We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
C$12 - C$31
CUISINES
American, Bar, Seafood
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
23
12
4
13
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
23
12
4
13
3
See what travellers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed July 11, 2023

My wife and I have eaten here several times, most recently with another couple. The menu is quite diverse; we had a charcuterie board to start, which was huge, with a ton of awesome stuff like salami, cheese, olives, blue cheese, grapes.... I had the...curry bowl and my wife had the fish. Food was fresh and tasty. Service (Mike) was fast and friendly. Very relaxing atmosphere with an outdoor patio overlooking the 9th hole of their executive golf course. Total (with 4 adult beverages) was $140 with tax, plus tip.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 20, 2023

We were terribly disappointed. Two of four orders were incorrect. All our food was cold. Green Curry had no curry in sight and was a mango/veggie stir fry. It was sent back. Salads were wilted and over dressed. Hamburgers were broken apart to fit the...buns. Fries were stone cold. I have been to this restaurant four times in the last few months, and the meal we had recently was terrible. I will not go back.More

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ALE Management, General Manager at ALE - Amberwood Lounge & Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2023

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. We're very sorry that you had a negative experience here at ALE. What you have described is not our usual standard, and we would be grateful to have the opportunity to discuss...More

Reviewed March 7, 2023 via mobile

We visited for Sunday brunch, we were party of 7. The venue was open concert and spacious. Did have a wonderful brunch at ale! Fruit was fresh, service was great as well. They accommodated our request to adding one more table to ensure everyone had...a space. Lovely experience, I will most likely return for another brunch!More

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 10, 2022

The service here was wonderful and we loved sitting on the patio overlooking the golf course. The food is fantastic and the chef went out of their way to make me gluten free calamari! Best ive ever had! A great place to dine!

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 31, 2021

Thoroughly enjoyed a special private dinner featuring the New Year's eve offering from ALE. Definitely did not disappoint. From delectable soup to shrimp cocktail, main featuring tender beef topped off with carrot cake. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 31, 2021

My husband and I visited ALE a few weeks ago for a lunch date on the patio overlooking the golf course. Everything that day was great, service, food and drinks. A few days ago we went back for Sunday brunch with our kids and MIL,...didn‘t like the menu options and decided to wait for lunch to start at 2pm. Food was ok/mediocre. The only good dish were the seafood linguine my husband ordered. I got a seafood chowder bowl that was almost the same size as the seafood chowder cup my MIL ordered but twice the price, except I had two shrimps and she had only one… Taste was ok. The worst that day was the service. Our server had really really dirty fingernails, they had their fingers in the plates and on the glass rims, beyond gross! We went back the next day to enjoy the lovely pool, and we ordered chicken fingers from the restaurant. They were not edible. We complained and they offered to prepare some fish tacos instead and those were really tasty. I think we would go back to the pool, but will probably not be back to dine at the restaurant. The view from the patio is lovely, though. Too bad! I really wanted to like the place.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 30, 2020 via mobile

I loveee this place! Let’s strat with the beautiful view you get during the summer/fall espectacular! Then the services has always been good super friendly and helpful staff. I enjoy this place because they carry vegan and non-vegan menu ! So everyone can eat whatever...they would like. Their choices of cocktails is delicios , and if its not on the menu they’ll make you what you want. I most be honest I enjoyed way more the lunch/diner menu than the breakfast one . This is just my preference. Very well put plates and everything taste fresh!More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 7, 2019

My mother and I go for high tea every year to celebrate my birthday. For the last several years we have gone to the Chateau Laurier, but have found the quality has been declining while the prices have continued to increase. In addition, parking is...also expensive. Our last visit between the two high teas, gratuities and parking it came to over $120. We therefore were excited to try ALE, location was easily accessible with plenty of free parking. As well when making our reservation we were advised that all was homemade on the premises therefore they cut off the reservation on Fridays for the Sunday high tea - this too sounded promising. Unfortunately when we arrived we were surprised to see that it is just a plain restaurant, very dark, lacking any kind of atmosphere. No table cloths and there were 4-5 tables occupied with families, kids etc... people in jeans, sweatshirts eating pub style food. We actually thought we were in the wrong room, but we weren't. When the waitress came by, we mentioned we were there for high tea and she handed us a card with a few types of teas. She later came out with the traditional three tier stand of sandwiches, sweets etc... The set up was what you would expect and again we figured since everything was made on the premises it would be good, but it wasn't. Sandwiches were ok, but the desserts weren't very good. Tasted a lot like store-bought grocery store baked goods and not freshly baked. No real issues with the service, but if you are looking to go for high tea this is not the place.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 28, 2019

I went at "happy hour". The Happy Hour $5 nachos sounded good. They arrived on a plate not much bigger than a saucer. I asked if that was the regular size, and they said no. It's extremely misleading to advertise a "happy hour" price on...an item just to find out it was a sampler size. At any other place I've been, Happy Hour specials are the usual size. This is blatant - there was nothing on the Happy Hour menu that said it was a tiny version. Too bad, because the nachos were actually tasty. I will not be back. Honesty is how to get my business.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?4  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 24, 2019 via mobile

We celebrated a friend’s birthday with High Tea! It was delicious. The waiter was awesome! We were able to sit outside on the patio. A lovely time.

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 4, 2019

I wish I could actually provide a review of the food, service and value, but unfortunately it has been impossible to get into this restaurant. We attempted to go for dinner about two months ago, only to be told they were shutting down the kitchen...because there was a thunderstorm brewing...??? This evening we stopped by to again trying to experience the service and food, only to be told the kitchen was shut down for maintenance... Yet their sign out side says they are open 7 days per week. So if you are thinking of going to this restaurant ...CALL AHEAD...to not only make a reservation but to check if they are actually open and cooking .... Not impressive....More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 6, 2019

After reading the reviews for this restaurant I wondered if we were there on the chef's day off. We all agreed it was mediocre at best. Service was ok. We won't be going back.More

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ALEManagement, Owner at ALE - Amberwood Lounge & Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2019

Hi J.E.L. Thank you so much for leaving us a review. Our team can't grow without valuable feedback and LE is constantly seeking to strengthen our services and looks for ways to improve. I would greatly value the opportunity to chat about your most recent...More

Reviewed December 22, 2018

We had 15 people. They said they'd have a limited menu during the holidays but never sent it to us despite many requests. Too late to book elsewhere on December 22nd. Menu had 4 entrees - all meat. Few Veg options other than garden salad....Chicken kabobs were mostly fat. AWFUL FOOD. Really, if you don't want the business then just tell us you're closed. We will never be back. On the Plus side our server was outstanding! sHe didn't really understand the limited menu either but she regularly checked back with the kitchen. She got a big tip because of her attentiveness.More

Date of visit: December 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ALEManagement, Owner at ALE - Amberwood Lounge & Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2019

Hi 304McQueen. I am saddened that this poor experience was not brought to my attention sooner. ALE strives to consistently host a high quality and attentive environment celebrating culinary excellence for our guests and your visit did not reflect this culture. Since your last visit,...More

Reviewed September 21, 2018

A group of 30 of us who booked in advance were shocked when we received our plates. Several of us ordered the Fish and Chips. The cod was the size of 2 popcorn bites accompanied with 12 small fries. One customer had several small plastic...pieces in her Caesar salad. She did not finish it and was not offered any apologies nor discount. At the end of our dinner we decided to never return to that restaurant. The survey we gave our members was basically all the same: The portion were not reasonable for the price. The view was gorgeous. The service was adequate. We would be better to go to a fast food place at least we would not leave hungry no matter what we ordered on the menu.More

Date of visit: September 2018
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ALEManagement, Owner at ALE - Amberwood Lounge & Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2018

Hi Chantal, Thank you very much for your feedback and concerns regarding food portions during your most recent visit to ALE. I am familiar with the occurance to which you discribed and am happy to let you know that all of these issues have been...More

Reviewed August 5, 2018

The Ale is located in the Amberwood Golf and Counrty Club. Being local, I have opportunity to play golf at Amberwood, and enjoy drinks/dinner with my foursome. The menu has sufficient variety for all tastes and budget. The staff is friendly. The patio overlooks the...golf course and makes a pleasant dinner view. Inside seating is spacious and comfortable. A perfect place for after golf play!More

Date of visit: August 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ALEManagement, Owner at ALE - Amberwood Lounge & Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2018

Thank you for your compliments, 997bjp! We're so glad that you enjoy spending time with us. See you soon.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Wingate by Wyndham Kanata West Ottawa
120 reviews
3.37 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kanata Ottawa West
77 reviews
3.40 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ottawa Kanata
418 reviews
3.56 km away
Holiday Inn & Suites Ottawa Kanata, an IHG Hotel
435 reviews
4.67 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Poco Pazzo
229 reviews
.83 km away
The Glen Scottish Pub & Restaurant
316 reviews
.73 km away
Crispy Spring Roll
14 reviews
.82 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Stittsville's Carp Road Flea Market
21 reviews
2.23 km away
Mahogany Salon and Spa
34 reviews
.72 km away
Amberwood Village Golf & Country Club
16 reviews
.01 km away
Walter Baker Park
6 reviews
3.14 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from ALE - Amberwood Lounge & Eatery staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

ALE - AMBERWOOD LOUNGE & EATERY, Stittsville - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about ALE - Amberwood Lounge & Eatery

Yes, ALE - Amberwood Lounge & Eatery offers takeaway services.

ALE - Amberwood Lounge & Eatery is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3