We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Baobab Restaurant

44/1 Serengeti Road, Arusha, Tanzania
+255 27 254 3004
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good38%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“cake” (2 reviews)
“naan” (2 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Indian, African, International
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
44/1 Serengeti Road, Arusha, Tanzania
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very Nice place to Dine and wine. Nice selection of menu. Nice rooms. Friendly , attentive staff. Swimming pool side bar. Easily accessible.

Thank akaalpharmacy2014
MelissaAmsi, Guest Relations Manager at The Baobab Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for dining at our Baobab Restaurant and for writing this amazing review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your meal as well as the services. We certainly look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Melissa Amsi

Reviewed 6 February 2017

We had breakfast 3 times and two evening meals. The omelette was cooked to order and the rest of the breakfast was exellent. The indian menu for dinner was superb. The butter chicken was as good as I have had anywhere

Thank Twose64
MelissaAmsi, Guest Relations Manager at The Baobab Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for this remarkable review. I am pleased to read that you had a wonderful dining experience at our The Baobab Restaurant and that you enjoyed your breakfast and dinner. We hope to have you back again. Kind regards, Melissa Amsi

Reviewed 15 January 2017

The Baobab Restaurant offers a wide selection of continental, Tanzanian and Indian food. The local fish was delicious, as was the Chicken Muknee (Butter Chicken), the Tandoori Chicken, the Tanzanian Salad and the Indian Naan. Portions were quite generous and enjoyed by all! Service was...More

Thank Catherine A
MelissaAmsi, Guest Relations Manager at The Baobab Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for this wonderful review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the food as well as the service and the atmosphere. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon. Kind regards, Melissa Amsi

Reviewed 14 January 2017

We enjoyed the Breakfast Buffet that came with our rooms; food was delicious, ample and had a nice presentation. We decided to eat dinner there our last night in Arusha and had the most delicious meal. They offer a vast amount of traditional, local and...More

Thank camn21252
MelissaAmsi, Guest Relations Manager at The Baobab Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are thrilled that your dining experience at our The Baobab Restaurant was a pleasant one. It is wonderful to read that you thoroughly enjoyed the food and the services provided to you. Thank you very much for this amazing review, and we...More

Reviewed 10 January 2017

I loved this restaurant the minute I walked in since we were well welcomed by a friendly waitress. Since we were a large group, she did her best to quickly set the extra spaces on the table as we sat down. They have a menu...More

Thank MissTN
MelissaAmsi, Guest Relations Manager at The Baobab Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful dining experience here on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that the whole group received great service and enjoyed the good food that is served at our The Baobab Restaurant. We certainly look...More

Reviewed 21 November 2016

Saint Exupery wrote The Little Prince and in it the Baobab trees are evil... these are lovely Baobabs. Clean, well attended and excellent food. Yes, even the Little Prince would agree.More

Thank giliathe
MelissaAmsi, Guest Relations Manager at The Baobab Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your lovely review of The Baobab Restaurant. It is good to read that you enjoyed the food as well as the service. I will pass on your kind words to our team; which they will be delighted to...More

Reviewed 17 November 2016

The restaurant has wonderful breakfast and the rest of the menu as a good mixture of food to select from.

Thank sisters123
MelissaAmsi, Guest Relations Manager at The Baobab Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for this wonderful review of The Baobab Restaurant. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon. Kind regards, Melissa Amsi

Reviewed 30 October 2016

I spent 3 nights at the African Tulip Hotel and found this restaurant a perfect start to my morning. The variety of food offered was well ranged and the service was exceptional! The coffee was so good!!More

Thank AussieSophia
MelissaAmsi, Guest Relations Manager at The Baobab Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us at The African Tulip and for dining at The Baobab Restaurant. It was a great pleasure having you as our guest and I am glad to read that your dining experience was exceptional. We certainly look forward...More

Reviewed 7 October 2016

Good food, mostly buffet. Amazing service people, very friendly and paying attention to every wish you can imagine!More

Thank floridaherbie
MelissaAmsi, Guest Relations Manager at The Baobab Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your dining experience at The Baobab Restaurant here on TripAdvisor. We strive to give all our guests excellent service and I am pleased to read that you received nothing short of that. We hope to...More

Reviewed 1 October 2016

Great restaurant at the African Tulip. We ate there every night and the food was always good and service second to none

Thank MannieB1953
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Georges Tavern
198 reviews
.71 km away
The Blue Heron
286 reviews
.52 km away
Africafe
290 reviews
.97 km away
Le Patio
121 reviews
.81 km away
Nearby Attractions
Tanzanite Experience
140 reviews
1.03 km away
The School of St Jude
64 reviews
.47 km away
Old Boma Museum
50 reviews
1.03 km away
Roy Safaris Ltd. - Day Tours
528 reviews
.00 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Baobab Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Outdoor Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
06:30 - 10:00
12:00 - 15:30
19:00 - 22:30
Monday
06:30 - 10:00
12:00 - 15:30
19:00 - 22:30
Tuesday
06:30 - 10:00
12:00 - 15:30
19:00 - 22:30
Wednesday
06:30 - 10:00
12:00 - 15:30
19:00 - 22:30
Thursday
06:30 - 10:00
12:00 - 15:30
19:00 - 22:30
Friday
06:30 - 10:00
12:00 - 15:30
19:00 - 22:30
Saturday
06:30 - 10:00
12:00 - 15:30
19:00 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 44/1 Serengeti Road, Arusha, Tanzania
  • Location: Africa  >  Tanzania  >  Arusha Region  >  Arusha
  • Phone Number: +255 27 254 3004
  • E-mail
Description
The Baobab Restaurant is uniquely designed and offers a comfortable and enjoyable dining experience. Our Chefs creatively prepare exotic and delicious meals with fresh and natural ingredients giving guests a flavor of both Tanzanian and International cuisine.