We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Latitude 13

60 Mphonogo Rd | Area 43, Lilongwe, Malawi
+265 996 40 31 59
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good38%
  • Average11%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“prawn risotto” (3 reviews)
“creme brulee” (3 reviews)
“halloumi” (3 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
International, Fusion, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
60 Mphonogo Rd | Area 43, Lilongwe, Malawi
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great place- so beautiful and great food. I would recommend this place for more people to visit. Can't wait to go again.

Thank henrykumwenda
Nicholas B, Group Commercial Director at Latitude 13, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi henrykumwenda! Thank you for your review - and your recommendation! Very glad that you enjoyed your meal with us, and we hope you will be back again soon! Best wishes!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have visited this restaurant twice -- once for Sunday lunch with my 6 year old daughter and friends, and another time on a midweek evening with colleagues. On both occasions the food was good. I had chicken schnitzel and fries the first time and...More

Thank Tamara S
Nicholas B, Group Commercial Director at Latitude 13, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Tamara S, thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. We are glad that you enjoyed both occasions with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Best wishes!

Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

This place is viewed as the must go to place in Lilongwe. Like the emperors new clothes it’s screaming out for someone to say -it’s cr*p- well it is. The so called ‘sommelier’ didn’t know her Chardonnay from her Sauvignon Blanc from her elbow. What...More

Thank Michael23558
Reviewed March 18, 2018

This place stands out in Lilongwe and i have not seen anything like it in Malawi. The decor, facilities and artwork were impressive. Except for the local staff and African decor I felt like we ventured into a Caribbean tourist resort. Especially considering the salsa...More

Thank Bjørnar S
Nicholas B, Group Commercial Director at Latitude 13, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2018

Hi Bjørnar S. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your experience at Latitude 13's restaurant. So glad that you found the property "different" to anything else you've encountered in Malawi - and that you enjoyed the look of...More

Reviewed March 9, 2018

This elegant bar/restaurant/hotel is an aesthetic pleasure to enter. The place offers an exceptional and consistent African theme/decor and atmosphere and it is a pleasure to eat here. The food is tasty, but not exceptional compared to the prices. Service is friendly and impeccable. A...More

Thank Coldings
Nicholas B, Group Commercial Director at Latitude 13, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2018

Dear Coldings, we are delighted that you had such a great experience with us! Thank you for taking the time to write a review; hopefully we will be able to welcome you back again soon! Best wishes!

Reviewed March 8, 2018

We went to Latitude twice this week. The interior design is very interesting but there were severe issues with the wine menu and drinks prices. A shot of normal whiskey turned out to be USD 20, normal wine overpriced and so on. Not sure if...More

Thank chrisrod1
Nicholas B, Group Commercial Director at Latitude 13, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2018

Dear chrisrod1, First of all my apologies that you had so many issues during your visit to Latitude 13's restaurant; I would like to thank you for bringing to our attention the problems that you faced. I am happy to report, though disappointed that it...More

Reviewed March 6, 2018

Latitude itself is gorgeous, staff are friendly,it's relaxing.guaranteed someone will be taking pics.it's a stunning location.i'll give a place a few chances before making up my mind &i have been repeatedly disappointed when it comes to food, cold,bland,under cooked i have had it.i'd expect them...More

Thank lomadzi k
Nicholas B, Group Commercial Director at Latitude 13, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2018

Hi lomadzi k, We are disappointed that you have had a series of disappointing visits to Latitude 13. I want to personally assure you that feedback such as yours worries us greatly, and is taken extremely seriously. We expect our service levels to live up...More

Reviewed March 2, 2018

Good menu, great location and good staff. However must be said that the quality of steak was poor, but this is probably due to general difficulties of aquiring first class meat in Malawi. All in all a great place to go for either breakfast, lunch...More

Thank bjovas
Nicholas B, Group Commercial Director at Latitude 13, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2018

Dear bjovas! Thank you for reviewing your experience with us; we are delighted to hear that you like the menu (which we produced using as much local produce as possible, to keep our offering fresh!). We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Best...More

Reviewed February 24, 2018

Certainly an oasis in terms of venue (with apartment hotel stays attached). Delightful setting, with pool and multiple seating environments. Food was OK, but not as good as it promised to be. Still, a nice evening.More

Thank 627pw2015
Nicholas B, Group Commercial Director at Latitude 13, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2018

Dear 627pw2015 - thank you for likening us to an oasis! This is certainly what we were aiming for when we created Latitude 13; a haven where people could relax, and enjoy the company of fellow travellers and the people of Lilongwe! We hope that,...More

Reviewed February 5, 2018

I went here with people from the office - bit of a drive, it seemed, but lovely when we got there. Very friendly welcome and service throughout was great. The menu was a bit limited, and the food was - well - fine, but not...More

Thank mcwcBaku
Nicholas B, Group Commercial Director at Latitude 13, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2018

Dear mcwcBaku, thanks for choosing Latitude for your lunch with your colleagues. So glad that you found the welcome and the service friendly, and apologies that you found the menu a little limited. We do change it regularly, and like to keep it simple to...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 14 hotels in Lilongwe
Latitude 13 Hotel
133 reviews
.03 km away
Bridgeview Hotel & Conference Centre
97 reviews
2.17 km away
Crossroads Hotel
189 reviews
2.78 km away
President Walmont Hotel
124 reviews
2.83 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Ama Khofi
132 reviews
3.52 km away
Mamma Mia Italian Restaurant
265 reviews
6.67 km away
Lark Cafe
134 reviews
.21 km away
Nearby Attractions
Lilongwe Wildlife Centre
80 reviews
6.93 km away
Kumbali Cultural Village
33 reviews
4.90 km away
Parliament Building
35 reviews
5.10 km away
Nature Sanctuary
53 reviews
4.90 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Sboe K
November 15, 2017|
Answer
Response from Visa M | Reviewed this property |
I think that you should see your accountant.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$10 - US$25
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Validated Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Private Dining, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 60 Mphonogo Rd | Area 43, Lilongwe, Malawi
  • Location: Africa  >  Malawi  >  Central Region  >  Lilongwe
  • Phone Number: +265 996 40 31 59
  • E-mail
Description
Award nominated chef Richard Greenhall and Andrew O'Hallaran have created an eclectic menu, that transports the diner from Lake Malawi to Asia and the distant Mediterranean.The list of fifty superior wines from South Africa, complements the culinary journey, turning every meal into a special occasion.Dinner in the main restaurant is relaxed, whilst lunch al fresco on the terrace by the pool and gardens, is sublime.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;