We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Mad Crabber

40606 Hwy 12, Avon, Hatteras Island, NC 27915
+1 252-995-5959
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good34%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“crab legs” (30 reviews)
“seafood” (57 reviews)
“hush puppies” (25 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
40606 Hwy 12, Avon, Hatteras Island, NC 27915
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

You can't go wrong with eating here. Great food, local fish, fun atmosphere. And our kids love coloring on the big sheets of paper on the table, it's always great to keep the kids occupied!

Thank Crystal M
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great atmosphere & waitress knowledgeable along with a great Craft beer selection. Had the seabass grilled and it was delicious could not have asked for a better seasoned fish - hats off to the chef. Also had the taters which are really spicy - unless...More

Thank rs0106
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This place is the bees knees. Really good laid back place. Good for families or just solo bar people like myself. Best hush puppies on the east coast, or maybe in the world. First of all, the service is exceptional and the fish tacos I...More

Thank matt b
Reviewed 24 April 2017

The food was good and lots of it. I had the fish tacos and could only eat one, had the second for lunch the next day. Nice atmosphere as well. I will be back here to eat when next in town.

Thank Miguel C
A TripAdvisor Member
9
Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

We visited with 9 people in April 2017. Service was excellent and atmosphere was fun. However, food was marginal at best, my shrimp was way overcooked and tough. Cost was high ($90 for 2 adults and 2 kids)

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 January 2017

Really good seafood. You tell them how you want it done and they will do. Do the sampler platter. Remember to use a bib or you will be a mess. Not much for decor. You sit a picnic tables with butcher paper for a table...More

Thank Jon A
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Having a large party of 9, we expected an added gratuity but were reluctant to pay it due to the lack of service. We went at around 6 p.m. and they were fairly slow but it is the off season. We had only one server...More

Thank Jerri H
Reviewed 7 October 2016

real good food, good-size servings and a nice boisterous family atmosphere. Piles of seafood can never be cheap, kids or not. If you want a nice quiet date place, this isn't it. If you want to talk business over drink, this is not the place....More

Thank seekingmore
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

Good food and friendly service. Priced just right for fresh seafood for the location. The hush puppies were excellent as well

Thank Jason R
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Very quiet when we arrived at around 5.30 so no problem getting seated. Service was good and efficient. My wife had cocount fried flounder and I had the blackened mahi mahi with cajun remoulade. Both dishes were excellent, some of the best fish I've had....More

Thank ScotOnTheGo
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Burger Burger
266 reviews
.09 km away
Oceana's Bistro
552 reviews
.35 km away
Pangea Tavern
206 reviews
.67 km away
Nearby Attractions
Avon Fishing Pier
181 reviews
.71 km away
Kinnakeet Clay Studio & Showroom
41 reviews
.43 km away
Kite Club Hatteras
32 reviews
1.20 km away
Spa Koru
56 reviews
.58 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
David A
Do they have an "all you can eat" option?
15 May 2017|
Answer
Response from Jerri H | Reviewed this property |
No, but you get plenty. They also have steam buckets!
0
Votes
tarasadfaceboone
is mad crabber better than dirty dicks
30 March 2017|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Jerri H | Reviewed this property |
Much much better!
0
Votes
tarasadfaceboone
is this a welcoming friendly place for all people
22 March 2017|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Jon A | Reviewed this property |
It's a very friendly place that does not have a dress code except that you do have to wear shorts, t shirt, and wear something on your feet. The tables are picnic tables with white paper on top. Nothing formal. Good food... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$10 - US$30
Cuisine
American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
17:00 - 21:00
Monday
17:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
17:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
17:00 - 21:00
Thursday
17:00 - 21:00
Friday
17:00 - 21:00
Saturday
17:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 40606 Hwy 12, Avon, Hatteras Island, NC 27915
  • Location: United States  >  North Carolina (NC)  >  North Carolina Coast  >  Outer Banks  >  Hatteras Island  >  Avon
  • Phone Number: +1 252-995-5959
  • E-mail