We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Kurland

Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good31%
  • Average10%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible13%
3 weeks ago
“a marvellous luncheon on the terrace of a perfect country hotel”
25 Nov 2017
“Brilliant service, great location - very average food”
Restaurant Hours
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we did not stay there but whenever we are in the plett area we try to have a luncheon in this resort-kind of hotel. the very exclusive setting for polo-player requires space and acres of polo ground. all this surrounded by capetype cottages and flowers...More

Thank udoab
Kurland, General Manager at The Kurland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good Evening udoab Thank you for taking the time to review your luncheon experience at Kurland amd thank you for your positive comments regarding the staff and service. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Kurland Hotel as an Hotel guest with your...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Kurland Restuarant was such a disappointment. What makes it really terrible is the fact that the Manageress does not understand the meaning of ownership and responsibility. How do you run out of food on Christmas Lunch on a pre booked , pre-paid luncheon? Where were...More

1  Thank ronald v
Kurland, General Manager at The Kurland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good Evening Ronald V Thank you for taking the the time to review your experience at Kurland Hotel on Christmas Day. Your rather personal comments about myself and your treatment of our service staff and young Chef's at the buffet on the day, both here...More

Reviewed 25 November 2017

We called in on the off-chance for lunch and had a warm welcome and great service. We were sat by the pool and there happened to be a South African TV soap being filmed, which was entertaining. We ordered wine (which was good) and kingklip....More

Thank David M
Kurland, General Manager at The Kurland, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Good Afternoon David M Thank you for your review and glad you enjoyed the filming of one of the episodes of The Batchelor - Finland from the poolside. Your comments regarding the meal were appreciated and discussed with the Chef and his team. We look...More

Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

That hotel has all the ingredients in the world to make it a magical place that travels through time.The amazing grounds coupled with a CHIC element coupled with a great atmosphere and great food. We should have a business case done how a management team...More

1  Thank Chmalek
Kurland, General Manager at The Kurland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Mr Charly Malek and Mrs Anne Sophie Sabouret We received your recent Review with disappointment, and also concern as to its accuracy. However, we wish to refer only to your allegation that ‘The Management team at Kurland is rude, dishonest . and ‘trustworthy’[sic]’, which is...More

Reviewed 14 February 2016 via mobile

Arrived to be taken to a table that "was ready" for us, but was not. We had one drink each and were never asked for anything to drink again. We received bread about 30 seconds before our meal, didn't even try it. Food was below...More

2  Thank callievh
Kurland, General Manager at The Kurland, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2017

Good Afternoon Callievh Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for letting us know about your experience. This is certainly not the standard that we are well known for, and I apologise most sincerely for what seemed to be a complete...More

Reviewed 6 January 2016

The setting is beautiful. After many requests, we managed to get someone to cover a grate that was emitting a sewer smell next to our table. Restaurant was busy and apparently staff could not cope. Service was bad. Food was ok, but not worth the...More

1  Thank Ann M
Kurland, General Manager at The Kurland, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2017

Good Afternoon Ann M Thank you for your review on Katarina's - The Barn. Your constructive criticism was well received and forwarded to the Katarina's TEAM for discussion. Apologies for this negative experience and happy that you enjoyed the social part of your evening. I...More

Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

I sent an email to reservations to book Xmas lunch for 6 in Oct 2015. I never even got the curtesy of an acknowledgement of receipt , let alone the booking. A month later, i resent the email, again , nothingMore

1  Thank Voyager26
Kurland, General Manager at The Kurland, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2017

Good Afternoon Voyager26 Thank you for your Trip Advisor note regarding an email. This is a much delayed response, but I really wanted to let you know that somehow, after checking through all mails, this email still seems to be missing. We are not sure...More

Reviewed 23 November 2015

One of the most elegant, olde worlde, English and memorable eating extravaganzas i have ever experienced - this Chef and his team know their stuff - set in an old manor house with fountains and acres of green pastures, horses, artwork, old silver - exquisite!...More

Thank DDHowell38
Kurland, General Manager at The Kurland, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2017

This was an interesting find ... I wrote this review before I was contracted as General Manager - well - all I can say is that our food is fabulous and our service is great ! I cannot pretend to be anyone else.

Reviewed 3 September 2015

What an amazing place to visit. Gracious, fine dining, grand decor and warm welcoming staff. Beautiful table settings, well presented food, every morsel tasty and beautiful. Love this place!

Thank Karen M
Kurland, General Manager at The Kurland, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2017

Dear Karen M Thank you for your positive review on our Kurland Restaurant. Your comments were shared with the TEAM - thank you. Kind regards Diana Howell GENERAL MANAGER

Reviewed 22 March 2015

We did not stay at the Kirland (reviews for which seem to be very complementary) but the main restaurant is worth a visit because of the setting and original traditional Dutch style buildings and internal furnishings. The food is fine, better than average, but probably...More

Thank abadan2
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Kurland staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Plettenberg Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing