We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ghazal Sunninghill

The Square, Shop 13 | Corner Naivasha & Rivonia Road, Sunninghill, Sandton 2191, South Africa
+27 11 807 5828
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent34%
  • Very good48%
  • Average9%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“curries” (12 reviews)
“butter naan” (3 reviews)
Open Now
10:00 - 22:00All hours
CUISINES
Indian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Halal
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Square, Shop 13 | Corner Naivasha & Rivonia Road, Sunninghill, Sandton 2191, South Africa
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2017

To start, the food is absolutely amazing and nothing will detract from this except for the service which was to say awful. The bathroom floor was greasy, the service took forever (Drinks to up to 20 minutes with wrong orders taken). Disappointing as the food...More

Thank BenSymington
GhazalShill, Owner at Ghazal Sunninghill, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

Dear Ben We sincerely apologise for your experience and that is definitely not the service that should have been extended to you. We will take it up with the manager on duty and appreciate you taking the time to let us know so we can...More

Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile

best quality Indian food in jhb, prawn Corma and butter Naan is the way to go. you do however have to pay for what you get

Thank braddebb
GhazalShill, Owner at Ghazal Sunninghill, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

Thanks for taking the time to review us. We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

We visited in the evening and were a bit concerned as the restaurant was quite empty, but we should not have been. The staff were friendly and brought the drinks nice and quickly. I thought the wine prices were a touch on the expensive side....More

Thank Brett T
GhazalShill, Owner at Ghazal Sunninghill, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Thanks for taking the time to write us a great review! We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 5 March 2017

May 10 dinner: We have been to the other outlet at Peter Place and loved the food and the ambience. This time, we tried this outlet. This is quite a big place and has a separate section for smokers. The lighting is a bit on...More

Thank Maulin_Parekh
GhazalShill, Owner at Ghazal Sunninghill, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We hope to see you again soon :)

Reviewed 26 February 2017

Myself and my Fiance came here for Dinner ,our first time in this establishment ,we decided to come try it out as we have heard a few compliments on there quality of food .As we entered we where greeted by the Manager which is always...More

Thank graham a
GhazalShill, Owner at Ghazal Sunninghill, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide constructive feedback - we will definitely address the points noted and hope to give you an even better experience the next time you visit us :)

Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

We had butter chicken and lamb curry. I was just not impressed at all. Both curries were blend. We asked for both to be hot but the whole thing wasn't tasty. The rice was not good either. I'm just dissapointed by the whole thing. They...More

Thank Themba K
GhazalShill, Owner at Ghazal Sunninghill, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2017

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience. There have been no major changes. We hope you will come back and try again.

Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

Were disappointed last time we visited but had a change of heart and very pleased we did. Had a great meal and busy but great atmosphere. Excellent service but be warned expensive. Recommended.

Thank William G
GhazalShill, Owner at Ghazal Sunninghill, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2017

Thanks for giving Ghazal a 2nd chance..very happy to hear that we did not disappoint!

Reviewed 2 January 2017

I love curries so always seek out new curry houses. I had eaten at one of the other branches in the past and was somewhat disappointed in the food. This one is no different, I find the curries too sweet for my taste. The layout...More

Thank ZS1RA
GhazalShill, Owner at Ghazal Sunninghill, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

Thank you for your feedback.

Reviewed 18 December 2016

I was at the Sunninghill branch with my husband for lunch on Saturday, 17th Dec. This was my first time visiting your restaurant. I must admit that it was a very poor experience. You staff was not attentive, and we had to keep calling the...More

Thank Ashika D
GhazalShill, Owner at Ghazal Sunninghill, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2016

Hi Ashika. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your meal with us. Thank you for your feedback - we will definitely use it to improve.

Reviewed 14 December 2016

Very good Indian food and ambiance. Consistent good quality food and taste Wine lovers will like their wine list.I have also eaten at their Bryanston branch - equally good.

Thank Rampersad66
GhazalShill, Owner at Ghazal Sunninghill, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2016

Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review! We really appreciate it and hope to see you soon at Ghazal 😃

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Taste of Punjab
60 reviews
1.09 km away
Luca's Ristorante Italiano
49 reviews
.46 km away
Bosco Ristorante Italiano
43 reviews
.95 km away
Nearby Attractions
Liliesleaf Farm & Museum
209 reviews
1.39 km away
The Bryanston Organic and Natural Market
75 reviews
3.34 km away
Montecasino
1,368 reviews
4.90 km away
The Barnyard Theater
21 reviews
.49 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Sarvagya J
31 July 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Gulati2015 | Reviewed this property |
It would not cost more than 150 for one person do enjoy paneer tikka and paneer maknhni
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 22:00
Monday
10:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 22:00
Thursday
10:00 - 22:00
Friday
10:00 - 22:00
Saturday
10:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Square, Shop 13 | Corner Naivasha & Rivonia Road, Sunninghill, Sandton 2191, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Gauteng  >  Greater Johannesburg  >  Sandton
  • Phone Number: +27 11 807 5828
Description
Ghazal Sunninghill is a fine dining restaurant specialising in Indian cuisine. To compliment our delicious menu, we have a fully stock wine cellar with only the best South African wines. We also cater in house or at your venue for all function types.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing