We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Restaurant VANJAKA

Radovanov Trg 9, Trogir 21220, Croatia
+385 21 882 527
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good30%
  • Average7%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“almond cake” (5 reviews)
“gnocchi” (25 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Mediterranean, Croatian, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Radovanov Trg 9, Trogir 21220, Croatia
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (686)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2017

The main restaurant is in a good sized courtyard away from the hustle and bustle of the Old Town; we were there at the end of the tourist season but still very busy. Gordon looked after us extremely well; the cuttlefish risotto for a starter...More

4  Thank Neil M
iris555, Guest Relations Manager at Restaurant VANJAKA, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear 'Neil M', We are more than glad to know you enjoyed here and that food was to die for. Thank you for your visit and kind words. Hope you will visit us again. Kind regards!

Reviewed 30 September 2017

We went there and the restaurant was full so we decided to wait a bit more than half an hour and it was worth it. We order Dalmatian plate as a starter and grilled calamari for the main dish and it was nothing less then...More

3  Thank Laaura_E
iris555, Guest Relations Manager at Restaurant VANJAKA, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear 'Laaura_E', Thank you very much for your amazing review, we appreciate it a lot. We are glad to know all the dishes were perfect and that you enjoyed so much! Hope to welcome you back again. Warm regards!

Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

We were so disappointed. The service was slow, inattentive and haphazard. The next table which placed their orders at the same time got their main course before our starters even arrived. The mussels and Zinfandel by the glass were excellent. Soups uninspired. The langustinos were...More

2  Thank riverhiker
iris555, Guest Relations Manager at Restaurant VANJAKA, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear 'riverhiker', We would like to thank you for being our guest and for your review. We can notice now that something happened that day in the restaurant and we weren't aware off it so everything was a bit slow. Usually we are keeping our...More

Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

Our table had mussels- very good, fish soup-ok, pea soup-ok. Starters took about 45 minutes and main course 1 1/2 hours. The restaurant was not even full. The grilled lamb only included a single rib chop, the rest was tough sirloin chops. Our other mains...More

1  Thank Jim B
iris555, Guest Relations Manager at Restaurant VANJAKA, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear 'Jim B', We would like to thank you for your visit and the review. Also, we would like to apologize for your waiting as it's not usually happening. Regarding the food we do not agree with your remarks for the meat as these dishes...More

Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

We visited earlier this month and were one of the first to arrive to this restaurant. Service started off well and attentive and the food itself was lovely. Unfortunately as the restaurant started to become busier, the service then started to fail. We had to...More

3  Thank Adventuresandexplore
iris555, Guest Relations Manager at Restaurant VANJAKA, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear 'Adventuresandexplore', We would like to use this opportunity to apologize to you. The mistake was made and we cannot change it now. Our waiters are always very attentive and we don't usually have remarks to their service. In the high season mistakes happen easier...More

Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

After reading the reviews I thought I would treat my hubby for his birthday, we were not disappointed the food, wine and service was excellent... best meal of our holiday, will be sure to return.More

3  Thank JI1971
iris555, Guest Relations Manager at Restaurant VANJAKA, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear 'JI1971', We are very glad to know you trusted us and came here for your husbands birthday. Most of all we are happy that you had such a nice time and we managed to make this birthday special. We want to thank you for...More

Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

I had been in this restaurant in April, earlier this year. In my opinion I found it then the best restaurant in Trogir. On this occasion my visit for dinner on a warm summer evening in August reinforced by earlier assessment of the restaurant. The...More

2  Thank ryanpat
iris555, Guest Relations Manager at Restaurant VANJAKA, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear 'ryanpat', We are more than happy we provided you with this exceptional experience! We want to thank you kindly for your kind words and for being our guest! Regarding the price, as we already said before, we think our price-quality ratio is more than...More

Reviewed 20 September 2017

My husband and I ate here on three occasions during our holiday in Trogir. We ate 3 types of fish (sea bream, sea bass and tuna) and traditional beef and lamb dishes; all of which were cooked beautifully and very nicely presented. A particular favourite...More

2  Thank Llan_Cymru
iris555, Guest Relations Manager at Restaurant VANJAKA, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear 'Ceri H', Thank you very much for your visit and the review. We appreciate it a lot. We are very glad to know you such a nice meal here and that we provided you with this exceptional service! Kind regards!

Reviewed 11 September 2017

My husband and I went here for lunch in early September. Our server was pretty gruff -- it seemed right off that he was disappointed that we weren't ordering the fixed price lunch, which was way more food than we wanted. It's not like we...More

3  Thank Pikety
iris555, Guest Relations Manager at Restaurant VANJAKA, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear 'Pikety' We would like to apologize to you and your partner for this situation. We tend to keep our service on the high level and we are succeeding, but of course mistakes always happen. It's nice to know you enjoyed the food and we...More

Reviewed 9 September 2017

During our honeymoon we decided to have an unexpected visit in Trogir, at lunch time we found this really nice restaurant. Definitely it was a great experience of really new tastes of fish dishes !! Both main dishes and appetizers were new for us and...More

3  Thank Andrea C
iris555, Guest Relations Manager at Restaurant VANJAKA, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Dear 'Andrea C', We wish you very happy and long marriage with a lot of love and happiness. Thank you very much for visiting us and for the review. Kind regards!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Konoba Teuta
345 reviews
.09 km away
Konoba Trs
1,013 reviews
.07 km away
Restaurant Royal
159 reviews
.02 km away
Nearby Attractions
Trogir Historic Site
2,424 reviews
.25 km away
Central Square in Trogir
682 reviews
.04 km away
The St. Lawrence Cathedral
610 reviews
.04 km away
North Gate
148 reviews
.09 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Babybo
18 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from iris555 | Property representative |
Hi Babybo, our menu is changing as we have some daily offers and such. But mostly we prepare Dalmatian recipes with modern twist. On our menu you can usually find Dalmatian platters, fish, squid, octopus, red mullet... More
1
Vote
Alldritt
2 April 2017|
Answer
Response from iris555 | Property representative |
Hi Alldritt! Meal costs from 15 - 25 €. Thk
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$10 - US$32
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
4:00 PM - 11:30 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Radovanov Trg 9, Trogir 21220, Croatia
  • Location: Europe  >  Croatia  >  Dalmatia  >  Split-Dalmatia County  >  Trogir
  • Phone Number: +385 21 882 527
  • E-mail
Description
Restaurant Vanjaka is a respectable member of the Trogir gastronomic family. It is situated on the Radovan Square, in the east part of the town, right by the Saint Lawrence cathedral. Classy, sacral and aristocratic architectural surroundings have set the standards of this place high and it was a real challenge to meet them. Vanjaka is a contemporary home to a traditional dalmatian cousine and wine. Freshness, local origin and optimal nutritional value are the strict criteria by which we choose groceries to make the meals from our menu. Seasonal fruits ripped in nearby gardens, fish caught from small fishing boats of Trogir and meat from locally raised animals are combined professionally and with love. Meals made by recipes with a hundred year tradition in the Vanjaka restaurant can please the gourmand taste of a modern guest, and the wine card offers a variety of Croatian wines.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing