We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Market

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 - 2016, 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Colombian, Cafe, International, Contemporary, Wine Bar, Vegetarian Friendly
Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Business meetings
About
Market is a world-class garden café/restaurant, situated in a quiet courtyard behind a classic 1930’s colonial building at the foot of Durban’s Berea in Marriott Road. Market serves simple quality cuisine using locally and/or organic sourced ingredients in a professional, unique, and caring environment. Market is also known for its selection of award winning South African wines, freshly squeezed fruit juices and coffee. Our fine dining dinner food specials change regularly and provide the perfect catalyst for any occasion, whether it be your first date or a birthday celebration. The courtyard has a central fountain surrounded by a a ring of Leopard trees, which provide all year mottled shade
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Drinks, After-hours
CUISINES
Colombian, Cafe, International, Contemporary, Wine Bar
FEATURES
Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Full Bar
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveller rating
95
74
21
4
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
95
74
21
4
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch fish cakes pasta lunch with friends great setting wonderful meal fresh ingredients our waiter food is excellent ambience leopard venue waiters butternut caters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 206 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The food is exceptional. However we were very unfortunate to have a table of about 12 inconsiderate customers who made so much noise, screaming rather than speaking, shrieking rather than laughing, so raucously it made our ears ring, ; we could not have a conversation...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank 964ginnyg
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Meals and hours of operating not suitable for a group booking depite the venue having a super cool ambience

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank SuvarnaParbhoo
Reviewed November 18, 2018 via mobile

This was my third vist and i was terribly dissappointed. The food was cold and distasteful; the waitron was anything but professional. Save your time and money this place is just not the same.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Roam04353449359
Reviewed August 20, 2018 via mobile

Was a nice day for lunch outside. Food was an interesting mix with fresh ingredients. Staff friendly and attentive.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Gerhard_ZA
Reviewed August 10, 2018 via mobile

We were 12 people and we enjoyed a great food. The waiters were really professional, great knowledge of the food and helpful. Big variety of food and special of the days

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Stefano P
Reviewed August 1, 2018 via mobile

We had flown in from Cape Town and our friends had flown in from Stellenbosch. My buddy had done his usual extensive and informative research which brought the “Market” into my radar. An extensive interest and incredible wide range menu, compared to the Cape Towns...More

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank xcvhcchhhh
Reviewed July 1, 2018

Saturday Lunch was a good time to visit Market but I'm sure dinner would be better with more menu options in a great atmosphere. A limited menu but sufficient to satisfy most diners. i went for the grilled sirloin with Chimmichuri on a bed of...More

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank 297Philip
Reviewed May 27, 2018 via mobile

Absolutely terrible service, waiter got the drinks orders incorrect twice, then forgot the food of 1 patron and got another waiter to come and tell us. Thereafter we paid the bill and they allowed 2 different patrons to pay for the same bill. Upon requesting...More

Date of visit: May 2018
1  Thank Rishanth
Tahne B, Manager at Market, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2018

I am truly sorry to read this and if it is factual, I wish you had brought it to my attention on the morning, as I was working FOH the whole day. (Absolutely terrible service, waiter got the drinks orders incorrect twice, then forgot the...More

Reviewed April 9, 2018

We went for Sunday brunch after being told the place was worth it. Having flown 11000 miles we were hopeful that the place might be authentic. We were not disappointed. We had a portion of the pulled lamb on toast with hollandaise sauce and a...More

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Davidbignose
Reviewed April 9, 2018

This is my first time here again after a number of years and I was not disappointed. It remains a tranquil spot set off from the road. The food is excellent and the staff friendly and efficient. A great place for a birthday party, or...More

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank Lorj03
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Market staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing