We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Anura's Restaurant

$$ - $$$
Sri Lankan, Pizza, International, Asian
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
9 Light House Street | Galle Fort, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
+94 91 2 224354
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

176 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 142: English reviews
Slovenian Littoral Region, Slovenia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2016

Went there for lunch. First they told us that we can't order most of the meals. So we ordered omlette with cheese and something to drink. An average omlette, couldn't taste much of cheese. The bread that was served with omlette could be toasted. Nice place though.

Helpful?
Thank Mateja89
Thane, India
Level Contributor
126 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2016

A quaint place in the fort, also serves great sea food. Looks a bit run down, but that could be the decor. All in all recommended.

Helpful?
Thank CaptainKDW
Galle, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

It was calm n quiet place on night time on the street had nice food freshly maded.recomended for all to have dinner.nice seafood platters,pizza was delicious!on the secret menu had srilankan special cocktail!!!wow!!🍹

Helpful?
Thank sakila m
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Love this place! Sweet little place inside the fort which serves great tasty Lavazza coffee. It says it's featured in Lonely Planet... 😊

Helpful?
Thank Nadia A
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

We ate here a pizza - which was in my opinion a overpriced compared to other restaurants in Galle (1200). The pizza itself was fine, but small.

Helpful?
Thank Tim J
UK
Level Contributor
143 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2016

Many of the people reviewing this must have been to a different restaurant! The prices were not low but also not high compared to many of the other places in the Fort. Good pizza and good (reasonably fast) service. There is no beer on the menu but you can negotiate it if you want one.

Helpful?
Thank TangramUK
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Food was awesome! Affordable compared to other places. Wonderful customer service . This place is a must if you visit Galle . Nice portraits & paintings. Cool place!

Helpful?
1 Thank Nithu A
Cholet, France
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

We were quite surprised to have such a poor service in this restaurant. Indeed, we were 9 people with kids aged from 3 to 12. The waiter (owner?) urged us twice in 5 minutes only to quickly order because many clients were going to come. We left the place and told him we apologized to leave, he said he understood... More 

Helpful?
Thank yoshi4973
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

Our stay in Sri Lanka has been nothing short of amazing, besides our last meal at this extremely overpriced cafe in Galle. As per lonely planets advice we stopped by for lunch before taking our train but to our disappointment, we never got served. Order just two simple toastie sandwiches which never arrived for the 1 hour that we waited.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Faizan T
Antigua
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2016

We had 2 pizzas to share between us and our 2 children both of which were very tasty. We also ordered 1 beer, 2 fizzy drinks and a fresh juice and it came to 4000 rupees. Lovely restaurant and artwork for sale on the walls was beautiful but sadly too big for our suitcase. Staff warm and welcoming. When you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lucy H

Travellers who viewed Anura's Restaurant also viewed

Galle, Southern Province
Galle, Southern Province
 
Galle, Southern Province
 

Been to Anura's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Sri Lankan, Pizza, International, Asian
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Reservations, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 9 Light House Street | Galle Fort, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
  • Location: Asia  >  Sri Lanka  >  Southern Province  >  Galle
  • Phone Number: +94 91 2 224354
Description
It is listed in the Lonely Planet.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Anura's Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?