We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Papagayo Seafood

Main Street/Bulevar Principal, Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
+506 2670 0298
Call
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good32%
  • Average13%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“seafood” (142 reviews)
“swordfish” (26 reviews)
“shrimp cocktail” (12 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Sushi, Costa Rican, Cajun & Creole, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Main Street/Bulevar Principal, Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (713)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 618 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

You can eat downstairs as a fast food, or upstairs indoor/outdoor for dining or in a boat for added atmosphere. Seafood casserole very good and best value entree.

Thank Daniel R
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We ate dinner our first night in Coco. The fish was very good. Service was good. There was live music that night as well. It was a good way to start our vacation.

Thank Haass5
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great service and well done, freshest of fresh fish. Nice location to look out over the main drag while dining.

Thank Karen W
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stopped here for lunch on a very warm day The menus was all fish, which we not anticipated We had shrimp pasta and calimari Both dishes were excellent and the drinks and service were very good as well Nice place for lunch

Thank nmc2928
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

My wife and I come back often to this place for its excellent ceviche and cajun food. The owner being from New Orleans, that explains. Our waiter Juan Carlos was very helpful and attentive. The decorations give the place a nice atmosphere.

Thank ExtremTraveler
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

Great shrimp and corn bisque. Had the best red snapper of my life there! A little on higher end of price for the town but worth it!

Thank sam t
Reviewed 14 October 2017

Had a spicy calimari dish that was tasty. Not cheap but not outrageous either. Nice setting on balcony.

1  Thank jay t
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Four of us went to this restaurant based on recommendations but we were disappointed in the food, service and price. The meals were OK but two of us didn't get the meal that we ordered.

Thank Tom G
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

The food is so tasteless that not even salt does the trick. I can't get over how such a large restaurant doesn't have a better chef. How bad can one restaurant be that only their mashed posted taste any good? I gave this restaurant a...More

Thank Sharon Z
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

Last night of our 8 day visit to Costa Rica. I had the swordfish, and only ate 3 bites. Seasoning was horrible! My husband ordered the steak. He offered me a bite, and I had to spit it out. I wouldn't let him finish the...More

Thank KelleyACE
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Le COQ Lebanese Health Food
632 reviews
.09 km away
Zi Lounge Restaurant
770 reviews
.13 km away
Coconutz Sports Bar & Restaurant
996 reviews
.07 km away
Johann
72 reviews
.35 km away
Nearby Attractions
Playas del coco
156 reviews
.33 km away
Rojas Bros Boruca Indigenous Arts
45 reviews
.18 km away
Sea Star CR Sport Fishing and Adventure Tours
11 reviews
.31 km away
Sea Bird Sailing Excursions
317 reviews
.40 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Denise B
8 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from tennisplayerbbb | Reviewed this property |
I only saw outdoor dining. It was very comfortable.
1
Vote
Myrth J
I would like to ask the owners of Papagayos Seafood about their staff and management. Mainly about customer service. Handling of unsatisfactory food served to client. We spent 234.00 on 4 meals and 5 cocktails and a Coke. 2 of our stuffed Lobsters the tail were mushy and grainy. We told your staff and they gave us s whopping 2300 colones off our entire ticket. Should have just slapped me and told me to leave! Our server never came to see how our food was for 30 minutes. Not good. I've owned 2 restaurants for 25 years and if my staff pulled that kinda crap with my customers they would be finding a different job. Also your Chef on the evening of feb 25 needs training. Presentation of stuffed lobster was terrible. I've seen dozens of pics from there and were beautiful. I'd be glad to send you my pic. Thanks Joe
22 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Myrth J | Reviewed this property |
Your partially right on Tico time and i was nice and cordial to all involved. Glad your food was acceptable, mine was not my wife's was. BUT I never heard a word from the owners (who aren't Ticos) or management and that's... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$10 - US$40
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Street/Bulevar Principal, Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
  • Location: Central America  >  Costa Rica  >  Province of Guanacaste  >  Playas del Coco
  • Phone Number: +506 2670 0298
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing