We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cape Town Fish Market V&A Waterfront

| G12, Clock Tower, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa
+27 21 418 5977
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent22%
  • Very good47%
  • Average16%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“seafood” (46 reviews)
“hake” (24 reviews)
“poke bowl” (4 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m. Hours
CUISINES
Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
| G12, Clock Tower, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

In this place if it is fresher...it’s still swimming... We ordered a platter of lemon butter sautéed prawns, eight of them , fried calamari, rice and chips. The prawns were so sweet and fresh, delicious...They were served opened so we did not have a struggle...More

Thank Morcella
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Dined here for dinner, we shared a few dishes - tuna ceviche, lamb croquettes, ebi bites, beef ribs & volcano rolls. Most of the food was delicious. Ribs disappointingly didn't fall off the bone like ribs should, they were a little tough but the rest...More

Thank Shweta L
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had n outing to the waterfront. Good vibe . . . Lots to see and do and buy or just habe a craft beer at one of the pubs.

Thank 102johanf
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great view but poor service from waiters and manager who tried to make excuses for the waiter not being attentive

Thank shanta605
CTFMSA, General Manager at Cape Town Fish Market V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi there, We're sorry to hear that you had a bad experience at one of our stores. Would you please send us your contact details (email and phone number) via inbox so that the store can get in touch with you? Thank you.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Mmmmmm is perfect way to.descrive. Food beautiful & really speedy, we had a large party & 3 courses each & was all very efficient. My friends got the sushi which looked out of this world. I got the paella-not a massive portion but made up...More

Thank Louise M
CTFMSA, General Manager at Cape Town Fish Market V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Louise, Thanks for the wonderful feedback! We're so glad you had a great time. We'll be sure to pass your compliment to the store.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We eat with two couples in this restaurant. We ordered sushi and fish and was very good and fresh. Wine is very good and not expensive. Service is a bit slow but friendly.

Thank Erik v
CTFMSA, General Manager at Cape Town Fish Market V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Erik, Thanks for the great review! We're glad you enjoyed your visit. Do come again!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went here for dinner one night. Hubby had the curry I had the prawn and avo salad. The salad contained 5 prawns! That's it! The curry was good but very hot. Had the cheesecake and brownie for pudding, both tasteless. Waiter unenthusiastic. We also saw...More

Thank kckaceykc
CTFMSA, General Manager at Cape Town Fish Market V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi there, We're sorry to hear that you had a bad experience at one of our stores. Would you please send us your contact details (email and phone number) so that the store can get in touch with you? Thank you.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Oh yum... I didn't want the lunch to end. I had the signature sushi. Oh my gosh, worth every cent. So fresh and beautifully presented. I would definitely go back. The service was fantastic and an awesome location. Do yourself a flavour, and visit the...More

Thank wateva_44
Reviewed June 6, 2018

Service: wasnt anyone greeting us at the entrance; the waitress was emotionless, to say the least and she wasnt showing any interest in taking our order at all; the manager did come to apologize and explain for the stinking food. Food: The mussel pot literally...More

Thank Andrew K
Reviewed May 31, 2018

We were looking for a place for dinner and asked the concierge at the hotel we were staying at (V&A Hotel) and the Fish Market was not one of the 3 we discussed. But as my friend and I walked around we saw the Fish...More

5  Thank Sharon L
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 113 hotels in Cape Town Central
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
1,682 reviews
.17 km away
The Silo Hotel
141 reviews
.23 km away
Cape Grace
2,232 reviews
.29 km away
Dock House Boutique Hotel
216 reviews
.31 km away
Nearby Restaurants
V&A Food Market
1,042 reviews
.23 km away
Harbour House V&A Waterfront
3,121 reviews
.24 km away
Den Anker
2,378 reviews
.09 km away
Ginja
191 reviews
.18 km away
Nearby Attractions
Zeitz MOCAA
414 reviews
.21 km away
Cape Town Diamond Museum
410 reviews
.08 km away
The Springbok Experience
486 reviews
.32 km away
The Cape Wheel
837 reviews
.22 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Terri C
April 24, 2017|
Answer
Response from CTFMSA | Property representative |
Hi Terri, we have great specials which run Monday - Thursday. Monday: Get a portion of FISH & CHIPS (200g) or ANY BURGER (served with chips and onion rings) for only R50. Tuesday: 50% off classic sushi, 25% off sushi... More
0
Votes
Christine C
October 22, 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from chas58 | Reviewed this property |
Right by the Robbin Island ferry near the clock tower
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, View, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Monday
11:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Tuesday
11:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Wednesday
11:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Thursday
11:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Friday
11:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Saturday
11:30 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: | G12, Clock Tower, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Cape Town Central
  • Phone Number: +27 21 418 5977
  • E-mail
Description
Our menu brings together the best of South African and Japanese cuisine – from fish & chips to classic sashimi. When it comes to seafood, it doesn’t get any fresher. We also cater for meat-eaters and vegetarians and offer a carefully selected range of the finest South African wines.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing