We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cafe Cortado

Cnr High St & London Quay, Picton 7220, New Zealand
+64 3-573 5630
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good37%
  • Average12%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (112 reviews)
“tapas” (35 reviews)
“ceviche” (7 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Pizza, Cafe, New Zealand, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Cnr High St & London Quay, Picton 7220, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (696)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 651 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We dined here with our 2yo. Service was a bit hit and miss during our meal, but the food was good. We had a seafood platter - it was small but tasty. They provided crayons and colouring in pictures/puzzles to keep our daughter entertained -...More

Thank Trishka1974
Reviewed 1 week ago

For the first time in NZ we experienced ignorant staff and not so good service. It took some time to wake the girls up and tell them that we actually wanted something to eat. We Ordered seafood chowder and smoky brisket sandwich. The brisket plate,...More

Thank Ulf S
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited here with friends prior to an event and the meal was surprisingly delicious. We shared several tapas meals and they were all tasty and satisfying. I will definitely take my family there for a more relaxed meal sometime.

Thank 413Barbara
Reviewed 1 week ago

Loved it ! Beautiful meal. We had the deepfried cod and chips, and also the seafood platter. Both meals were faultless. They arrived quickly, and tasted beautiful. We can't speak highly enough of the seafood platter ! Well done to waitress Stephanie, friendly, happy and...More

Thank robin b
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hi I visiting Cortado whilst in Picton this week. I have dined there several times but this was the worst experience. Specials were noted on a board as crumbed mussels and oysters. We decided to go for a share plate or 6 of each. They...More

Thank Tony N
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely food, good value. Great fish and son said best spicy chicken wings ever. Good for kids too with a menu and colouring sheet

Thank 23shona
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We did not eat here altho0ugh we did enjoy a great coffee and friendly staff. Nice atmosphere, very busy buzzy place.

Thank 56ME2017
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went with friends, we had the mussels and pizzas. Both were ok, nothing to rave about. We went because of the great trip advisors reviews but weren't overly impressed.

Thank Kpp82
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My family ate here for dinner. My 5 year old has coeliac disease so we ordered a gluten free pizza and ice cream sundae for her. These were gorgeous. So many choices for gf customers. The other food we ordered was fantastic too! It food...More

Thank wemyssfamily
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Really liked the food here, even if the food took quite a while to come out. Not a problem though as we weren't in a rush and just came to enjoy dinner and it definitely fulfilled the purpose ;-)More

Thank Isabell8785
Jomacd2016, Owner at Cafe Cortado, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi and thanks for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us and look forward to seeing you again. Many of our meals are cooked from scratch to maintain their flavor and succulence and this can take a bit of...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Gusto
404 reviews
.12 km away
Picton Village Bakkerij
277 reviews
.22 km away
Seabreeze Cafe & Bar
503 reviews
.02 km away
Nearby Attractions
Edwin Fox Maritime Museum
256 reviews
.23 km away
Picton Sound
175 reviews
.03 km away
Picton i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
77 reviews
.10 km away
EcoWorld Picton Aquarium
250 reviews
.15 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
george4209
19 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Jomacd2016 | Property representative |
Unfortunately oysters are out of season at present. We do however have lovely local clams, green lipped mussels, king salmon etc
1
Vote
Jennifer O
19 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Steve J | Reviewed this property |
Yes, always pays to book.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$10 - US$35
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Street Parking, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
View, Bar Scene, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Monday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Friday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Cnr High St & London Quay, Picton 7220, New Zealand (Formerly Cafe Cortado Picton)
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Marlborough Region  >  Picton
  • Phone Number: +64 3-573 5630
  • E-mail
Description
Cafe Cortado is located on the Picton waterfront with beautiful views over Queen Charlotte Sound and Picton marina. We have spacious outdoor and indoor dining areas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing