We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

About Thyme

| Corner of Peponi Road and Eldama Ravine Road, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
+254 721 850026
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good40%
  • Average14%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (20 reviews)
“red snapper” (11 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m. Hours
CUISINES
African, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
| Corner of Peponi Road and Eldama Ravine Road, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 256 reviews

Reviewed today

My companion and I both starters. I shared prawns followed by Grilled chicken and a Lamb moussaka. Both were well prepare and presented. i had a bread and butter pudding and coffee to finish.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank steve K
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My friend and I had dinner here last night (Nov16th). The pros: Beautiful place if you sit outside at the garden; menu also has vegetarian and vegan options; awesome food; moved us to another table when we didn't like where we were seated. The cons:...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Mukami M
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Make sure you get a seat outside, just lovely and so relaxing. 6 friends eating, drinking (fruits juices were amazing) and just loving life. I think we were there for over 2 hours. Just didn't want to leave. Love Nairobi!!!!

Date of visit: December 2017
1  Thank Kianna_Stephen
Reviewed October 21, 2018 via mobile

It is overrated; we were with small Babies and we asked to sit in a comfortable table outside but the waiter said is not possible to eat... only drink... because of glass table??? Boh!?classic “protocol” of Kenya??? Food was ok but expensive for what they...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank andrea f
mssales, Guest Relations Manager at About Thyme, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2018

Andrea, we are pleased that you enjoyed our garden, despite other parts of your experience falling short of your expectations. We suspect that there may have been some miscommunication, for which we apologise. Our brunch hours, as marked on our menus, are served Sundays 10...More

Reviewed October 14, 2018

Very cosy restaurant, friendly personnel. The food is excellent. The portions are reasonable. I had a strawberry cheese cake for dessert and... mmh! Just what a cheesecake should be. I would recommend dining at the terrace. The garden area is a smoking zone.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Keracare
KristineGianna, Public Relations Manager at About Thyme, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Kercare,  Thank you for taking the time to leave us a feedback! We're happy to hear that you liked the food you ordered. See you again soon and hopefully it's sunny 😃 Best regards, About Thyme Management

Reviewed October 11, 2018 via mobile

The ambiance of this place is great, it’s easy to forget you are in the middle of s city. The food was good, a bit pricey though. The only real complaint I have is how long it took to get everything from the drinks, the...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Amber D
mssales, Guest Relations Manager at About Thyme, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2018

Thanks for taking time to review us Amber. We apologise that you experienced slow service, as this is not the norm here. We look forward to welcoming you here again soon.

Reviewed September 14, 2018 via mobile

It seems that this is a popular restaurant, so book in advance to get a nice table in the cozy backyard. The starters and main dishes we had where very good!More

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank Gardrr
KristineGianna, Guest Relations Manager at About Thyme, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018

Hi Gardrr, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a feedback. We're happy to hear that you liked our food; we continue to do our best to make our dishes one of the yummiest, if not the yummiest, in Nairobi and the whole...More

Reviewed September 2, 2018 via mobile

We decided to go there after reading good reviews. The setting is beautiful and romantic. The service however was very poor, we reserved on saturday night and waited 40min before our appetizers came out, which were average. We did appreciate the pasta dishes that we...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Bellepham
mssales, Guest Relations Manager at About Thyme, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2018

Bellepham, firstly thank you for taking the time to review us. Our Team deeply apologises for the unintentional neglect of your garden salads and dessert. Please be assured that such events, especially twice in one night with one table, is very much a deviation from...More

Reviewed August 11, 2018 via mobile

I’ve been to About Thyme twice, and both times have been great! If you’re a meat eater, get the ribs! Food is amazing, and the ambiance makes everything better. If the weather permits, definitely go for the outdoor seating.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank lousybanana
KristineGianna, Guest Relations Manager at About Thyme, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2018

Dear Lousybanana, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a feedback! We're happy to hear that you liked the food you ordered. See you again soon and hopefully it's sunny 😃 Best regards, About Thyme Management 

Reviewed August 7, 2018 via mobile

We had a dinner with and we really loved the ambiance,great food and there was a jazz being played. Really cool and quite place. The food was good and there prices reasonable, We will go back againMore

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank juneidh2017
KristineGianna, Guest Relations Manager at About Thyme, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2018

Dear Juneid H, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a feedback! We're happy to hear that you liked the food you ordered. We always aim to improve our guest's experience. Would you kindly share with us here what else we could have...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 193 hotels in Nairobi
Westwood Hotel
50 reviews
.29 km away
Progressive Park Hotel
186 reviews
.60 km away
Kingfisher Nest
11 reviews
.63 km away
Bidwood Suite Hotel
166 reviews
.64 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Hashmi`s Restaurant
379 reviews
.67 km away
Furusato Japanese Restaurant
299 reviews
.50 km away
Artcaffe
717 reviews
.68 km away
Nearby Attractions
Westgate Shopping Mall
122 reviews
.45 km away
Sarit Centre
148 reviews
.91 km away
Sarit Centre
11 reviews
.92 km away
Casino FlaminGo Nairobi
7 reviews
1.24 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Denzel C
October 26, 2018|
Answer
Response from mssales | Property representative |
Hello Denzel, the only time we offer special menus for couples is for Valentine’s Day dinner. Otherwise couples are always pleased with our á la carte options. Hope to welcome you here soon.
1
Vote
mumbijane84
July 6, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from KristineGianna | Property representative |
Hi. Pricing is very reasonable w/ large portions. You can check out more of the menu for July at their website with pricing included for your reference.
0
Votes
roy o
May 11, 2017|
Answer
Response from mssales | Property representative |
All the menus are on our website. Please click on the link in our profile or visit our Facebook page. We're currently hosting Nairobi Burger Fest through 14th May. We look forward to serving you.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Tuesday
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Wednesday
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Thursday
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Friday
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Saturday
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: | Corner of Peponi Road and Eldama Ravine Road, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
  • Location: Africa  >  Kenya  >  Nairobi
  • Phone Number: +254 721 850026
  • E-mail
Description
We offer indoor and outdoor dining. Outdoor dining options are aplenty, either on our terrace or 'Down Thyme' garden. If the weather is a bit chilly we offer jikos to warm you up, or dine inside next to our cosy fireplace.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing