We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ocean Blue

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Shop 3, The Promenade, Victoria Road, Camps Bay, South Africa
+27 21 438 9839
Website
Today
09:30 - 22:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 09:30 - 22:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

635 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 519: English reviews
vancouver
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I love ocean blue, staff are fantastic, charming and fun. Prices are reasonable and food is good. Try the grilled kingklip. Good reasonably priced wine list.

Helpful?
Thank pmahon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We absolutely loved Ocean Blue restaurant. Service is amazing, fast, stuff is friendly and knowledgeable( special thanks to Mike) . Food is GOOD. GOOD, GOOD!!! Prices-best. We tried almost all restaurants there - but always ended in Ocean blue.

Helpful?
Thank Eva S
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

The restaurant is mainly a fish restaurant, as I am allergic to fish this can sometimes be a problem with the menu being very limited. I had the game kebab - ostrich, kudu, steak, it was really nice. the wine is great and (as we found in most restaurants in Camps Bay) the price very reasonable

Helpful?
Thank Richard2910
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
157 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Given its location - right on the front - you'd be forgiven for thinking this might the kind of place that packs them in and hurries them out with average food and service. However, the opposite is true. My lamb shank was sensational, and my wife's fish of the day was fall-off-the-bone done-to-a-turn with amazing flavour. Very reasonably priced by... More 

Helpful?
Thank arbourstone
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice food and pleasant atmosphere and would certainly recommend the Kinkclip on the bone as it was very nice.

Helpful?
Thank Rod M
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fresh seafood dinner right across from the beach. Food was nice and the fish was cooked perfectly. Cocktails were the highlight and only 50 rand. Would definitely recommend.

Helpful?
Thank armadill029
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very disappointing... Big menu with Pizza, seafood and game... We had the seafood pasta and the seafood curry! Both very fatty and too much cream. Meat looked as a better option and the staff was friendly. Just another tourist trap! Not cheap and bad food

Helpful?
Thank BE_Arnie_00
OBlue_Manager, Manager at Ocean Blue, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for your review. Not sure why you say a tourist trap but we pride ourselves in excellent value for money compared to many places in Cape Town. We are sorry that you were not happy with your meal, it is not easy to satisfy everyone's preferences. I hope that you spoke to the manager on duty... More 

Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The restaurant was very busy but we were seated quickly and drinks were served in a short space of time. We had seafood and burger, both of which were excellent. I had house wine which was very good. There was a very good choice of food, and the prices were very reasonable. Staff were friendly and ready to give information... More 

Helpful?
Thank TheMaryB
OBlue_Manager, Manager at Ocean Blue, responded to this review

Hi Mary We don't serve burgers at Ocean Blue so looks like you have posted on the incorrect page :) Kind regards More 

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Recently stumbled upon this gem on our recent visit to Cape Town. Wonderful service, staff, food - so enjoyable we went back. Our waiter Mike made both our visits as memorable as the views. If you have the chance definitely don't pass it by

Helpful?
Thank Phil J
OBlue_Manager, Manager at Ocean Blue, responded to this review

Hi Phil, Thanks for your great review! Fantastic that you loved your time with us and we'll pass on the compliments to Mike. More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had breakfast in Ocean Blue. While service was good, the food was only average & not particularly hot

Helpful?
Thank andrewDublin_Ireland

Travellers who viewed Ocean Blue also viewed

 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Ocean Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Seafood, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, View, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Sunday
09:30 - 22:30
Monday
09:30 - 22:30
Tuesday
09:30 - 22:30
Wednesday
09:30 - 22:30
Thursday
09:30 - 22:30
Friday
09:30 - 22:30
Saturday
09:30 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Shop 3, The Promenade, Victoria Road, Camps Bay, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Camps Bay
  • Phone Number: +27 21 438 9839
Description
Set in the heart of Camps Bay, Ocean Blue is the locals' and travellers' favourite since 1998! Our recent renovations have made your visit more comfortable and with an even better view of the ocean. Superb quality meals, value for money and our friendly team is what keeps people coming back for more. Our selection of fresh seafood, steaks and pizzas, as well our compliment of excellent South African wines will keep the whole family smiling. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, 9.30- 11pm. Please call to enquire about specials or find us on Facebook. See you soon, the Ocean Blue family.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Ocean Blue and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Ocean Blue staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?