We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cafe Mamba

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
22a Akii Bua Road | Nakasero, Kampala, Uganda
+256 786 999999
Website
Today
12:00 - 22:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 22:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

77 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 71: English reviews
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

Food was allright, good variety. Pizzas were good. Good location and very clean. Nice pool including a baby pool

Helpful?
Thank Isabelle B
t
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2017

Small but excellent restaurant with a good range of dishes and a specials board. Milkshakes and pizzas are a must! The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. We stayed in the adjoining Urban Cityblue hotel which is a little oasis of calm.

Helpful?
Thank Shane-Sally M
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2016

Consistently delicious breakfasts, the suppers are all good, especially the pizzas when you are hungry and tired.

Helpful?
Thank damiand10
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

Didn't get value for money spent. Pizza was not tasty at all. Asked for icecream and was only given one small spoon dipped in amarula.

Helpful?
Thank zungulu
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2016

the wine was good and the prices fair but thats about it. I expected alot more because the old cafe mamba was so excellent. the food was extremely underwhelming and took ages to arrive. i was celebrating my birthday with family and we all had a lousy experience.

Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
City_Blue_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Mamba, responded to this review

Dear Sandra, We are incredibly sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your time at Cafe Mamba. If you would like, do please contact us on caroline.rowe@citybluehotels.com so that we might understand more about how we can improve. Warmest regards, The CityBlue Team. More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

We visited here after a busy day working in Kampala. It was the perfect escape from the city noise for us. The good was lovely especially the fondue for desert.

Helpful?
Thank philomena83
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2015

The ambiance is great for solitude in the heart of the city... they have the best pizza in town but the food is a bit too bland. We tried the pork ribs and nearly asked to pay 50% of the bill just because the food wasnt worth it. Spoke to the manager and he said they were bringing a new... More 

Helpful?
Thank lytness
Urban_Kampala, Sales and Marketing Manager at Cafe Mamba, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on this forum. We take all feedback very seriously and as a result I am happy to announce that the new chef from Nepal has arrived and a new menu has been launched with a wider food variety from different cuisines. We have also now introduced the most affordable continental... More 

Nairobi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2015

staff very nice and helpful albeit a bit slow. rat in title is a true story - was sitting having drinks in the evening and saw the rat boldly come down the handle and disappear under the breakfast counter. food is OK but would not rush back I was staying in the hotel so ate there a lot till I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Littledog1971
Urban_Kampala, Sales and Marketing Manager at Cafe Mamba, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Café Mamba formerly Mamba Point. Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on this forum. The demolition of the old structure next door in preparation for the construction of 21 additional World Class rooms caused us problems of pests such as rats but the aggressive fumigation helped deal with the problem. We were aware of... More 

NJ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2015

We were looking forward to good Italian/Mediterranean food but were disappointed. It was just "okay" and with very slow service. "Feta" cheese was not really Feta, etc. Pleasant surroundings (but beware of mosquitoes).

Helpful?
Thank Mimiinnj
Urban_Kampala, Manager at Cafe Mamba, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you very much for sharing your experiences on this forum. Accept our apologies for the slow service and poor quality feta cheese that you got from Café Mamba. We investigated the complaint of feta cheese and changed the supplier to guarantee the highest quality of food ingredients always. We promise you a difference so don’t fear... More 

Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
95 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2015

My friend took me here on my birthday and guess what I was disappointed. Being my second time here - I was kinda looking forward to the treat. When I was first here sometime last year - I had pizza - it was great and the wine was very cheap compared to many eating places in town- so we bought... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ruth A
Urban_Kampala, Manager at Cafe Mamba, responded to this review

Dear Tindi, Thank you for sharing your feedback of your last poor experience at Café Mamba on this forum. We have investigated your review and must apologize for the poor service on your birthday of all days. We received a new consignment of great selection of wine that was not yet on the wine list the day you visited hence... More 

Travellers who viewed Cafe Mamba also viewed

Kampala, Central Region
 
Kampala, Central Region
 

Been to Cafe Mamba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$10 - US$20
Cuisine
Italian, Pizza
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Delivery, Seating
Good for
Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 22:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:30
Thursday
12:00 - 22:30
Friday
12:00 - 22:30
Saturday
12:00 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 22a Akii Bua Road | Nakasero, Kampala, Uganda
  • Location: Africa  >  Uganda  >  Central Region  >  Kampala
  • Phone Number: +256 786 999999

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cafe Mamba staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?