We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pigalle Restaurant

57A Somerset Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
+27 21 421 4848
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good22%
  • Average6%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“seafood” (144 reviews)
“scallops” (39 reviews)
“creme brulee” (12 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Soups, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
57A Somerset Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 988 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

The food was good the ambiance was good & very well priced. real value for money. the live music was a great addition to a great evening

Thank jeromekoeries
Pigallecapetown, Manager at Pigalle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Jeromekoeries, Thanks for joining us , great to hear you enjoyed your experience. Please do join us again soon Regards Pigalle

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Every table was celebrating a birthday when we went to Pigalle & we were no exception. Situated in an unlikely back street, it is the height of opulent sophistication inside. Service is friendly, welcoming and efficient and the food is exceptional. They are known for...More

Thank LouCradd
Pigallecapetown, Manager at Pigalle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear LouCradd, Thanks so much for joining us , we are so glad you had a great time and got the rounded Pigalle experience. Excellent to hear you enjoyed your meal and especially the music , we are very lucky to have The Gavin Minter...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's a nice place with 80's vibe and 60's band and dance floor. The food is OK, there wasn't anything bad about it, but not amazing as well.More

Thank Marina G
Pigallecapetown, Manager at Pigalle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Marina G, Sorry to hear your experience wasn't of the highest level , we definitely aim for a rounded great experience in our room and are saddened when we miss the mark. Please do give us a chance to exceed your expectations if you...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We are so spoiled for reataurant choice in Cae Town and somehow let an old favourite slip for way too long. Last night we returned to Pigalle for lovely seafood dinner. We were warmly welcomed and showed to our table where our waiter introduced himself...More

Thank Mari B
Pigallecapetown, Manager at Pigalle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Mari B, Thank You very much for your lovely review , always good to hear old clients coming back and receiving the same level of service and experience. We work very hard to ensure consistency with all we do. I have been in touch...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

a good old fashioned dance floor with live music. Good food and service. This is a good place for group celebrations or a romantic dinner with dancing

Thank bluejayinsa
Pigallecapetown, Manager at Pigalle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear bluejayinsa , Thank you for joining us , always love hearing about diners that enjoyed their experience. Please do join us again soon when in Cape Town Kind Regards Pigalle

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We where celebrating our 49 year in S.A. and where trilled to find a place to dine and dance - like in the old times. It was a Friday evening and unfortunately the rstaurat was less than half full. The service was excellent, the food...More

1  Thank Xstel
Pigallecapetown, Manager at Pigalle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good Day Xstel, Thanks for joining us , Unfortunately being the middle of Cape Town winter and with the drought crisis still very much on everybody's mind the industry as a whole is very slow , with us being a 350 seat restaurant we will...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Service was outstanding, the seafood platter a pleasure, and all to the sound of a terrific jazz combo. The decor and atmosphere of elegance made us feel like we were in a glamorous night club of yesteryear. It was a night for our family to...More

2  Thank gobluecsa
Pigallecapetown, Manager at Pigalle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear gobluecsa, Than you for joining us at Pigalle , great to hear you had such a wonderful evening , we will never tire of giving our diners the ultimate luxury evening. Do join us again if you are in the area. Kind Regards Pigalle

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Wow. Food was amazing. Scallops on risotto was spot on. Springbok perfectly cooked. Malva delicious. All with live music from 80s soft rock to Bill Withers. Brilliant.

2  Thank LarsSawyer
Pigallecapetown, Manager at Pigalle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear LarsSawyer, Thanks for your great review , after 16 years it is still excellent to hear that we are pleasing our guests to this level. Please do join us again when in the area, Kind Regards Pigalle

Reviewed June 29, 2018

Made an early reservation based on a recommendation form our hotel driver. We were the first to be seated and got a lot of attention, but as the place filled up, the waiter seemed more interested in the younger crowd and had to be waved...More

2  Thank Philly2VT
Pigallecapetown, Manager at Pigalle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Philly2VT , Sorry to hear you had a less than perfect experience , we definitely strive to give everybody a superb dining experience at Pigalle , the general clientele is definitely not a younger crowd and it feels like maybe the night in question...More

Reviewed June 25, 2018 via mobile

What do you pay for? Very nice ambience and setting, attentive staff, good food, and a live jazz band. Actually you can have a conversation while the band play. A first time for us, and definitely a unique experience of class.

1  Thank Johan M
Pigallecapetown, Manager at Pigalle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2018

Dear Johan M, Thank You for joining us , excellent news that you enjoyed your experience , Please do join us again soon Kind Regards Pigalle

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 114 hotels in Cape Town Central
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction
702 reviews
.05 km away
Sugar Hotel & Spa
399 reviews
.24 km away
Protea Hotel Cape Town Cape Castle
238 reviews
.25 km away
The Village Lodge
105 reviews
.26 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Gold Restaurant
1,518 reviews
.24 km away
Anatoli Turkish Restaurant
283 reviews
.27 km away
Il Leone Mastrantonio
685 reviews
.25 km away
Nearby Attractions
Shimansky Jewellers Rockwell
13 reviews
.34 km away
Martin Osner Fine Art Photography Gallery
11 reviews
.31 km away
Nobel Square
353 reviews
.08 km away
Cape Quarter Mall
75 reviews
.29 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Anita M
February 10, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Pigallecapetown | Property representative |
Good Day Anita, Our new online system has to allocate a seating area , making it slightly confusing for our guests , rest assured though that my self and our GM go to great pains to ensure everybody gets a great seat , we... More
0
Votes
gilliansullivan
February 1, 2018|
Answer
Response from Pigallecapetown | Property representative |
Good Afternoon The photo named "private dining" in our photo album is of the fishbowl. Hope this helps Regards
0
Votes
Robin888
August 29, 2017|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from Pigallecapetown | Property representative |
Hi All, As per my previous response to Robin we have had to implement this policy due to a large number of international guests making reservations and not showing up on the night - as there is often not a local number to... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$250 - US$1,000
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Free Off-Street Parking, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Romantic, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Monday
12:00 p.m. - 2:30 p.m.
6:30 p.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Tuesday
12:00 p.m. - 2:30 p.m.
6:30 p.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Wednesday
12:00 p.m. - 2:30 p.m.
6:30 p.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Thursday
12:00 p.m. - 2:30 p.m.
6:30 p.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Friday
12:00 p.m. - 2:30 p.m.
6:30 p.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Saturday
12:00 p.m. - 2:30 p.m.
6:30 p.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 57A Somerset Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Cape Town Central
  • Phone Number: +27 21 421 4848
  • E-mail
Description
Well-known as the perfect venue for a stylish evening out, we offer guests live entertainment from our dance floor alongside superb dinner courses. Renowned for our fresh seafood and Chalmar steak, our menu comprises of classic dishes with a subtle Portuguese flair. Including a spacious cigar lounge and private dining room our venue is versatile as well as suitable for private functions.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing