We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fat Zebra

$$ - $$$Pizza, , Cafe
71 7th Street | Corner of 3rd Avenue and 7th Street, Linden, Johannesburg 2195, South Africa
+27 82 469 5757
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good34%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (5 reviews)
“fried banana” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Pizza, Contemporary, Cafe, Grill, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
71 7th Street | Corner of 3rd Avenue and 7th Street, Linden, Johannesburg 2195, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great local venue in Linden, good for a comforting brunch and for watching the world go by. Nice selection of dishes and friendly staff, a relaxed way to take a break during the day.

1  Thank Monty10001
Kevin W, Owner at The Fat Zebra, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Monty Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience. Such a pleasure reading. Hope to see you back soon. Warm regards Kevin

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited the Fat Zebra with my son for a relaxing breakfast. The service was good and the breakfast was good. Can recommend.

1  Thank JohanVanGreuning
Kevin W, Owner at The Fat Zebra, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Johan Thank you for the recommendation...hope you come back soon. Must try out our lunch and dinner offerings!! The prego and mushroom sauces are to die for!!! : ) Warm regards Kevin

Reviewed July 10, 2018

They literally gave me cold, tasteless pizza for pick up after waiting for 30 minutes. The only reason I didn't give 1 star is because the owner made an effort to be nice.More

Thank Jack B
Kevin W, Owner at The Fat Zebra, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Jack I can only humbly apologise for disappointing you in every way. 30 Minute wait for a pizza is ridiculous!! For us serving anything tasteless and bland is hard to fathom and makes my blood boil. Please contact me directly rwe@icon.co.za or 0824695757 so...More

Reviewed July 2, 2018

We met our friends from Hermanus for coffee and the men in our party arrived hungry. They ordered chicken strips & salad and pasta & steak respectively.The dishes were presented attractively and the portions were generous. They both loved it. The serviec was friendly and...More

Thank Kardoesie
Kevin W, Owner at The Fat Zebra, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2018

Ahhhhh Kardoesie...always a pleasure seeing you at FZ. So glad we tick all the boxes and so thankful for you introducing others to The Fat Zebra. As always looking forward to your return. Warm regards Kevin

Reviewed June 19, 2018

Good service! Foccacia was very nice. Steak pasta and the mushroom and parmesan pasta very good made with home-made pasta. Banting Prego also good. We chose milkshakes from 2 x shops down from the fat zebra at the ice cream parlour very delicious salted caramel...More

1  Thank DDR1234
Kevin W, Owner at The Fat Zebra, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2018

Hi DDR Thank you for taking the time to post a review. So chuffed you enjoyed our fare as well as your experience. Milkshake was from our sister store FAB Cafe and Gelato. Hope to see you return. Warm regards Kevin

Reviewed June 16, 2018 via mobile

After reading about the Fat Zebra many times we decided to give it a try!! We walked in to a full, bustling restaurant and definitely did not expect to get a table for 8. The owner, Kevin quickly shifted around some willing patrons to accommodate...More

1  Thank ab2015189
Kevin W, Owner at The Fat Zebra, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2018

Hiya AB Thank you for the fantastic review. Gives me such a buzz reading about your experience at TFZ. Was an absolute pleasure being able to accommodate you guys. We are not the biggest establishment and occasionally with willing guests we are able to shift...More

Reviewed May 24, 2018

We had dinner here on a Friday night and what a pleasure it was too. Excellent service from Craig, our very friendly, knowledgeable and skilled waiter. We went for the rump, with salad and potatoes, accompanied by a rather splendid house white. The food was...More

1  Thank Peter E
Kevin W, Owner at The Fat Zebra, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2018

Hiya Peter What an absolute pleasure to read your review on us. We are indeed lucky to have Craig with us, hes a genuine asset 'whom is fun, knowledgeable and social. We do pride ourselves on preparing simple yet delicious meals using the finest ingredients....More

Reviewed May 1, 2018 via mobile

I’ll start by saying the food was delicious! The service on the other hand non existent. Waited for an hour for our breakfast and had to fetch our waiter to place a drinks order. Not that the place was full either. Would recommend the food...More

1  Thank 183rudis
Kevin W, Owner at The Fat Zebra, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2018

Hi Rudi Appreciate your taking the time to express your experience at TFZ. As much as you are disappointed so am I. I try pride ourselves on serving delicious food in a warm inviting atmosphere. You should definitely not have to fetch a waiter for...More

Reviewed April 28, 2018 via mobile

This is a firm favourite with me. It offers consistently good food and service. You always know you will have a good experience. I have had a variety of food I enjoy - from great salad, steak to pizza and chicken. My only complaint is...More

1  Thank belian2015
Kevin W, Owner at The Fat Zebra, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2018

Hi Belian So pleased that we make it into your favourite list.Love having local regulars!! Sorry to disapoint on the dessert offering but can def state we have the best choc torte and best caramel cheesecake in JHB :) Hope to see you soon. Warm...More

Reviewed April 26, 2018 via mobile

We walked in early, sat down at a table for 5 (we were 2 adults, 2 kids and a bunch of toys). We were immediately asked to move to a smaller table for 4 even though the restaurant was empty, in case they got busy....More

1  Thank kobikav G
Kevin W, Owner at The Fat Zebra, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2018

Hi Kobikav So sorry we disappointed you. We are a small intimate restaurant and our small size dictates limited space of only 9 tables inside. We try reserve our big table which seats up to 8 for diners that come in bigger crowds. We have...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 68 hotels in Johannesburg
Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg
106 reviews
1.44 km away
Road Lodge Randburg
42 reviews
2.59 km away
Ten Bompas
124 reviews
3.86 km away
The Fairway Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
778 reviews
3.99 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Brian Lara Rum Eatery
38 reviews
.45 km away
Rosto
42 reviews
.18 km away
Fish Hook
19 reviews
1.16 km away
Nearby Attractions
Northcliff Hill
5 reviews
3.14 km away
Johannesburg Botanical Gardens and Emmarentia Dam
424 reviews
2.21 km away
Delta Park
85 reviews
1.66 km away
Fusionista Beauty and Spa
38 reviews
3.10 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Fat Zebra staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
Tuesday
7:30 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Wednesday
7:30 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Thursday
7:30 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Friday
7:30 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Saturday
8:00 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 71 7th Street | Corner of 3rd Avenue and 7th Street, Linden, Johannesburg 2195, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Gauteng  >  Greater Johannesburg  >  Johannesburg
  • Phone Number: +27 82 469 5757
Description
Delicious fresh food prepared using the finest ingredients in a vibey warm and inviting atmosphere. 90% of our dishes are prepared in our wood burning pizza oven offering a unique delicious taste sensation. Serving unusual delicious Breakfasts, Lunch and flavoursome Dinners!! End off any of your meals with our delicious coffee using our imported Art Deco Elektra Coffee machine.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing