We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Le Sherpa

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Maharajgung | Maharajgung Next to the President House, Kathmandu, Nepal
+977 4428604
Website
Today
10:00 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

102 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 92: English reviews
Nepalgunj, Nepal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Dinner here is a great experience- you almost forget that you are in Kathmandu. The food tastes great, and is relatively cheap compared to other fine-dining experiences in Kathmandu. The brunch, however, I found was poor quality and did not taste very good at all. I think they are overwhelmed with the farmer's market outside on Saturdays to offer decent... More 

Helpful?
Thank jennlow43
Jhanak C, Manager at Le Sherpa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a kind review. It makes the biggest difference to the success of our projects. As we are also new for brunch I hope we see you again one day for brunch. More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were here for lunch.We were well received and shown to our table. Nice quiet atmosphere.We were seated outside at the open courtyard surrounded by green grass and downward garden. Foods were nicely presented and tasted really great and we had our foods with a matched wine recommended by the staff. Highly recommended

Helpful?
Thank Pujan L
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2017

Trying to find this place is a bit tricky but after entering near the restaurant I was surprised by how good the decor and setting was. The restaurant is clean and well maintained and it mainly caters to westerners (maybe due to the prices). Although the food was good I feel as though it could be a bit better -... More 

Helpful?
Thank Abhipb
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

If you want delicious food from the France kitchen, you need to give LeSherpa a visit. The whole staff is very professional. They are using only the best ingredients. You are meet with a warm welcome, from you walk in till you leave again. I'm proud to say, I have found my restaurant in Kathmandu!

Helpful?
1 Thank nickilarsen
Jhanak C, Manager at Le Sherpa, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review. We work very hard to make this a very special place. It is guests like you that will make this place a big success. More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2016

A good French Restaurant in Kathmandu, that serves REAL French food, and not the usual universal chicken filets.

Helpful?
Thank Vlaamse_Reiziger
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2016

We loved this place, one of our best dining experiences we had was here at Le Sherpa. It´s near the Embassy of Japan. We dined out by the open courtyard area were we soaked up the sun. Food here is very ideal for the conditions such as the soups, also some goos wines on the menu.

Helpful?
Thank Bronsaunders
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

Awesome place,Lockal market,Helpful people & fresh food. It's good location central Lazimpart.I really enjoy the Saturday Market.

Helpful?
Thank rameshbhandari
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

The restaurant is in a beautiful setting. When you eneter from a busy street, you will be surprused by the serenity of a green garden. Food is good, typical french cousine. The desserts are amazing especially the creme brulee. You should definetly try it if you visit Kathmandu.

Helpful?
Thank Smrketa S
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

I tried the Pork Belly and it was awesome. Absolutely satisfying. The price is not cheap but worth the spend 😊

Helpful?
Thank Ray1T
Kathmandu Valley, Nepal
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2016

Le Sherpa was closed in about April 2016 and will be reopening soon (May/June) further up on Maharajgang. Farmers market continues at new location and well worth a visit on Saturday mornings.

Helpful?
1 Thank allanchrister

Travellers who viewed Le Sherpa also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Le Sherpa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
European, French, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Seating, Full Bar
Good for
Business meetings, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 22:00
Monday
10:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 22:00
Thursday
10:00 - 22:00
Friday
10:00 - 22:00
Saturday
10:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Maharajgung | Maharajgung Next to the President House, Kathmandu, Nepal
  • Location: Asia  >  Nepal  >  Central Region  >  Bagmati Zone  >  Kathmandu Valley  >  Kathmandu
  • Phone Number: +977 4428604
Description
Here at Le Sherpa, we are pushing forth, to set the stage for conscious dining in Nepal.Along side foreign consultants we have established a new menu and philosophy around supporting local producers in a safe and sustainable way to encourage the development of standardized and trusted produce in Nepal.We focus on producing a high standard of European food, unique and all home made, served in a fine-dining though unpretentious atmosphere.Our menu is small though well thought out and ever changing to offer an interesting, and modern experience to our guests. We source the best ingredients available to us with and offer a large variety of quality wines.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Le Sherpa and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Le Sherpa staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?