We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fish Finder

6 Buffelsfontein Road | Mount Pleasant, Port Elizabeth 6070, South Africa
+27 41 368 6855
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good25%
  • Average16%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“hake” (8 reviews)
“seafood” (3 reviews)
“fries” (4 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 a.m. - 9:00 p.m. Hours
CUISINES
Seafood
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
LOCATION
6 Buffelsfontein Road | Mount Pleasant, Port Elizabeth 6070, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A super idea for a takeaway. We enjoyed the conventional fish and chips. We chose fried and we were not disappointed. A really lovely piece - we chose the medium size and it was very big. We were given a huge portion of chips. All...More

Date of visit: December 2018
2  Thank 365giannad
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Discovered this little jewel. Great service, lovely food and wonderful place for a meal. Nikita was very friendly, kind and helpful. Will certainly recommend your place. Keep up the good work.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Dream63088077588
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

3 pensioners went to lunch at this establishment on Friday 2nd November, with a table booking been made, fortunately, as it was very busy. Waitron very attentive and friendly, had the pensioners special, which was grilled hake, chips and salad. Fish was a bit tough...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank GavinF417
Reviewed March 18, 2018 via mobile

We phoned our fish and chips order through and were told 20 minutes.. we arrived and our order was ready. Large portion of hake. All very fresh and tasty

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank CaroW45
Reviewed March 17, 2018 via mobile

Wow!! Ordered take aways... Super impressed with the quality of the seafood... Fresh and extremely tasty. The portions are huge...Really great value for money and definitely worth a try.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Charlv95
Reviewed March 7, 2018

Ended up enjoying a very reasonably priced wine and great fish and calamari. Pensioners can enjoy Hake at R 43.00 and what a meal. Great value for money!!!!!! Quaint restaurant set up with inside seating as well street front and garden.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank LES S
Reviewed February 10, 2018 via mobile

A rustic gem found with very tasty food. Wooden tables with glass tops.. however, below the glass were shells.. very effective and fitting for a fish & chip restaurant. Take away customers were in and out, our food took much longer to be served, but...More

Date of visit: February 2018
1  Thank CaroW45
aliknew, Public Relations Manager at Fish Finder, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2018

Hi Caro We are so pleased you enjoyed our atmosphere and food We do apoligise for the long wait and our fridge was fixed the very next day,unfortunately the gentleman who does our equipment maintenance was out of town We do hope to see you...More

Reviewed February 7, 2018

We are regulars and our last visit in mid January 2018 to celebrate a birthday was great, so it is disappointing to report that last night's meal was strange... The prawns had been coated in a weird tomato based sauce, with no taste, instead of...More

Date of visit: February 2018
1  Thank GarethSeath
aliknew, Public Relations Manager at Fish Finder, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2018

Hi Gareth Firstly I am so sorry that this happened, we pride ourselves on our quality of food and our service It sounds as though you did not get the order you asked for and we will speaking to our kitchen staff about what occured....More

Reviewed November 14, 2017

Popped in here over the weekend for a late lunch and had some delicious fish and chips. Much to our surprise, the pensioners discount on fish and chips, which is applicable during weekdays, also is available over weekends - something we were unaware of! That...More

Date of visit: November 2017
1  Thank Jilldutoit
Reviewed October 2, 2017 via mobile

I have been here many a time and never a disappointment. The secret is fresh ingredients prepared to order and always perfect. Highly recommended

Date of visit: October 2017
2  Thank RenaldoRheeder
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 33 hotels in Port Elizabeth
The Hub Boutique Hotel
154 reviews
3.60 km away
Hacklewood Hill Country House
351 reviews
4.19 km away
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth Airport
69 reviews
6.82 km away
The King Edward Hotel
38 reviews
8.36 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Raak
7 reviews
1.45 km away
Mikes Kitchen
60 reviews
.22 km away
Kauai
6 reviews
1.38 km away
Nearby Attractions
Shamwari Private Game Reserve
408 reviews
5.90 km away
South African Marine Rehabilitation and Education Centre
157 reviews
6.71 km away
Sardinia Bay Beach
60 reviews
5.40 km away
Route 67
69 reviews
5.90 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Fish Finder staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Monday
11:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tuesday
11:00 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Wednesday
11:00 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Thursday
11:00 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Friday
11:00 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Saturday
11:00 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 6 Buffelsfontein Road | Mount Pleasant, Port Elizabeth 6070, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Eastern Cape  >  Port Elizabeth
  • Phone Number: +27 41 368 6855
  • E-mail
Description
Originally opened in 2009, with new ownership in September 2013. New ideas of developing the original Beach House theme were made but importantly retaining the quality of freshly prepared seafood for which Fish Finder has become renowned, with a few British chippie quirks thrown in here and there With the food everybody has fallen in love with Fish Finder has been renovated into a charming beach house with a relaxed vibe. With a management staff put in place,who constantly trying to push their creativity , quality of our food and constant friendly service Come and enjoy a great selection of drinks and wines selected by the owners especially for you, a comfortable vibe to dine in and of course the fish, come and let us treat you. “It’s all about the fish" and you
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing