We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bukhara V&A Waterfront

V & A Waterfront | Shop No. 6264, Upper Level, Cape Town Central, South Africa
+27 21 418 5600
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent24%
  • Very good32%
  • Average17%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible15%
Travellers talk about
“butter naan” (5 reviews)
“curry” (15 reviews)
“daal” (2 reviews)
Opens in 24 min
Hours
CUISINES
Indian, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
V & A Waterfront | Shop No. 6264, Upper Level, Cape Town Central, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Bukhara has always been the only Indian Restaurant with class and good food. The service sometimes disappoints as the waitrons do not stay long enough to know their regular clienteles. However, the quality and taste of food exceeds your expectation and leave you with a...More

Thank mahmad786
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What started out so promising turned out to be very disappointing. We walked into the restaurant without a reservation, it was empty apart from a large works gathering at one side of the room. The table was very loud and it was only early evening,...More

Thank Navigator802677
FrequentFlier743063, Guest Relations Manager at Bukhara V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good day, Navigator802677, Thank you for taking the time to review us. At Bukhara we strive for excellence in Indian cuisine. We are terribly sorry to hear that you did not experience this with us. We would like the opportunity to discuss this further with...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful atmosphere, comes alive day or night. The smell of food makes you stay around longer. Very neat settings. Love to go back.

Thank cookiep445
FrequentFlier743063, Guest Relations Manager at Bukhara V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi there cookiep445, Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted to read about your experience with us. We look forward to having you dine with us again at our Bukhara V&A Waterfront, soon. Kind regards, Bukhara

Reviewed September 1, 2018

I have been to Bukhara on the Waterfront twice in as many years. The food and service have on both occasions been excellent. On the most recent visit we were a group of 6. Ordered a variety of starters which we shared around, all were...More

Thank Food4joy
Management response:Responded September 4, 2018

Dear Food4joy, Thank you for taking the time to review us. At Bukhara we strive for excellence in Indian cuisine, we are delighted you experienced just that, and that you enjoyed your birthday with us. We look forward to having you dine with us again,...More

Reviewed August 24, 2018

My fiancé and I visited Haiku/Bukhara V& A Waterfront last night and had the worst dining experience of our life. I ordered the dim sum and she ordered the butter chicken for two from Bukhara next door. The curry arrived accompanied my some green slop...More

Thank MarkS9033
Management response:Responded August 31, 2018

Good day, Mark S, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are terribly sorry to hear about your experience this with us. This does not sound like the service we pride ourselves on. We would like the opportunity to discuss this further...More

Reviewed August 17, 2018

This is one of my favourite restaurants in Cape Town, from service, ambience and food. Last time I was here, Ali was there to explain the menu in detail once more. I can highly recommend this restaurant, together with Haiku. Their wine list is exceptional...More

Thank ImKeenLetsTryIt
Management response:Responded August 20, 2018

Dear ImKeenLetsTryIt, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are so happy that you enjoyed our wide selection of wine, as well as our great service, food and atmosphere. At Bukhara we strive for excellence in Indian cuisine, we are delighted you...More

Reviewed August 17, 2018 via mobile

We had lunch there earlier today, butter chicken and naan. With a Raita starter. Firstly, the waiter didn’t know what tamarind chutney/dip, secondly the papadum was average served on a place filled with water ( not dried properly). Therefore the papadum got soaked, tasted horrible....More

Thank 480raisam
Management response:Responded August 20, 2018

Good day 480raisam, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are terribly sorry to hear about your experience this with us. This does not sound like the service we pride ourselves on. We would like the opportunity to discuss this further with...More

Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

Prompted to write this due to our experience and save others the time - the waiter was pushy, the food average (we eat Indian food all over the world and this was the worst we have ever had!) for the price charged and to top...More

Thank Rinckee
Management response:Responded August 20, 2018

Good day, Rinckee, Thank you for taking the time to review us. At Bukhara we strive for excellence in Indian cuisine and our service. We are terribly sorry to hear that you did not experience this with us. We would like the opportunity to discuss...More

Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

And it was awesome! Daal makhani was awesome!! I think very very close to the one u get in Delhi. Service was quick, and a ambiance good. Definitely a must for north Indian food.

Thank Gautam J
Management response:Responded August 20, 2018

Dear Gautam J, Thank you for taking the time to review us. At Bukhara we strive for excellence in Indian cuisine, we are delighted you experienced just that. We look forward to having you dine with us again, soon. Kind regards, Bukhara

Reviewed August 5, 2018

I was really amazed by the awful service offered at this restaurant and had to leave a review so they can address the issues. We have tried Bukhara at several places and hoping to get the same experience we ventured into this restaurant after making...More

Thank gaurav c
Management response:Responded August 20, 2018

Hi there gaurav c, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are extremely disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us. We would like the opportunity to discuss this further with you. Kindly send us an email to...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 114 hotels in Cape Town Central
The Table Bay Hotel
2,653 reviews
.17 km away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
1,730 reviews
.28 km away
Dock House Boutique Hotel
225 reviews
.29 km away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
810 reviews
.32 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Willoughby & Co
3,611 reviews
.15 km away
Baia
2,727 reviews
.03 km away
Karibu
2,243 reviews
.02 km away
Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar
3,197 reviews
.08 km away
Nearby Attractions
Victoria & Alfred Waterfront
11,254 reviews
.13 km away
The Springbok Experience
501 reviews
.27 km away
The Cape Wheel
875 reviews
.22 km away
Chavonnes Battery Museum
96 reviews
.34 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Bukhara V&A Waterfront staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
View, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.
6:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Monday
12:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.
6:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Tuesday
12:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.
6:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Wednesday
12:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.
6:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Thursday
12:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.
6:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Friday
12:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.
6:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Saturday
12:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.
6:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: V & A Waterfront | Shop No. 6264, Upper Level, Cape Town Central, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Cape Town Central
  • Phone Number: +27 21 418 5600
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing