We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ginger

Marine Drive | Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6000, South Africa
+27 41 583 1229
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good30%
  • Average12%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“rack of lamb” (14 reviews)
“crepe suzette” (9 reviews)
“line fish” (14 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, International, Contemporary, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Marine Drive | Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6000, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (766)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 619 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Have seen this restaurant advertised many places and had great expectations but on being given the menu and told certain things had "run" out didn't feel me with joy Having booked first thing in the morning and seeing it only had a few booking i...More

Thank Paul C
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

The welcome and service at gingers was lovely. The 5 spices pork was delicious just needed more vegetables for me personally. Well worth a visit

Thank baillie21
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Excellent venue, atmosphere and service. Food was great, thoroughly enjoyable fine dining experience. Well worth a visit

Thank ColmT24
PEHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Ginger, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your fine dining experience with us! Thank you for the review and support and we hope to welcome you back again soon! Warm Regards, The Ginger Team

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The food was slow and when it arrived it was cold . Very disappointed after reading the reviews and as an international traveler I expected better.More

Thank Escape34007
PEHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Ginger, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sad to hear that you had a disappointing time with us, please accept our sincerest apologies and rest assured that we will follow up these matters. We hope that in...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Have eaten here before and it was good. This time was generally disappointing. Ordered a nice de Grendel 2016 Shiraz. Waiter brought out the 2017 without mentioning it. You have to mention and explain. I love beetroot, but the beetroot and chocolate starter is severely...More

Thank Mark_J_G
PEHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Ginger, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to supply us with your valuable feedback. It saddens us that you did not enjoy your fine dining experience with us. We can guarantee you that your experience is not the high standard of service and product we enjoy...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Good atmosphere, nice waiters and excellent food, and drink. Do not remember the exact name of starters and main course, but prawns for starters and tuna in “filet” style as main course was absolutely amazing. South African red wine on top, made the experience complete....More

Thank Vidar F
PEHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Ginger, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are absolutely delighted that you had an excellent fine dining experience with us! Thanks for the support and review and we look forward to welcoming you back again one day. Warm Regards, The Ginger Team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The waitress talked me into the Biltong infused fillet for lunch and I'm glad she did. Cooked exactly to my liking and the basting was not like anything I've had before. Truly memorable and in the right way. I also watched with food envy as...More

Thank kdboe1
PEHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Ginger, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

The Biltong infused steak is always a favourite and we are delighted that you enjoyed it! We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed by the starter -- thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will look into it and try to...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The meal was a special time with my husband, mom and dad attended to by caring, professional and happy people. The menu was inspiring with lots of tasty sounding choices. I chose a butternut salad after a mezze platter starter. I was slightly disappointed with...More

Thank Robyn A
PEHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Ginger, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are delighted that your time with us was special. Thank you for taking the time to give feedback and insight to your dining expereince and allowing us the opportunity to better ourselves. We appreciate the support and we hope to welcome you back one...More

Reviewed August 13, 2018

Enjoyed a good meal at Ginger. Sat outside on the terrace which was a little noisy due to the taxi drivers shouting and hooting for business. Food was good and value for money. not the "wow" that i expected from all the hype from the...More

Thank youchoose312578
PEHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Ginger, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are so glad to hear that you had a good time at Ginger and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! Warm Regards, The Ginger Team

Reviewed August 7, 2018 via mobile

Alone on a business trip and needing a quiet table and a decent meal saw me prefer to try the in-house restaurant at the Beach Hotel in Summerstrand. ‘Ginger’ could not have been more perfect - a very personable, professional & knowledgeable David was able...More

Thank Brian B
PEHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Ginger, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2018

We are thrilled to hear that you had such a great experience with us! Thank you for the review and your support! We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Warm Regards, The Ginger Team

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 33 hotels in Port Elizabeth
The Beach Hotel
534 reviews
.03 km away
The Boardwalk Hotel
555 reviews
.13 km away
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
60 reviews
.25 km away
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
172 reviews
.34 km away
Nearby Restaurants
De Kelder
730 reviews
.80 km away
The Coachman Restaurant
767 reviews
.90 km away
Blue Waters Cafe
799 reviews
.22 km away
Raasoie The kitchen of India
63 reviews
.64 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Boardwalk Casino & Entertainment World
984 reviews
.16 km away
Nu Metro Boardwalk
14 reviews
.18 km away
Nu Metro Walmer Park
13 reviews
1.06 km away
Splash Waterworld Supertubes
18 reviews
1.06 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Saskia20132013
July 27, 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from KimberleyS530 | Property representative |
Hi Toni, We would be more than happy to accommodate you. The restaurant is pretty quiet at lunch time. Give us a call on 041 583 1229 to book a table or just pop in whenever. There is a back entrance through the hotel... More
1
Vote
marilBRIAN
March 17, 2018|
Answer
Response from JonFilby | Reviewed this property |
That is a very good point. It doesn't look like it - which says it all about this restaurant. I have no idea how this place remains so highly rated although I probably didn't help by rating it five stars by mistake!! One... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Drinks, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Validated Parking, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Business meetings, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, View
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.
6:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Monday
11:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.
6:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Tuesday
11:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.
6:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Wednesday
11:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.
6:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Thursday
11:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.
6:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Friday
11:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.
6:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Saturday
11:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.
6:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Marine Drive | Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6000, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Eastern Cape  >  Port Elizabeth
  • Phone Number: +27 41 583 1229
  • E-mail
Description
Ginger is a fine dining restaurant situated right on the beachfront of Port Elizabeth. The friendly city atmosphere carries across into our restaurant, where you will find our staff whose aim is to make your night 5 star worthy. Our combination of fresh ingredients, new cuisine ideas and an award winning wine list, means we have something to please everyone! We cater to our resident Foodies, Businessmen and those looking to have a special night out. Boasting an incredible view of what PE has to offer, Ginger invites their diners to sip their drinks on the deck while relaxing to the sounds and sight of the sea. Our restaurant, wine list and menu is constantly renovated to keep up with the trends in South Africa, while meeting the standards of our international diners. We strive to make your special occasions memorable and meet your needs. We hope to see you soon!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing