices and left feeling completely ripped off and still hungry despite the $178 bill. What a joke.

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed December 9, 2021

Disapointing over rated. We had a table of 10. What a disappointment. No better than pub food. Beautiful spot. Push out the door & were turning the lights off @ 9pm on sat night. We spent over $1200 dollars. Never again

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?4  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 28, 2021

It was a very enjoyable lunch, despite dodgy weather! The service was impeccable, with kind, personable and professional staff, particularly Diane, our server. The food was delicious. I strongly recommend the salt and pepper calamari, cooked to perfection, and the delicious slow cooked beef rib.

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 19, 2021

Have been here a couple of times …. Great service & great food with an amazing view. I had the crumbed snapper & it was delicious !!

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 18, 2021 via mobile

Have had a wonderful meal here last visit but menu has changed .... Great service from lovely ladies but a lump of dry shredded cabbage and heavily crumb style battered dry pieces of fish not worth $40 .... No apology as "other guests enjoyed it".....sadly won't be back... I'll go to the beautiful restaurants at the Spit.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?5  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 30, 2021

Great location and views. Very good food and service. Always love going to the Estuary - this was our 7th visit in 2 years.

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 18, 2021

Had lunch here on 16/6/21 & what a treat! The front of house lady was friendly & welcoming. Delicious food & such a great outlook over the river, We had oysters to start…these were the freshest I’ve had! Barramundi cooked to perfection as were the...green veggies. Snapper & leek pie was also a big hit. We finished with a cheese plate which included delicious honeycomb. When we enquired if this honey was local, the chef came to our table to give us directions as to where we could buy some! Great service 😀More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 13, 2021 via mobile

Dined on Thursday 10/6/21 a very wintery day. The food was good but we almost froze to death. Spoke to the waitperson and asked do they have aircon to which the answer was no. The only heating was a fireplace and we were getting zero...warmth from it. I could not recommend dining there during winter.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Suellen W, Owner at Estuary Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review. Our open fireplace provides enough heat normally for the room size and we offer fleece rugs for those that can "feel the cold" more than others. We find some guests forget we are on the water and...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Brooklyn Motel
86 reviews
2.56 km away
NRMA Ocean Beach Holiday Resort
1,071 reviews
10.34 km away
Mantra Ettalong Beach
3,410 reviews
12.89 km away
Ettalong Beach Tourist Resort
266 reviews
13.43 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Hawkesbury River Oyster Shed
28 reviews
1.59 km away
Lifeboat Seafood
207 reviews
2.64 km away
Pie in the Sky
155 reviews
3.63 km away
Dangar Island Depot
9 reviews
3.88 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Broken Bay Pearl Farm
78 reviews
1.52 km away
The Riverboat Postman
1,056 reviews
2.72 km away
Hawkesbury River
22 reviews
2.15 km away
Hawkesbury River Kayaks
236 reviews
2.91 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
joshuah006
May 12, 2019|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Victor P | Reviewed this property |
Yes, there are outdoor seating on the side of the restaurant. We didnt use them. We sat in the sun along the car park and enjoyed the bridge + water view.
1
Vote
Sue P
November 30, 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Meryl K | Reviewed this property |
Estuary's phone no. is 99857881. Best of luck. Meryl
0
Votes
freebirdy62
October 6, 2015|
Answer
Response from Estuary R | Property representative |
Hi Christine, Thanks for your enquiry. Our mains are between $30 - $40 each and we cater to dietary requirements wherever possible. Bookings are preferred so we can ensure that we can give you your preferred seat. The... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Estuary Restaurant

Yes, Estuary Restaurant offers takeaway services.

Estuary Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3
  • Atmosphere: 5