We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
Estuary - situated at Kangaroo Point, where the Hawkesbury River joins the ocean - is a restaurant and event centre where waterfront views meet modern Australian cuisine made from fresh local produce. Please take time to study our menu. The goal is to provide an experience for the palate that is no less memorable than the view. Opening Hours Breakfast: Estuary Kiosk is Open in our current time (April 2020) Wednesday to Sunday 8am-2.30pm, lunch from 11am.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
Australian
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (304)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveller rating
114
70
50
35
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
114
70
50
35
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews barramundi pavlova oysters steak pie great location special occasion staff were attentive birthday lunch rainy day tables and chairs central coast in house kiosk views mains mother
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed June 18, 2021

Had lunch here on 16/6/21 & what a treat! The front of house lady was friendly & welcoming. Delicious food & such a great outlook over the river, We had oysters to start…these were the freshest I’ve had! Barramundi cooked to perfection as were the...green veggies. Snapper & leek pie was also a big hit. We finished with a cheese plate which included delicious honeycomb. When we enquired if this honey was local, the chef came to our table to give us directions as to where we could buy some! Great service 😀More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed June 13, 2021 via mobile

Dined on Thursday 10/6/21 a very wintery day. The food was good but we almost froze to death. Spoke to the waitperson and asked do they have aircon to which the answer was no. The only heating was a fireplace and we were getting zero...warmth from it. I could not recommend dining there during winter.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Suellen W, Owner at Estuary Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review. Our open fireplace provides enough heat normally for the room size and we offer fleece rugs for those that can "feel the cold" more than others. We find some guests forget we are on the water and...More

Reviewed June 11, 2021 via mobile

food was ok. Nice setting. Would have been nicer if the waitress didn’t barked orders at the others from half way through the restaurant- not a pleasant atmosphere. & I didn’t enjoy the two huge dogs wondering through the restaurant either - regardless of who...their owner was. Pity. It’s a great stop & distance from Sydney.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed April 28, 2021 via mobile

Beautiful food. Friendliest staff. Always greeted with the same smiling faces. Amazing views. Highly recommend!! The chowder and mussels are my favourite!

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed April 27, 2021

Lovely view, slow service, sometimes staff a little miserable. Will try the other section if the building with takeaway. And sit in the sun there.

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed April 17, 2021 via mobile

Woeful in every way. Overpriced Stale buns and uncooked meat Asked for no beetroot got extra beetroot. Staff totally forgot my wife’s order which meant by the time I was done she was just starting. I very bad way to end the weekend.

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed March 18, 2021

We were staying nearby for a weekend and was recommended this place by the a local. Gorgeous location and lovely food for a romantic dinner. Recommended.

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed February 16, 2021

Fabulous location, would be worth the drive from Sydney if the food was good, but not the case. Very very ordinary food, but friendly staff.

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed February 12, 2021

Don’t go there on a rainy day in Covid times . They have to leave all the doors open according to the waitress and we froze to death . Every table complained but obviously it was a health regulation issue . Very windy inside and...everyone was complaining and tablecloths flying everywhere . Not sure why they could not have opened the side doors where the wind was not blowing direct . It was not the experience I hoped to celebrate my father 94th birthday . Food was good though . Suggest they invest in throw rugs for paying guests if the doors must stay open like that or consider opening the slide doors instead . John HainesMore

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed January 24, 2021

Second time visit this year, after finding this hidden gem, this time we moored. Once again our taste buds burst with delight, through our three courses. The mussels took me back too, St Marlo in France they danced across my mouth, titillating my senses. Ummh...the oysters melted in your mouth, like little parcels of cream. Above all is the staff, their service is without fault, only out done by their friendly attitude, towards clients. Jacob, is by far the best mixologist I have come across in many, many years, very rare to find a true dry vodka martini.More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Brooklyn Motel
86 reviews
2.56 km away
NRMA Ocean Beach Holiday Resort
1,067 reviews
10.34 km away
Mantra Ettalong Beach
3,339 reviews
12.89 km away
Ettalong Beach Tourist Resort
261 reviews
13.43 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Hawkesbury River Oyster Shed
24 reviews
1.59 km away
Lifeboat Seafood
197 reviews
2.64 km away
Pie in the Sky
152 reviews
3.63 km away
Dangar Island Depot
6 reviews
3.88 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Broken Bay Pearl Farm
59 reviews
1.52 km away
Hawkesbury River Kayaks
228 reviews
2.91 km away
The Riverboat Postman
918 reviews
2.72 km away
Holidays Afloat
93 reviews
1.07 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
joshuah006
May 12, 2019|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Victor P | Reviewed this property |
Yes, there are outdoor seating on the side of the restaurant. We didnt use them. We sat in the sun along the car park and enjoyed the bridge + water view.
1
Vote
Sue P
November 30, 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Meryl K | Reviewed this property |
Estuary's phone no. is 99857881. Best of luck. Meryl
0
Votes
freebirdy62
October 6, 2015|
Answer
Response from Estuary R | Property representative |
Hi Christine, Thanks for your enquiry. Our mains are between $30 - $40 each and we cater to dietary requirements wherever possible. Bookings are preferred so we can ensure that we can give you your preferred seat. The... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Estuary Restaurant

Yes, Estuary Restaurant offers takeaway services.

Estuary Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3
  • Atmosphere: 5