We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Joe's Beer House

160 Nelson Mandela Avenue | Eros, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
+264 61 232 457
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent39%
  • Very good44%
  • Average13%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“game meat” (105 reviews)
“eisbein” (57 reviews)
“kebab” (30 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
German, African, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
160 Nelson Mandela Avenue | Eros, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (2,767)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 1,760 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

There's always room for one more. A xxx delight for the carnivore in us all. You get to sit at a table of former strangers and stare at all the meat on their plates. The service was mediocre. I had to wait for silverware after...More

Thank Topgum
Reviewed 3 days ago

Sunday in Windhoek...not many places are open. Tried Joe's Beer House ...tourist trap of note ! indifferent service ( actually non existent!). waited at a table crammed with dirty plates and glasses for 30+ mins, a very important manageress eventually asked us what we wanted...More

Thank Stuart f
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Not much than the result of a good management and extremely well advertised...for tourists...not for food...

Thank Manuel R
Reviewed 3 days ago

Joe's is always on our list when we visit Windhoek. This time around, we were very disappointed. The restaurant was full as usual but the service were really bad and all our meals were below average - perhaps their day off?

Thank CasBad
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Went for supper, the vibe is amazing!! Service really good, had quarter chicken with salad, so banting friendly which is always a plus plus!!! 🤗 A must experience for a tourist/visitor! Ps... don’t believe them when they say they are fully booked, we still took...More

Thank LiezlDodkins
JerovineM, Manager at Joe's Beer House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you very much for the review. We appreciate the feedback very much

Reviewed 4 days ago

We were recommended this restaurant by our driver and the guesthouse we were staying at. We thought we were booked but on arrival we were told no, we're full, but they still found us a table! It indeed was busy but the service did not...More

Thank pedro00
JerovineM, Manager at Joe's Beer House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

We appreciate the feedback, thank you very much.

Reviewed 4 days ago

A trip to Joe’s is great fun, but not the place to go for a gourmet dinner and a relaxed atmosphere. The design itself makes you wonder if you are indoor or outdoor. The noise is tremendous if you arrive during a drumming sessions, as...More

Thank Oystein F
JerovineM, Manager at Joe's Beer House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for the review about Joe's Beerhouse and for sharing your experience with us.

Reviewed 6 days ago

A fellow traveller that had previously worked in Windhoek recommended this place to us on the flight up from Cape Town. I had seen it on Google Maps close to our hotel and so we came here without really looking into too many other options....More

Thank Mark C
JerovineM, Manager at Joe's Beer House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you very much for the review about Joe's Beerhouse and for your experience shared with us.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visted whilst being away with the Wild Dog Safari and very much enjoyed ourselves and would recommend this to anybody

Thank David J
JerovineM, Manager at Joe's Beer House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

We are happy that you enjoyed yourself at Joe's Beerhouse and thank you for the recommendation.

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The food is very assorted it feels a little out of place. The meat in the kids cheeseburger is a little floppy . The fish is tasteless. But the theme of the joint is pretty clear and visible the whole way through the stay .

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Social
115 reviews
.40 km away
The Olive Restaurant
130 reviews
.29 km away
Sicilia Ristorante
64 reviews
.86 km away
Nearby Attractions
Trans-Namib Railroad Museum
64 reviews
1.28 km away
Zoo Park
46 reviews
.86 km away
Wild Dog Safaris
258 reviews
.49 km away
Joe's Beerhouse
311 reviews
.01 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
tms2indub
5 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Judy R | Reviewed this property |
Drive your own car
0
Votes
656nela
17 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from CJ123737 | Property representative |
Hi, thank you for your inquiry. herewith a list of vegetarian dishes on our menu : 1)Butternut soup 2) Potato and Leek soup 3) A selection of salads 4)Crumbed Mushrooms 5) Sweet Potato gratin with celery,leek, carrots and... More
0
Votes
Jacqueline S
29 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from CJ123737 | Property representative |
Good morning, thank you for your inquiry. The restaurant is totally casual as it is a semi outdoor venue with rustic furniture. Reservation is very advisable and can conveniently be done from our website. Thank you and... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$15 - US$22
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Monday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Friday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 160 Nelson Mandela Avenue | Eros, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
  • Location: Africa  >  Namibia  >  Khomas Region  >  Windhoek
  • Phone Number: +264 61 232 457
  • E-mail
Description
Joe's Beerhouse is a place for people of all walks of life to meet. It can seat up to 580 guests at a time and is open 7 days of the week. The menu emphasis lies on game meat but also caters for non-meat lovers. It however is not geared toward fine dining. Reservations are essential as the restaurant is well frequently booked out.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing