We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cafe Cortado

Cnr High St & London Quay, Picton 7220, New Zealand
+64 3-573 5630
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good37%
  • Average12%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (118 reviews)
“tapas” (33 reviews)
“ceviche” (7 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Pizza, Cafe, New Zealand, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Cnr High St & London Quay, Picton 7220, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (696)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 80 of 651 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

The service was friendly but the food was the worst we've had in New Zealand on our trip. Fajitas were over-seasoned. Pork belly completely saltless and the ceviche was awful. What is supposed to be a cold dish of raw fish cured in lemon was...More

1  Thank Joy R
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

We were staying in the apartments upstairs and chose to take away a pizza. It was relatively expensive but also good quality. Worth a try.

Thank TheDoor_isopen
Reviewed 9 March 2017

My husband and I had lunch here today. I ordered the chowder which is,according to the menu, packed with seafood. It was thick and creamy but my serving had only a small amount of seafood in it. We were having quite a late lunch so...More

1  Thank Susan G
Reviewed 6 March 2017

My wife and I dined here Tuesday night 7th March. Chose the fish of the day - butterfish and it was superb. Portions and flavours were excellent. We had the house Marlborough Pinot Noir which was fine at $39 The flat white decaf coffees were...More

Thank DonaldQuackers
Reviewed 6 March 2017

We are local Picton people. Arranged for a pre wedding get together of around 20 people (maybe a few more). The service was so poor. The manager was running around stressing out, getting upset and was rude. We didn't mind that the meals were coming...More

2  Thank carmendawn68
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

This cafe is probably the latest opened food and drink place in downtown Picton. It offers a good atmosphere for people watching and decent food and drink. There are inside and outside tables. Order at the counter and they will either give you a number...More

Thank Mike71553
Reviewed 4 March 2017

What can I say, BEST experience with these guys tonight!! Arrived at 7:30 and asked for a table for 8 of us. They had a table set up for us immediately. The food took a little while to come out, but sooooo worth the wait!!...More

Thank Lana G
Reviewed 4 March 2017

My family had brunch at Cortados yesterday. When ordering, my partner said he needed gluten free, as he was coeliac. He ordered the full breakfast, and was given the choice of chorizo or kransky sausage, when asked which was GF, waitress went and checked, came...More

1  Thank Nicky B
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

Lunch today with my Husband. Asked for really hot coffee and It was lukewarm. I had a chicken burger and my Husband had a beef Pattie with bacon burger. How can they make all this completely tasteless we asked ourselves? Don't know but they did....More

1  Thank teddybear2009
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely dinner outside in the evening. The food was fantastic-try the pizza-and the staff were super friendly. We even had a bit of fun trying to order in Spanish with our Argentinian waitress!

Thank Owen C
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Gusto
404 reviews
.12 km away
Picton Village Bakkerij
277 reviews
.22 km away
Seabreeze Cafe & Bar
503 reviews
.02 km away
Nearby Attractions
Edwin Fox Maritime Museum
255 reviews
.23 km away
Picton Sound
175 reviews
.03 km away
Picton i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
77 reviews
.10 km away
EcoWorld Picton Aquarium
250 reviews
.15 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
george4209
19 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Jomacd2016 | Property representative |
Unfortunately oysters are out of season at present. We do however have lovely local clams, green lipped mussels, king salmon etc
1
Vote
Jennifer O
19 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Steve J | Reviewed this property |
Yes, always pays to book.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$11 - US$36
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Street Parking, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids, View
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Monday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Friday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Cnr High St & London Quay, Picton 7220, New Zealand (Formerly Cafe Cortado Picton)
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Marlborough Region  >  Picton
  • Phone Number: +64 3-573 5630
  • E-mail
Description
Cafe Cortado is located on the Picton waterfront with beautiful views over Queen Charlotte Sound and Picton marina. We have spacious outdoor and indoor dining areas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing