We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Rickshaw

Muri Main Road, Muri Village | Muri, 682, Cook Islands
+682 22 232
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good37%
  • Average11%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“ginger fish” (8 reviews)
“chow mein” (3 reviews)
“satay” (3 reviews)
Closed
Hours
CUISINES
Asian, Thai, Vietnamese, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Muri Main Road, Muri Village | Muri, 682, Cook Islands
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We went here as was local to where we stayed. Staff were lovely. Entree we had tempura vege and wonton. They were both very nice. Wonton had lots of meat compared to ones we've had so can't complain. Mains we had a chicken curry. I...More

Thank AKL_Couple00
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The atmosphere was pretty and the staff seemed nice. The food was deeply disappointing, an awful stretch from Indonesian or even Asian, based on the beef rendang that arrived at my table. It tasted like an American beef in gravy, with no hint of spices...More

Thank surfingwithdolphins
Reviewed 17 March 2018

It was my favourite 3 years ago, and still rates very high with me, lovely relaxed atmosphere, inexpensive, and large asian oriented menu

Thank Annelies F
Reviewed 6 March 2018

This is a pleasant looking little restaurant lasted right beside the main road at Muri beach Rarotonga. It only opens Monday to Saturday though so watch out for that. Decor is simple and service was pretty good although we were not there at a busy...More

Thank Mal_McGarrigle
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

Went for dinner based on reviews read here and not disappointed, big portions and good price. Really tasty without being over spiced.

Thank Paul F
Reviewed 6 February 2018

Bought dinner takeaway and regretted it. Rarotonga is renowned for excellent food quality, which the Rickshaw is not included. Bypass this for the Muri Bay Night Markets Open Sunday, Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday. Rickshaw, PLEASE shut down and sell it to someone who knows how...More

1  Thank Peter S
Raroliving, Manager at The Rickshaw, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Would have been great if you had phoned or spoke to us directly with this feedback, as without knowing what exact dishes you had it is difficult to constructively address your weird comment about the flavour. We have been getting extremely positive feedback about our...More

Reviewed 6 February 2018

Great service awesome food. So good in fact that some or all of our 8 member party went back 3 times. The food is sort of vietnamese inspired but the tempura shrimp was huge, the pad thai was awesome, and everything was done perfectly. Not...More

Thank TampabayLA
Suzanne C, Owner at The Rickshaw, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2018

So glad you enjoyed your meals with us over several evenings. Thanks for the specific feedback on the tempura and pad thai. We'll look forward to seeing you next time.

Reviewed 26 January 2018

Dont judge a book by the cover. This was an excellent find during out stay in Muri. The food is very fresh and they provide plenty of the plate. Staff are friendly and the service is great. We went to go back a second time...More

Thank REIAM35
Raroliving, Manager at The Rickshaw, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Kia Orana Reiam Thank you for your suggestion to spruce up our front fence 'cover'. As a casual street cafe, glad to be hitting the mark in terms of fresh food, and great friendly service. Look forward to you joining us again next time on...More

Reviewed 8 January 2018

We tried to eat here twice. The first time we turned up at 5.30 which was the opening time - a little early but the night market hadn't appealed to wandered over. It didn't seem to be open, or show any signs of opening. The...More

1  Thank TravellingS0mewhere
Raroliving, Manager at The Rickshaw, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2018

Kia Orana Appreciate your disappointment that you were unable to dine with us during this past holiday period. If you had phoned 22232 for a reservation as is recommended for all places on the island, you would have been informed of our variable hours over...More

Reviewed 5 January 2018

Rickshaw seemed to have a good range of options. Portion sizes are good. Nice atmosphere and good service. Tasty food. We visited when alot of public holidays and only saw this open for the one day. We were lucky to get a table. May need...More

Thank Angela G
Raroliving, Manager at The Rickshaw, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Kia Orana Angela, Thanks for your lovely feedback and recommendation to dine with us. Yes, reservations (phone 22232) are definitely recommended, especially from April to October busy season and the festive period with variable open days. We don't like to have to turn people away...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 20 hotels in Rarotonga
Muri Beach Club Hotel
609 reviews
.23 km away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
1,197 reviews
.25 km away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
362 reviews
1.39 km away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
428 reviews
1.46 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Vili's Burger Joint
800 reviews
.40 km away
The Mooring
1,941 reviews
.99 km away
Deli-Licious Cafe Limited
443 reviews
.51 km away
Sandals Restaurant & Barefoot Bar
422 reviews
.26 km away
Nearby Attractions
Muri Night Market
303 reviews
.36 km away
Koka Lagoon Cruises
977 reviews
.54 km away
Captain Tama's Lagoon Cruizes
1,108 reviews
.22 km away
Te Vara Nui Village
1,784 reviews
.08 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
PozzieNewZealand
2 May 2015|
Answer
Response from Suzanne C | Property representative |
We are open every night but Sunday from 5.30 p.m.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$9 - US$16
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups, Kids, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Monday
5:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Tuesday
5:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Wednesday
5:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Thursday
5:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Friday
5:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Saturday
5:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Muri Main Road, Muri Village | Muri, 682, Cook Islands
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Cook Islands  >  Southern Cook Islands  >  Rarotonga
  • Phone Number: +682 22 232
  • E-mail
Description
Cosy Asian Street Style Cafe in Muri, serving Vietnamese, Indonesian, Chinese, Malasian and Thai dishes with a range of vegetarian choices and gluten free items on request.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing