We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Praia Do Garrao Nascente, Almancil 8135, Portugal
+351 289 396 512
Website
Today
10:00 - 23:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon 10:00 - 23:00
Tue - Sun 10:00 - 23:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

971 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 871: English reviews
Level Contributor
126 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Fantastic! Went with some colleagues after a supplier meeting. The view was fantastic, straight across the beach. We sat outside with umbrellas for sun shade. All the food was great, especially the butterfly prawns and the Piri Piri chicken. Highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank John C
Shanklin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Fashionable beach side restaurant frequented by visitors and locals alike. A varied menu with a good selection of fabulous fresh fish dishes. Prompt attentive service from a large staff presence. Need a car to access but once there the views in the evening are stunning. Would recommend without hesitation.

Helpful?
Thank robertgG2563EA
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

What a wonderful Sunday afternoon I spent with 9 friends at this restaurant Lovely menu with many choices and great service. Staff were very friendly and attentive The live music was excellent and a great reason to go, tailored to suit the audience I would definitely recommend and suggest you make a reservation to avoid disappointment Lovely location overlooking the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Angela1907
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Enjoyed my meal here. Had the breaded veal and spaghetti. Very large portion size so couldn't finish it. My friend had the fish stew which looked amazing.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine E
ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Nice location with lovely views just off the beach. I get the impression this was the first restaurant here on this trip. The original if you will. Not sure if much has changed since it opened. For the money, the food looked thrown together. Steak s were good but the accompanying sides and potatoes looked jaded and didn't taste much... More 

Helpful?
Thank Reviewer_Brian
juliasalgarve, Owner at Julias, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Julia's has existed for around 45 years and if one had dined on more than one occasion here during that period, one would notice changes every single year so rather disagree with your comment there. You are correct in thinking that we were he first restaurant here on this beach and 45 years on( current... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

This place has been going for years...and there are many reasons for its success. The seafood is exceptional and the setting world class.

Helpful?
Thank benK3349MK
juliasalgarve, Owner at Julias, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments. The "Caldeirada" dish is extremely popular and glad you enjoyed it once again. Regards The team @Julia's More 

cork
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Food is ok, quite pricey but location is excellent, service quite poor, ample parking and lovely beach.

Helpful?
Thank 250alec
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We asked if we could have a beach side table when we booked and that was what we were given. On arriving for 6.30pm, we were told that the table was ours until 8pm and I can understand why, as it is a busy place. The staff were friendly, the food was tasty and the view topped off the experience.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Evvx16
Scotland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a really nice lunch great location on beach with Atlantic so close . Great salads cold beer and nice house wine.

Helpful?
Thank Stirlingtec
Backwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely position overlooking the sea, friendly greeting . Food was poor, I had chicken Caesar salad, chicken was served separately, not in the salad which was mostly iceberg lettuce, sad lacking in the other ingredients. My husband 's meal was equally disappointing. This was the most expensive and worse meal we had in the algarve. Only plus side was that... More 

Helpful?
Thank AnnChelvey
juliasalgarve, Owner at Julias, responded to this review

€15.50 for a chicken caeser salad consisting of 3 fillets Of grilled chicken and a salad (yes-on the side) We don't aim to please everyone yet cannot see what the issue truly was. It is a chicken caeser and not a lobster thermidor! Freshly cooked as all our cuisine is. Sorry you felt that you had to pay for lunch... More 

Travellers who viewed Julias also viewed

Almancil, Faro District
 
Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 

Been to Julias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$13 - US$34
Cuisine
Seafood, Mediterranean, European, International, Portuguese, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, View, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 23:30
Monday
10:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
10:00 - 23:30
Thursday
10:00 - 23:30
Friday
10:00 - 23:30
Saturday
10:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Praia Do Garrao Nascente, Almancil 8135, Portugal
  • Location: Europe  >  Portugal  >  Algarve  >  Faro District  >  Almancil
  • Phone Number: +351 289 396 512
Description
Julia's restaurant,beach barand lounge.
The original beach restaurant.
Beware of imitations.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Julias and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Julias staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?