We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Shimmy Beach Club

$$ - $$$
Bar, Seafood, Sushi, Contemporary
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
12 South Arm Road, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
+27 21 200 7778
Website
Today
11:00 - 02:00
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 - 02:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

358 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 322: English reviews
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

So went to the Afrikaans Rocks concert at Shimmy. Absolutely brilliant venue. Not over crowded. Even though there were a lot of people, you could choice to be in the through of things or sit out in a quieter corner. Security was tight, but professional. Drinks are excessively expensive, only if you are planning on consuming to many. Service staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andre O
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Absolutely fabulous setting but menu rather boring and unimaginative. As for the food, the best way to describe would be fair to middling. Service was good - friendly and attentive and could not be faulted. Dom Pedros were not very good, disappointing because this is something I always look forward to enjoy after a meal when visiting SA. Not good... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marlumus
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Go to Shimmy everyone said. It's great fun right on the beach everyone said. Great parties everyone said. Everyone must have already been drunk. Overpriced drinks in a setting that looks like a wannabe's music video set with the cast to match. An not gay friendly, which was a surprise.....in Cape Town! Sorry...I'll pass next time.

Helpful?
Thank danders212
ShimmyBeach, Social Media Coordinator at Shimmy Beach Club, responded to this review

Hi there, Please pop us an email with some more details of your encounter so we can possibly make it better for other guests. media@shimmybeachclub.co.za Warmest Regards, Shimmy Media Team More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I'm not usually one to make complaints or publicize bad service/experiences but after the terrible encounter we have had I feel it is only necessary to voice my opinion. We came to Shimmy Beach Club on recommendation from a friend who told us that it was one of the best places to go in Cape Town. We checked out your... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
ShimmyBeach, Social Media Coordinator at Shimmy Beach Club, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Lauren, Thank you for taking the time to send this through to us! We do try our best to keep everyone updated with our private events and music festivals by posting frequently on our social media platforms, website, events calendar and our app. It's most regrettable that you had this experience, and we can suggest that you give... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a great place to take visitors looking for a picturesque sea view and not much else. The prices are ridiculous (even more so in season), the food is limited and poorly prepared, and the service nothing but standard. When ordering a burger for R155, one expects a certain level of ingredients and preparation (since this will buy you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeremy P
ShimmyBeach, Social Media Coordinator at Shimmy Beach Club, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to send this through to us. it sounds like you didn't have the best experience, and we hope that you do choose to visit us again, possibly on an event day? Warmest Regards, Media Team More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
91 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had overseas visitors and took them on a culinary adventure through the winelands etc. I decided to show them some 'pretty' local spots as well. My expectation of the food at Shimmy wasn't overly ambitious and a first glance at the menu prices made me gasp a little. But boy was I happily wrong ! The food was EXCELLENT... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank cliffordius1
ShimmyBeach, Shimmy Media Team at Shimmy Beach Club, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you for the great review! We LOVE hearing this sort of feedback. See you soon, hopefully. Warmest Regards, Shimmy Media Team More 

Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What a great place to try! Couples, families, singles. The food smelt great (we didn't get a chance to try any sadly) Shimmy is very big with several places to chose from to sit. There is a central glass pool for adults and children a like. There is a great kids play area with 2 au pairs. The only reason... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TheEyeLady
ShimmyBeach, Social Media Coordinator at Shimmy Beach Club, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you so much for taking the time to send this great review. We will address the situation with the au pairs right away and make sure that this doesn't happen again. Thanks once again, and we hope to see you soon! Warmest Regards, Shimmy Media Team More 

Pretoria
Level Contributor
153 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A perfect vibe place. ambience excellent. The downfall is the service of the staff. I enjoyed myself anyway cause black coffee and MI Casa were on the stage. I was pressed booked by Ericsson, so I believe booking is essential to avoid disappointment

Helpful?
Thank Jjaymoh
ShimmyBeach, Social Media Coordinator at Shimmy Beach Club, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thanks for taking the time to send us this review. More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
131 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Because the place has become part of the scenery for concerts and house music djs it has become a must. the venue is nice and pleasant and adds something different to Cape Town's life ! The service is not fantastic because the place is big and the waiters not always checking but who cares ! We are on the beach... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CTandyou
ShimmyBeach, Shimmy Media Team at Shimmy Beach Club, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thanks for the lovely review. Hope to see you soon! Warmest Regards, Shimmy Media Team More 

Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We attended AFest with our host Google at the Shimmy Beach Club last night. Great staff , delicious canapés , gorgeous view...book early for event space as it's popular . Call and book if you want to visit this summer. A great day and night out.

Helpful?
1 Thank Elsabe B
ShimmyBeach, Social media Coordinator at Shimmy Beach Club, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the great review! More 

Travellers who viewed Shimmy Beach Club also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Clifton, Camps Bay
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Shimmy Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, Seafood, Sushi, Contemporary
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi, Reservations, Full Bar
Good for
View, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 02:00
Monday
11:00 - 02:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 02:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 02:00
Thursday
11:00 - 02:00
Friday
11:00 - 02:00
Saturday
11:00 - 02:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 12 South Arm Road, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Cape Town Central
  • Phone Number: +27 21 200 7778
Description
Shimmy Beach Club, Cape Town's hottest lifestyle venue, is perfect for romantic meals with a view, tailor-made conferences, glamorous events and Ibiza-style parties. Boasting an elegant 220-seater restaurant, two meeting rooms, tow gorgeous pools and bars, and a sprawling deck leading onto a private beach, it's the place to be!
Top local and international DJ's play on our new poolside stage on weekends throughout summer.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Shimmy Beach Club and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Shimmy Beach Club staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?