We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

moyo Zoo Lake

1 Prince of Wales Drive | Zoo Lake Park, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa
+27 11 646 0058
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good34%
  • Average16%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“tagine” (10 reviews)
“lamb” (9 reviews)
“bread” (8 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Contemporary, African, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1 Prince of Wales Drive | Zoo Lake Park, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (674)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 606 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Fun outdoor eating. Great Sunday breakfast buffet. I love the chicken liver peri peri! Face painting available upon request for a tip. Beautifully done.

Thank Heila H
Reviewed 4 days ago

Moyo at Zoo lake is a fab restaurant. My wife and I enjoyed a superb Valentine's dinner with great service, great food, great setting, great venue. The entertainment was so welcome as well.

1  Thank trevorb495
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Set next to Zoo Lake this restaurant was very impressive when we arrived with indoor and outdoor seating. The menu was very interesting and two of us had the chicken and date tegine with couscous. It was fabulous. The Greek salad was nice but nothing...More

2  Thank Gavin O
moyo2016, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Zoo Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank-you for reviewing your fabulous experience at our restaurant, we hope to see you again soon! With love, moyo

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Moyo at Zoo lake is perfect for those mid-month brunch dates with friends. The food is good & reasonably priced. The atmosphere is laid- back & relaxed. Enjoy dining al fresco and work off all those calories with a stroll along the lake. We did...More

2  Thank MischkeLC
moyo2016, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Zoo Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear guest, thank-you for your valuable feedback. We are sorry that one of your dishes was not up to the expected moyo standard. Please could you contact us at zoolake@moyo.com so we can learn more about your visit to our restaurant. We look forward to...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

First impression of African cuisine and it was nice. The restaurant is big and comfortable. They food is delicious! The drinks too. Compared to Brazilian standard it is a cheap restaurant. The personal is always helpful. Just three points for them to work: 1- groups...More

2  Thank Xistudo
moyo2016, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Zoo Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank-you for your valuable review, our team will use your feedback to improve on the experience we offer all our guests. Warm regards, The moyo team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

this is a verry nice spot to take y verry typical afrikan lunch or dinner ,fruitcoctail or a cup of good coffee and relax in the green park and enjoy the sound of Bird . The waiters are super atending & gentle McClaud is y...More

2  Thank Giuseppe G
moyo2016, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Zoo Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank-you for your 5 star feedback, our team appreciate your valuable feedback and hope to see you again soon! Warm regards, The moyo team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We love going there with our visitors. Nice and wide menu based on African dishes from different origins. Friendly staff and beautiful facilities. Reasonable price too Que

2  Thank nachocool
moyo2016, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Zoo Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank-you for highlighting our restaurant as a must visit in Joburg! We hope to see you again soon! Warm regards, The moyo team

Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

Reasonable food at reasonable prices. Staff friendly however could be more efficient. Good setting for the restaurant however the park does have too much litter. If you are outside, you may get irritated by the flies.

1  Thank 340akashs
moyo2016, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Zoo Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018

Thank-you for your valuable review, we will ensure your feedback is used to improve the experience we provide our guests. Warm regards, The moyo team

Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

We came to moyos for lunch as part of the Jhb city tour and what a horrible experience. To List a few THINGS. Terrible service, very long wait for food to arrive. Raw chicken in one meal, incorrect food given vs what was ordered. Would...More

Thank Ian H
moyo2016, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Zoo Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2017

Dear guest, Thank-you for your valuable review, we are sorry to hear that your experience was not up to the expected moyo standard. Please could you email our management team at zoolake@moyo.co.za so that your feedback can be addressed directly with you. We look forward...More

Reviewed 22 December 2017

Turned up on a Saturday night with no reservation and we were shown straight to a table. Food was delicious and the steak was moist and well cooked (I don't like rare meat) We had our faces painted and there was a singer to entertain...More

1  Thank Karen885jc
moyo2016, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Zoo Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2017

Thank-you for highlighting the great food your enjoyed at moyo! We hope you visit us again soon! Warm regards, The moyo team

PreviousNext
12345661
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 67 hotels in Johannesburg
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
672 reviews
1.51 km away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
715 reviews
1.70 km away
54 on Bath
649 reviews
1.72 km away
Clico Boutique Hotel
214 reviews
1.85 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Croft & Co
39 reviews
.41 km away
La Boqueria
93 reviews
1.30 km away
Franco's Pizzeria and Trattoria
119 reviews
.45 km away
Nearby Attractions
South African National Museum of Military History
338 reviews
1.40 km away
Zoo Lake
109 reviews
.14 km away
Kim Sacks Gallery
10 reviews
.86 km away
Goodman Gallery
16 reviews
1.01 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Ann W
25 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Martin A | Reviewed this property |
The walk isn't long and if the weather is kind, it will be a very pleasant and scenic walk.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$34
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining, Validated Parking, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Bar Scene, View, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Monday
8:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Tuesday
8:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Wednesday
8:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Thursday
8:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Friday
8:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Saturday
8:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Prince of Wales Drive | Zoo Lake Park, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Gauteng  >  Greater Johannesburg  >  Johannesburg
  • Phone Number: +27 11 646 0058
  • E-mail
Description
moyo Zoo Lake is a tranquil retreat from the urban hustle and bustle of Joburg. By day moyo offers a relaxed, family-friendly atmosphere; as the African sun sets, cocktails on the deck and fabulous live music set the tone for an extraordinary evening of fine-dining and soulful vibes. moyo Magic gives new meaning to birthday parties and workshops.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing