We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Akaroa Restaurant and Bar

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
75 Beach Road, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
+64 3-304 7842
Website
Today
11:00 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 11:00 - 22:00
Sat - Sun 09:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

221 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 210: English reviews
chch
Level Contributor
119 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2016 via mobile

Early dinner and great staff. Steak more medium than rare but still tasty. Big portions and all full. Calamari the highlight. Great views and location.

Helpful?
Thank Michelle A
LHotel175, Owner at Akaroa Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Thank you MichelleaChch, Great to here you had some great Calamari again on your return visit. The calamari is a very popular dish here. We look forward to having you back soon Regards Megan More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2016

I heard a lot of good things about this place,so icame to check it out, on a monday night, had a steak that was so overcooked you could break someones head with. very disappointing .but i wanted to give the place a try again on a very busy night Saturday as you can not reallly make an opinion a on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sunny575757
LHotel175, Owner at Akaroa Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Thank you Sunny575757, Thank you for taking the time to review us and to give us a second chance. We are really happy that our second chance payed off and you have written some very kind words. For us no matter what chef is on the quality of food coming out of the kitchen should be the same, i will... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2016

At a souvenir shop I bought a book that cost NZ$20. Since I had used up my NZ$, I exchanged US$20 for NZ$28, bought the book and got NZ$8 in change. My wife and I then stopped for beer at the l'Hotel bar. The cost for two beers was NZ$16. Since I only had NZ$8 I asked about paying in... More 

Helpful?
Thank EJS64
LHotel175, Owner at Akaroa Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Dear EJS64, We at L'hotel offer this as a courtesy it is up the to payer to decide whether or not they wish to accept the exchange. We are a restaurant, bar not a foreign exchange. We generally do not have time to work out the difference and do not hold US dollars for change. We hope you enjoyed Akaroa... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
661 reviews
335 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2015 via mobile

Prime corner location with ample indoor and outdoor seating. A good choice for takeaway coffee at the end of the beach shops.

Helpful?
Thank David T
LHotel175, Owner at Akaroa Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Thank you, Regards Megan More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2015 via mobile

Asked for a table outside, was pretty much told it was their busy time and couldn't serve us, there were at least 3 free tables outside and inside was basically empty,.

Helpful?
Thank Warren W
LHotel175, Owner at Akaroa Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Dear Warren W, Thank you for taking the time to write your thoughts, We have been over whelmed with the amount of pax we have had per day and have not been able to serve everybody. Our staff may not have expressed the correct way about advising you that we we possibly currently at our limit for kitchen orders and... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2015

Portion size of the salt and pepper squid was large, value for money. Nice location especially on a sunny evening.

Helpful?
Thank Kombucha10
LHotel175, Owner at Akaroa Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Hi Kombucha, Thank you very much for your kind words, The calamari is a top choice for any night the sit outside and enjoy with a glass of wine and watch the sun set over the harbour. Regards Megan More 

Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2015

The food was mostly good but was overpriced and took a long time to get to us. The portions were small and the chicken on the pizza was very dry.

Helpful?
Thank Angela C
LHotel175, Owner at Akaroa Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Thank You for taking time out to review our property, Our food is priced accordingly to Akaroa, As as we live in Akaroa Courier cost are huge and we do have to put these into the cost of food. We are not a pub, So pub grub is not served. I advise the kitchen on the Chicken, We make our... More 

Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2015

Lovely outdoor seating to watch the world go by!! Drinks in the sun late afternoon and returned later for dinner having studied the menu over drinks! Returned 7p.m. to find it was $15 pizza night and no other choices available. Disappointing to see other tables having their dinner plates full of empty mussel shells etc being taken away!! Just too... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fran1628
LHotel175, Owner at Akaroa Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Thanks Fran for taking the time to review our property. Thursday night pizza night also fits in the the Local touch night, Where we have an influx of locals wanting food and beverages. We tend to go to pizza's to ease the stress in the kitchen. Should you want menu and to eat after 7pm we would recommend booking a... More 

Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2015 via mobile

Ok pub food. Great area to sit outside and enjoy the Sunshine. Very large sizes of servings. Had a coffee ☕ which was nice and warming

Helpful?
Thank Shaleen S
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2015 via mobile

Thought we would give this place the benefit of the doubt as we had been Here for lunch about a year ago, then the food was terrible service slack, this time it was pretty much the same, food was terrible, service OK, ask if that was the bathroom and the reply was, "are you staying here" I said no and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lizzie W
LHotel175, Owner at Akaroa Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Hi Lizzie, Thank you for taking the time to review our property Terribly Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your lunch. The reason we ask and it would have been Dining not staying is that as a commercial business we actually pay for our toilets waste. Over busy periods people get to our location and instead of keep... More 

Travellers who viewed Akaroa Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Akaroa Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$11 - US$30
Cuisine
Seafood, European, New Zealand, Bar, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Television, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Romantic, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings, View
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 22:00
Monday
11:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 22:00
Thursday
11:00 - 22:00
Friday
11:00 - 22:00
Saturday
09:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 75 Beach Road, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Canterbury Region  >  Akaroa
  • Phone Number: +64 3-304 7842
Description
Open 7 days, from 11am till close (2016). We are open for Breakfast on Saturday and Sunday from 9am till 11am. L'hotel is situated right on the water's edge, with panoramic harbour views. L'hotel has an extensive menu using fresh local ingredients, and also catering for food intolerance's, with gluten free options on the menu. Perfect place to meet friends and family for a lively atmosphere and great food and wine.L'hotel has a fully licensed bar.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Akaroa Restaurant and Bar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?