We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lion & Lamb

Stortford Road, Little Canfield CM6 1SR, England
+44 1279 870257
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent37%
  • Very good31%
  • Average10%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“lamb” (36 reviews)
“salad” (15 reviews)
“fish and chips” (11 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m. Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Stortford Road, Little Canfield CM6 1SR, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I went with my Family on Good Friday. The food was of a good standard and well presented with good portions. The pub has plentyof character and the was a good atmosphere. The staff were very friendlt

Thank Alan C
Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

Five of us for a late Sunday lunch, no complaints about our variety of dishes all well cooked. Service was ok and the cost average. Not sure about the surcharge for having items not on the roast menu though as two of us did have...More

Thank alron1
Reviewed 8 March 2018 via mobile

Well I don’t even know we’re to start! This is my local pub, I have lived in the area for 4 years now, when I first visited the pub it was ok not great but was ok for relatively easy meals, after a while the...More

2  Thank Carrie P
lindawilk, Owner at Lion & Lamb, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

To respond to your issues that you had at the lion and lamb recently, there hasn't been hardly any price increase over the past 4 years on my menu even though there has been a significant increase in food costs, the cover charge has always...More

Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Wouldn't recommend. Half veg cold half uncooked. Fatty meat in pie. Complained and had plate checked go see how much we had eaten. Finally got 1 meal taken off the bill and an apology. Chips covered in pepper. I personally don't like pepper. Plate swimming...More

2  Thank Clare S
lindawilk, Owner at Lion & Lamb, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy your evening at the lion and lamb recently, and that your veg was not cooked to your liking, I'm very surprised that you found the meat in your pie fatty we get many compliments about the steak and ale...More

Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

After driving for a couple of hours in the snow we decided to stop here for lunch. The fire was blazing and it was welcoming. A lovely old country pub. We ordered our food and drinks and I would say it was a little pricy...More

Thank HayleyBurton1984
lindawilk, Owner at Lion & Lamb, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Thankyou, I'm glad you enjoyed your meal at the lion and lamb and look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 1 February 2018 via mobile

Went for a meal and a few beers before we flew. Very close to the airport hotels. Staff very friendly. Food was good and decent sized portion. Couple of ales on which were very nice. Well worth a visit if your nearby

2  Thank Gary B
lindawilk, Owner at Lion & Lamb, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Thank you, I'm glad you had a nice time, it is nice to be appreciated.

Reviewed 21 December 2017 via mobile

Visited recently and we had made a muck up of the booking but the staff coped brilliantly and cheerfully and made us feel welcome. The food was delicious and hot. The atmosphere was warm and cosy and we weren’t rushed. Will certainly return.

Thank Anne M
Reviewed 13 December 2017 via mobile

Visited on a midweek night and first impression was good. On entering met with a log fire that is always inviting. Got seated quickly and no problems with the speed of order being taken. Food portion was large and quality was good for a pub....More

Thank Derek H
Reviewed 13 November 2017 via mobile

We drive through little Canfield once a month & always stop at this pub for a bar or garden lunch (never in restaurant). Today, as usual, food was beautifully cooked, nicely presented and large portions. We have learnt to order the smaller appetite sizes, though...More

Thank Dtexas24
Reviewed 12 November 2017

Visited with my family for Sunday lunch. Had to wait ages for starters which were ok but nothing special. We all ordered roast beef for mains and when it eventually arrived it was truly awful! So tough I could have soled shoes with it!!! The...More

3  Thank sunshine8599
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Little Canfield Hotels
Hampton By Hilton London Stansted Airport
417 reviews
3.16 km away
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport
2,182 reviews
3.20 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport
4,657 reviews
3.25 km away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
4,204 reviews
3.27 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Prince of Wales
23 reviews
3.47 km away
The Three Horseshoes
111 reviews
3.74 km away
Green Cafe
16 reviews
.78 km away
Nearby Attractions
Langthorns Plantery
12 reviews
1.27 km away
Prince of Wales Broxted
28 reviews
3.47 km away
Hatfield Forest Nature Reserve
170 reviews
3.95 km away
Elsenham Golf and Leisure
25 reviews
5.31 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
401alan
23 August 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from sandra c | Reviewed this property |
I'm pretty sure they do, we went in the week, can't wait to go back You won't be disappointed
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$9 - US$39
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Monday
11:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Tuesday
11:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Wednesday
11:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Thursday
11:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Friday
11:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Saturday
11:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Stortford Road, Little Canfield CM6 1SR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Little Canfield
  • Phone Number: +44 1279 870257
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing