We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Papagayo Seafood

Main Street/Bulevar Principal, Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
+506 2670 0298
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent39%
  • Very good32%
  • Average14%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“seafood” (142 reviews)
“swordfish” (25 reviews)
“red snapper” (37 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Sushi, Costa Rican, Cajun & Creole, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Main Street/Bulevar Principal, Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (698)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 606 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Took a break from our all inclusive hotel and ate out... glad we did. Food was all good for a party of 12!

Thank David L
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

We had the calamari for an appetizer and it was good. I had the red supper with pineapple and it was delicious. Great lunch option.

Thank tonbrad
Reviewed 30 July 2017

We ate here midweek and enjoyed the balcony seating. The combination appetizer of Cajun fried Clamari, Fish and Shrimp was overcooked and pretty crunchy. For main course we have the mixed seafood with pasta and white sauce. which was ok but not being frequent seafood...More

Thank 639russellp
Reviewed 19 July 2017

This seems by far the biggest place in town. They sell fish to take home and cook yourself and at a decent price. We went for our last evening of vacation and food was fine, not epic. Prices seem reasonable. Portions are large so good...More

Thank avb
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

Great time with friends at Papagayo Seafood. No problem getting a great table on the patio. Service was a bit sluggish but adequate. Calamari app was good. The dinner was very good. Swordfish and tuna were especially good. And the price is outstanding. 4 couples,...More

Thank Ricky S
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

The Fish Wholesaler For the whole Town Is Somehow Affiliated With These guys, in fact, it's right behind the restaurant via an alleyway. ANYWAYS... this is a place to go and order a piece of fish. It's always fresh and awesome, no matter how they...More

Thank HombreCafe
Reviewed 7 July 2017

Good food and service. We ate upstairs and had a nice view of the main street for people watching, etc. The food seemed fresh and we both liked what we ordered.

Thank Gina C
Reviewed 5 July 2017

Served group of 6 fast with great food and presentation. Seafood in garlic white sauce was outstanding!!!

Thank OurOutings
Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

Many great seafood selections on the menu in addition to wonderful sushi ! There were a couple of non-seafood items that the children in our group could choose from, since the adults wanted to eat at Papgayo it worked out for everyone... Many fish selections,...More

Thank Judi G
Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

My family of five visited this restaurant for a late lunch at the recommendation of a tour driver. The food was really good. Our fried calamari came our to our table quickly. Then we waited and waited for our main entrees. Once we finally received...More

Thank dalow
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Le COQ Lebanese Health Food
612 reviews
.09 km away
Zi Lounge Restaurant
729 reviews
.13 km away
Citron Restaurante
369 reviews
.38 km away
Coconutz Sports Bar & Angry Goats Brew House
971 reviews
.07 km away
Nearby Attractions
Playas del coco
133 reviews
.33 km away
Rojas Bros Boruca Indigenous Art & Gallery
45 reviews
.18 km away
Sea Star CR
9 reviews
.31 km away
Sea Bird Sailing Excursions
310 reviews
.40 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Denise B
8 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from tennisplayerbbb | Reviewed this property |
I only saw outdoor dining. It was very comfortable.
1
Vote
Myrth J
I would like to ask the owners of Papagayos Seafood about their staff and management. Mainly about customer service. Handling of unsatisfactory food served to client. We spent 234.00 on 4 meals and 5 cocktails and a Coke. 2 of our stuffed Lobsters the tail were mushy and grainy. We told your staff and they gave us s whopping 2300 colones off our entire ticket. Should have just slapped me and told me to leave! Our server never came to see how our food was for 30 minutes. Not good. I've owned 2 restaurants for 25 years and if my staff pulled that kinda crap with my customers they would be finding a different job. Also your Chef on the evening of feb 25 needs training. Presentation of stuffed lobster was terrible. I've seen dozens of pics from there and were beautiful. I'd be glad to send you my pic. Thanks Joe
22 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Myrth J | Reviewed this property |
Your partially right on Tico time and i was nice and cordial to all involved. Glad your food was acceptable, mine was not my wife's was. BUT I never heard a word from the owners (who aren't Ticos) or management and that's... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$10 - US$40
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Groups, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Street/Bulevar Principal, Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
  • Location: Central America  >  Costa Rica  >  Province of Guanacaste  >  Playas del Coco
  • Phone Number: +506 2670 0298
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing