We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

City Grill

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Shop 155, Victoria Wharf | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central, South Africa
+27 21 421 9820
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

875 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 623: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Dinner at this restaurant was a treat. Simply ordered the rib eye and being an Australian very discerning about my steak. This was outstanding. Giid wine selection and good variety in menu. Priced very reasonably . Staff very attentive. Would definitely recommend

Helpful?
Thank neil5050
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Having eaten at most of the restaurants at the V&A we decided to catch up with friends from the UK who were over at the same time as us, this restaurant is mainly aimed at meat lovers, on saying that 4 of us ate fish, we all thought ours meals were very good and the service also, we all would... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barry S
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a good time with the great wine selection and the equally great fillet steaks cooked to perfection.

Helpful?
Thank kkefale
Barry N, Guest Relations Manager at City Grill, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for the wonderful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience at our restaurant. Hope to see you again soon. Regards Management More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Me and my partner love our steaks and as chefs know how we like them (medium rare). We had tried a couple of places around cape town and they have no comparison to City Grill. I would go as far as saying the rib eye is one of the nicest I have ever had. The service is great and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Charlotte D
Barry N, Guest Relations Manager at City Grill, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for the wonderful review. We are absolutely delighted to read that you had such a pleasant experience at our restaurant. We look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards Management More 

Leyburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went here because it offered things you don't see on many of the other menus. The food was good, the service a little slow but friendly enough. I was pleased to be able to try zebra and there were other choices such as springbok, warthog, ostrich and various boerwors. The environment was a little too busy and noisy for... More 

Helpful?
Thank 1sammi
Barry N, Guest Relations Manager at City Grill, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for sharing your views on this site. We value the input from our guests. We are disappointed to read that the environment was a bit noisy on the day you visited us, but hope to see you in the near future. Regards Management More 

Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I visited this Restaurant whilst in Cape Town with a friend, from the moment we walked into this restaurant I felt we weren't welcomed, they seemed more interested in the Chinese tourists, as they were on a quick turn round. The food was well below the quality I have come to expect in South Africa, My friends Oxtail was full... More 

Helpful?
Thank scubaboy-12
Barry N, Public Relations Manager at City Grill, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for sharing your views. As a chef, I would expect you to fully understand the aspects of running a restaurant and the difficulties that happens on a day to day basis. We have been operating since 1999 and therefore have the reputation of excellent food and service. We are disappointed to read that you felt unwelcome... More 

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
120 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Mainly grilled food with good selection of meat. My husband had the mixed grill which comes with fries and a sunshine egg, quite a big portion and nicely done. We also had grilled fish and chicken cordon bleu, both served with rice and fries. The chicken is a big portion, we couldn't finish it even without the rice. The fries... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tina L
Barry N, Guest Relations Manager at City Grill, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for the wonderful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience at our restaurant. We hope to see you back here soon. Regards Management More 

Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were thoroughly looking forward to dining here after the reviews we had read however left utterly disappointed. I ordered chicken cordon bleu however when i cut into it the chicken was raw in the inside. When I raised my concerns with the host she assured me it was ham however after dissecting the meal it was evident to me... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alana D
Barry N, Public Relations Manager at City Grill, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for the mail and we are extremely disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy your experience at our restaurant. We dealt with your complaint on the evening and we were under the impression from your feedback on the night that you were extremely happy with the manner in which we dealt with the situation. We are... More 

Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
250 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

never had zebra before so to see it on the menu meant i had to try it. very interesting. the waiter was from zimbabwe, very cool, did a very food jib and sends money home to his family. i respect that ! the food was well prepared, everything was very good. if you do a city sightseening tour present your... More 

Helpful?
Thank Travelloverdelmundo
Barry N, Guest Relations Manager at City Grill, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for the wonderful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience at our restaurant. We hope to see you back here soon. Regards Management More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location, large terrace, well frequented. International food, excellent meat, good grill. Price/Quality balanced. To come back.

Helpful?
Thank Rui M
Barry N, Guest Relations Manager at City Grill, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for the lovely review. We are extremely proud of our top quality meat and excellent service since 1999. Kind Regards Management More 

Travellers who viewed City Grill also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to City Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Steakhouse, African, Grill, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, View
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Shop 155, Victoria Wharf | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Cape Town Central
  • Phone Number: +27 21 421 9820
Description
Established in 1999, the City Grill is the oldest steakhouse in the V&A Waterfront. We invite you to discover a truly South African experience… so gather family and friends for a feast of flavour at the City Grill! A place where food has substance, big appetites are essential and South Africa is the flavour of the month, every month!

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from City Grill staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?