We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Emily Moon

Rietvlei Road | Emily Moon River Lodge, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
+27 44 501 2500
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good23%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“wontons” (10 reviews)
“rack of lamb” (8 reviews)
“steak” (35 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
African, Fusion, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Rietvlei Road | Emily Moon River Lodge, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (754)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 664 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

Pros - lovely setting: candles, wood burning open heart fires - I did like the rack of lamb Cons - service was terrible - our waiter did not want to be there: fist pumped by husband whilst ignoring me, threw plates on the table and...More

1  Thank koala_panda
emilymoon_sa, Manager at Emily Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Hi there We are so sorry to hear about your experience. We will raise the issues you have highlighted with our staff. We hope to see you again soon, so you can enjoy the true Emily Moon magic.

Reviewed 17 May 2017

The most unique and perfect place. Great food great location great staff eclectic decor. We just loved it all. And the restaurant is terrific too

Thank frenchabroadFrance
Reviewed 11 May 2017

This place has to have one of the best views in town. To top that, the food and décor is great. I have been here a few times, and would recommend a visit to anyone staying in or passing through Plettenberg Bay.

Thank Greg250f
Reviewed 2 May 2017

Every time we eat here we are even more impressed. The food is just excellent, the value for money is amazing and the view is just unbeatable. This is a must for both lunches and dinners, and I would recommend it to anyone.

Thank 976jessicad
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

Sad to say we think the cons outweigh the pros now. Service is absolutely dismal and when brought to floor staff attention not much changed. Our table position after having booked months ago was terrible and to boot the restuarant wasn't even half full. Mark...More

Thank Mike W
emilymoon_sa, Manager at Emily Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Hi Mike We are so sorry to hear about your experience. We would love to hear more about your experience so we can address our staff and make sure that it doesn't happen again. Please email alex@emilymoon.co.za We hope to see you again soon, so...More

Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

What a treat! We were told we HAD to visit Emily Moon for sundowners, and we were so glad we did! Luckily we arrived just before 5, as the sundowner deck gets busy very quickly. A booking is essential if you want to stay for...More

Thank karinwellman
Reviewed 26 April 2017 via mobile

Our fond memories of Emily Moon soon disappeared when we went back for the first time in a couple of years. The food was very average and the prices excessive with tiny portions being served compared to other restaurants in the area. The most enjoyable...More

Thank Leon F
emilymoon_sa, Manager at Emily Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Hi We are so sorry to hear about your experience. We would love to hear more about your experience so we send feedback to our chef. Please email alex@emilymoon.co.za We hope to see you again soon, so you can enjoy the true Emily Moon magic.

Reviewed 21 April 2017

Booked lunch for Easter Sunday. The table allocated to us wasn't the best but everything else made up for that. Who would have thought that fish & chips could have tasted so good? Lovely ambience and service was pretty good bearing in mind how busy...More

Thank AliceCapeTown
Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

My husband and I ate at Emily Moon after being told by a friend they had the best meal of their lives here. Despite setting the bar so high, Emily Moons did not disappoint. This quaint, scenic little treasure of a restaurant was the foodie...More

Thank JennieF84
Reviewed 19 April 2017

When booking I’d hoped to be outside for dinner, but the weather wasn’t in our favour so we ate inside. The restaurant has character and a great atmosphere; the food, wine and service were all excellent at 450 ZAR per person for dinner it was...More

Thank SeriousTraveller01
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Bocca Dolce Coffee Shop
47 reviews
4.80 km away
Zinzi Restaurant
9 reviews
4.96 km away
The Dunes Restaurant
26 reviews
4.49 km away
Nguni
565 reviews
4.97 km away
Nearby Attractions
Robberg Nature Reserve
1,522 reviews
5.23 km away
The Potter
5 reviews
5.74 km away
Secrets of Knysna Forest
6 reviews
5.38 km away
Newstead Wines Restaurant
52 reviews
5.27 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
twaalfR
12 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from emilymoon_sa | Property representative |
Hi, We would suggest smart-casual for dinner but are very happy for you to come as you are!!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, View, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Rietvlei Road | Emily Moon River Lodge, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Plettenberg Bay
  • Phone Number: +27 44 501 2500
  • E-mail
Description
Where luxury and peace are to be found in a sweeping river valley. Where the views encompass a wetland, winding river and distant mountains and where the call of the Fish Eagle will forever remind you of the vast skies of Africa .
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing