We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Il Covo Restaurant

Bamburi Beach, next to Kenya Bay Beach Hotel | Bamburi, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
+254 740 634062
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good34%
  • Average13%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (31 reviews)
“seafood” (8 reviews)
“steak” (6 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
Italian, Pizza, Seafood, European, Vegetarian Friendly
$$ - $$$
Bamburi Beach, next to Kenya Bay Beach Hotel | Bamburi, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

21 - 30 of 130 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2017

had a great pizza here with family and while italian, their service had great kenyan taste too ... good raised from the beach sitting

Thank maira r
Caesar W, Owner at Il Covo Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2017

I wish to thank you for your positive feedback on your experience at our restaurant. I will certainly share this with our team members. We hope to see you again soon at the il covo restaurant. Asante! Caesar (Owner)

Reviewed June 30, 2017

I got an excellent pizza here for $6. They lose one star for not having cold beer. Why is it so hard to get a cold beer in africa? Attention Africa; Mzungus need COLD beer. Not stored in the basement at room temperature cold, but...More

Thank UsaPassportStamper
Caesar W, Owner at Il Covo Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2017

We thank you for taking your time to give a feedback on your experience at our restaurant. We are happy to note that you enjoyed the Pizza. We have noted your disappointment at the temperature of the beer you were served with. This must have...More

Reviewed June 13, 2017 via mobile

Sounds like they'd had a very busy day, so we're out of fish and crab. A beach side restaurant without seafood is a bit of a letdown. We ordered homemade tagliatelle, which was overcooked pretty badly, though with a flavourful sauce.More

Thank WeldonWK
Caesar W, Owner at Il Covo Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2017

Thank you for taking your time to give us a feedback on your experience at il covo restaurant. I am not sure of your exact day of visit but yes, we do run out once in a while depending on demand and more so during...More

Reviewed June 2, 2017

Been here 4 times in April,for disco,we were a big group of 15 people,we had gone to Kenya to celebratea wedding ,so we hanged out here,the cocktaiis are to die for,and the dj,He is an amazing person,we totallyenjoyed our selves,BUT ONE WAITER,always overcharged us,thinking we...More

Thank weidhaas
Caesar W, Owner at Il Covo Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2017

Thank you very much for your candid feedback on your experience at the Il Covo. Our core value is to surpass our customers' expectation and at least meet the expectation. We have noted that you had an overall pleasant experience save for the Waiter you...More

Reviewed May 31, 2017 via mobile

My review of ll covo was during the day as we were walking the beach and trying to find a place to eat. My friend suggest we go here as she was told people said was good. The restaurant is nicely located on beach and...More

Thank Eric H
Caesar W, Owner at Il Covo Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2017

Thank you for taking your time to give a review on your experience at our restaurant. I have noted that we failed to meet your expectations on matters seafood and Greek salad and do hereby apologize on behalf of Il Covo restaurant. Rest assured that...More

Reviewed May 18, 2017

Fresh fish, incredible steak! the sea frontage and the friendly service made us stay way beyond our lunch. The staff (Joshua in particular) are welcoming and seem genuinely interested in service. The food portion is right and the food is very tasty. The owners -...More

Thank 4by4
Caesar W, Owner at Il Covo Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2017

We are humbled by the positive review of your meal experience at Il Covo. It is such feedbacks which gives us the encouragement to keep striving to improve on our offerings. Keep the feedback flowing whenever you patronize Il Covo, also on areas where we...More

Reviewed May 12, 2017

Excellent and well prepared Italian cuisine, lovely and vibrant atmosphere with a spectacular view of the beach and Indian Ocean, furthermore the waiting staff are attentive and motivated. Kudos to Mr. Caesar Waganagwa and Esther Waganagwa for breathing new life to this restaurant and taking...More

Thank harunwebi5
Caesar W, Owner at Il Covo Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2017

We are happy to learn that we met your expectations. Your positive feedback gives us more encouragement to keep improving. We look forward to your next visit. Caesar.

Reviewed May 5, 2017 via mobile

I read about the new il covo in the coast week. The new management for sure know their stuff. The food is awesome and I enjoyed all my meals. The italian taste is distictive. Their pizzas are too delicious!! Service is great and fast. Very...More

Thank AshaAnthony
Caesar W, Owner at Il Covo Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2017

We are glad to note that you had a good experience in our restaurant. It was a pleasure looking after you and your party. Kindly accept our sincere appreciation for finding time to inform the world about your good experience at the il covo restaurant....More

Reviewed April 27, 2017

what a difference now with the new owner....friendly, he came to welcome us ...food super, wine good, we had a wonderfull evening with excellent food, i come back soon

Thank mark q
Caesar W, Owner at Il Covo Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2017

Thank you for your positive feedback Mark. We are glad that we met your expectation and look forward to welcoming you again. Asante sana.

Reviewed April 20, 2017

The restaurant serves great food but a bit pricey compared to other beach restaurants nearby. I, personally appreciate the security measures you have implemented but you hired the wrong guys. They got no manners. The men you have hired at the entrance from the beach...More

Thank Anna M
Caesar W, Owner at Il Covo Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2017

Thank you for your candid feedback. I am happy to announce that we have taken corrective measures to address your concerns in regards to security at the beach entrance. We look forward to welcoming you once again. Once again, thank you for your constructive feedback.

Nearby HotelsSee all 60 hotels in Mombasa
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
419 reviews
.06 km away
The Plaza Beach Hotel
97 reviews
.17 km away
Kahama Hotel
179 reviews
.22 km away
Severin Sea Lodge
632 reviews
.28 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Imani Dhow Restaurant
33 reviews
.21 km away
Yul's Restaurant
621 reviews
.21 km away
Sea Haven
68 reviews
1.44 km away
Nearby Attractions
Tropical Diving Kenya
21 reviews
.24 km away
Nakumatt Nyali
100 reviews
.29 km away
Bike the Coast
25 reviews
.56 km away
Mombasa Go-Kart
91 reviews
.61 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Luciana A
January 26, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from CaesarW6 | Property representative |
We are located in Bamburi Mombasa, next to Kenya Bay Hotel by the beach.
This negative feedback is very surprising and disheartening. We have served several customers since we reopened the restaurant under new management on 12th April 2017 and since then we have only been receiving very complimentary comments save for a few feed-backs on areas where we can improve. It is most unfortunate that you found your experience so totally unpleasant because of the 'overpriced' wine despite the fact that you had complimentary remarks on the pizza you had as per the conversation you had with me as an owner of the restaurant. Whereas it is your prerogative to express your opinion freely, we take exception in the manner you tried to portray Kenyans as people who have no appreciation of wines and therefore deserve the cheap cask wines. We, at the new il covo restaurant under new management tend to differ with your opinion and that is why we have introduced House Wine from carefully selected set of bottled whites and reds. We go a step further in letting our valued customers taste any of the wines on offer in order to ascertain the grape which goes well with their palette. We believe wine should not just be consumed to get one drunk but rather to compliment one's meal experience. We continue receiving very positive remarks about our House Wine from customers who appreciate value in its entirety. We regret that you found our new baby not pleasant to the extent you could use derogatory words such us 'absolutely crab' to describe it. Just for your information, we have had a good build up of clientele and its no longer the empty restaurant you found on our second day of soft opening. We shall always endevor to ensure that our customers get maximum value for their money and will always listen to constructive feedback for purposes of improvement. Esther W. (owner)
April 22, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from CaesarW6 | Property representative |
Hi Larry, Kindly accept my sincere apology. indeed my response was meant for someone else and am still trying to figure out how it got tagged to you. We take your feedback seriously and am happy to announce that I did... More
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$8 - US$35
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Television
Good for
Child-friendly, Bar Scene, View, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bamburi Beach, next to Kenya Bay Beach Hotel | Bamburi, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
  • Location: Africa  >  Kenya  >  Coast Province  >  Mombasa
  • Phone Number: +254 740 634062
  • E-mail
Formerly a holiday house on two floors overlooking the white, sandy Bamburi beach 12 km north of Mombasa island. Il Covo opened its door in May 2003 and since then it has been the top dining and entertainment venue in Mombasa. The lower veranda overlooks the beach, a romantic gazebo just out onto the sea and is fondly called fort Jesus. Its' an ideal spot for romantic dinners. The upper deck has two balconies with a sea view. One of them is a sushi bar whereby our chef will create the freshest and most delicious sushi, sashimi and teppanyaki right in front of you. The second balcony, dubbed "A room with a view' is an ideal setup for a private family lunch or dinner with a perfect view of the sea and a breeze that never ceases. Our Italian cuisine is renowned for it's originality, our menu consists of a wide range of original pasta dishes, fresh starters, salads including a variety of fish Carpaccio, tuna and red snapper. Fresh lobsters, prawns, calamari and octopus all depending on the day's catch, are also part of Il Covo's luscious and extensive menu along with fabulously tender Aged Angus meats. Il Covo also accommodates a large wood burning oven which gives the best authentic Italian pizzas. Our flat serene beach filled with white fine sand lends itself as a perfect venue for beach fun parties and exclusive dinners. All you require is just to ask for a beach setup and we shall do the rest at no extra cost. The il Covo experience is not complete without visiting our very popular disco club located on the upper floor. Our DJ will ensure that you shed of some of the calories you gained after dinner.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing