We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Lamb and Flag

$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1 Wellfield Place | Wellfield Place, SA11 5EP, Glynneath, Neath Port Talbot, Southern Wales, Wales, Glynneath SA11 5ER, Wales
+44 1639 721995
Website
Today
12:00 - 20:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 15:00
Tue - Fri 12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 20:30
Sat 12:00 - 20:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

44 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 44: English reviews
Daventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Visited on Saturday night pub and Restaurant rather quiet. The service was excellent and the food being good but my only criticism is wasn't really hot enough. This may have been down to the fact we asked to wait 5 mins after finishing our starters with the main course being ready ? However would recommend !

Helpful?
Thank HarriDean
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Buffet provided for party, one of the best I've seen in a long time and something for everyone. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank NiaG1980
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice clean room good service and nicely cooked breakfast met all my needs for 3 nights stay.The location is good for getting to Neath or Swansea there is a bus outside the hotel that takes you to both.

Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia D
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2016

There is nothing special with regards to the food in this establishment, I visited it with my family. it was busy and took a long time for our food to get to us, when it some of the dishes were cold and had to be sent back.

Helpful?
Thank Pete9536
lambandflag2015, Owner at The Lamb and Flag, responded to this review

hi pete thank you for your review, however it states you visited us in December 2015, I don't understand why you feel it right to put a bad review on nearly a year later. We also do not have the same chef, this is very unfair. jayne john More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2016

14 of us out for a birthday meal last night , could not fault it the food was hot , tasty & very well presented & all served together. Great atmosphere, good service with food and at the bar throughout the night , could not have asked for more 👍🏻 ThankYou

Helpful?
Thank Karen F
lambandflag2015, Owner at The Lamb and Flag, responded to this review

hi thank you so much for your review, and I am so pleased you enjoyed your meals with us, and hope to see you again soon. kind regards jayne More 

UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

Had lunch at the Lamb and Flag today and found the food very disappointing. My fish and chips was mediocre - the fish in batter had obviously been microwaved and did not taste nice at all ! My husband and children however said their meals (burgers and chips) were ok. The service was so slow however that we opted to... More 

Helpful?
Thank SimonaUk
lambandflag2015, Owner at The Lamb and Flag, responded to this review

hi thank you for your review and am very sorry you has a bad experience with us. I have a few concerns you state the waitresses ignored you but we only have one member of staff on the bar who also waitresses. can you tell me what day you were at the restaurant as it states Fridays date on your... More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

We popped in on the way to Swansea for a quick bite. A lovely little pub with very nice staff and extensive menu. The food was lovely with ample portions. Certainly will pop by when passing again

Helpful?
Thank astonian86
lambandflag2015, Owner at The Lamb and Flag, responded to this review

hi thank you very much for your review, am so glad you enjoyed your meal with us, and hope to see you again soon kind regards jayne More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Best in the neath valley and probably further to. Absolutely delicious. Definitely worth going for Sunday carvery.

Helpful?
Thank Lee H
lambandflag2015, Owner at The Lamb and Flag, responded to this review

hi thanks very much for your review, and I am so glad you enjoyed your meal, and we hope to see you again soon. kind regards jayne More 

S. Wales
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2016

Spotted this place while driving past on a Sunday. I remembered it as being a run down old boozer, but the place has bee transformed. The inside is very modern and comfortable. The Sunday carvery was excellent. Good choices, good value. Not tied to 3 courses, you could choose 1, 2 or 3. Children's prices available. The staff were really... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mamoftwo
lambandflag2015, Owner at The Lamb and Flag, responded to this review

hi thank you very much for your review, I am so glad you enjoyed the carvery, and hope to see you again soon thanks jayne More 

Bristol UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Pub been refurbed since the/a fire. Generous double room - staff very friendly , supper well priced as pub food, excellent breakfast . Would stay here again

Helpful?
Thank Neil S
lambandflag2015, Owner at The Lamb and Flag, responded to this review

hi thanks very much for your review, and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to see you again soon. kind regards jayne More 

Travellers who viewed The Lamb and Flag also viewed

Glynneath, Neath Port Talbot
Pontneddfechan, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Llanelli, Carmarthenshire
Penderyn, Brecon Beacons National Park
 

Been to The Lamb and Flag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$4 - US$25
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Good for
Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 15:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 20:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 20:30
Thursday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 20:30
Friday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 20:30
Saturday
12:00 - 20:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Wellfield Place | Wellfield Place, SA11 5EP, Glynneath, Neath Port Talbot, Southern Wales, Wales, Glynneath SA11 5ER, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Southern Wales  >  Neath Port Talbot  >  Glynneath
  • Phone Number: +44 1639 721995

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Lamb and Flag staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?