We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Paula's Place

314 Samora Machel Ave/Cnr Glenara Ave | Eastlea, Harare, Zimbabwe
+263 4 497 950
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good41%
  • Average11%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“chicken” (48 reviews)
“prawns” (16 reviews)
“piri piri” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
European, Portuguese
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
314 Samora Machel Ave/Cnr Glenara Ave | Eastlea, Harare, Zimbabwe
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The atmosphere was lovely. We were a very large crowd and it was a bit chilly. I order the Chicken and Chips, cause the last time I was there I enjoyed that. However this time round it didn't turn out so great. I missed that...More

Thank NCHoliday
paula c c, Owner at Paula's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for your review. I was very disappointed you did not enjoy our chicken the last time you were here. Please accept my sincere apologies, but in future please call on myself or the manager Cheryle so that we get a chance to rectify...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very affordable meals. Visited on a quietish day and the place wasn't overrun with visitors. Generous portions too. Quirky decor

Thank ChiEdith
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Definitely the best Piri Piri Chicken in Harare, and I have eaten a few times at that other restaurant with the same claim. Crispy on the outside an succulent on the inside. Nice atmosphere, very friendly service and very reasonably pricedMore

Thank 799louisl
paula c c, Owner at Paula's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks a million for your review and rating- a good way to start the weekend! Thrilled you loved our chicken and so humbled you consider it the best in Harare. Our aim is to improve where we can, otherwise try to maintain our standards... Once...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had the steak and it was really delicious. It was tender and cooked to requirements. The atmosphere is also amazing, loved it.. the chefs even better, not 1 chef per table but they all just assist lend a helping hand.

Thank Joshua Tawanda M
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Who would expect a Portuguese restaurant in the middle of a Harare suburb. The food was excellent -- try the kingklip if they have it -- and the service was excellent.More

Thank KevinB229
paula c c, Owner at Paula's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

What a nice way to end our weekend reading your opinion and excellent rating! It just makes us more eager to improve and give our valued patrons even better service and meals...... Both myself and my team sincerely thank you for taking the time to...More

A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great food. Service was very efficient, would definitely visit this establishment again when I am in Harare again.More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
paula c c, Owner at Paula's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for taking the time to review and rate us, it is really appreciated, but all my team.....We care about what our patrons think about our food and service. Once again thanks a million and hope you pop in again when you visit Harare....More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent family restaurant. Food is always delicious and fresh. We have been going to Paula's Place since they opened and can highly recommend them. Staff always friendly and helpful.

1  Thank Gwen J
paula c c, Owner at Paula's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mrs Johnson, Your review and rating made our day!!!!!What made it even more special is that you seem to be a regular patron. Thank you so much for your kind words and your valuable support. Kind regards From all at Paula's Place.

Reviewed 12 August 2017

The restaurant was easy to find, food was tasty, drinks were excellent, and service was friendly. As we were in Harare on business, I can't comment on the prices.

Thank Natasha H
paula c c, Owner at Paula's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Thank you so much for sharing your opinion as well as rating us. Sure hope next time you come to Harare you pop in for a meal again! Have a great day. Paula.

Reviewed 17 July 2017

Went to Paula's for a team lunch. Was quite busy so took a while to get our orders served, like probably over 30 mins. I ordered sea food and I didn't feel it was value for money :/ maybe those who ordered chicken (Portuguese specialty)...More

Thank FaffyTravels
paula c c, Owner at Paula's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Many thanks for your review! I believe we were very busy on this day,when you and your team came for lunch, therefore I believe 30 mins wait is very reasonable. I was surprised you found our prices on the high side as we have been...More

Reviewed 11 July 2017

Good value and great tasting food. Easy parking and has a good ambiance. Would highly recommend it for either lunch or supper.

Thank Mark V
paula c c, Owner at Paula's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Dear Mark Its patrons like you that make our job worthwhile! Thanks a million for your excellent rating and review, it puts a spring in our step.... Kind regards Paula.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Victoria 22
291 reviews
1.84 km away
Amanzi Restaurant
329 reviews
3.60 km away
Coimbra
278 reviews
3.94 km away
Nearby Attractions
Mukuvisi Woodlands
160 reviews
1.04 km away
The Shona Sculpture Gallery
21 reviews
5.87 km away
National Botanical Gardens
48 reviews
5.07 km away
Balancing Rocks
34 reviews
7.66 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
ADTLilongwe
31 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Jonnyid | Reviewed this property |
Not necessarily, it will guarantee a place but there is a lot of room both inside and out so it's up to you. Can always call them direct.
1
Vote
Zvikomborero C
8 May 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Pam C | Reviewed this property |
Haven't a clue! As wine bottles are not corked anymore why then is a corkage fee charged at all?
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$28
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
11:45 - 21:00
Monday
11:45 - 21:00
Tuesday
11:45 - 21:00
Wednesday
11:45 - 21:00
Thursday
11:45 - 21:00
Friday
11:45 - 21:00
Saturday
11:45 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 314 Samora Machel Ave/Cnr Glenara Ave | Eastlea, Harare, Zimbabwe
  • Location: Africa  >  Zimbabwe  >  Harare Province  >  Harare
  • Phone Number: +263 4 497 950
  • E-mail
Description
A place home from home with good portuguese food, and chicken cooked on the charcoal. ( just like it should be.......)
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing