We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Conservatory

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
93 Brommersvlei Road | The Cellars-Hohenort, Constantia 7806, South Africa
+27 21 794 2137
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

208 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 180: English reviews
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Charming and peaceful. Stunning gardens. The High Tea spread dainty and delicious. Chose the low carbon option. Highly recommended. Service good. Will be back soon.

Helpful?
Thank Erica T
AngieSwail, Manager at The Conservatory, responded to this review

Dear Erica, Thank you so much for your feedback regarding our High Tea. Much appreciated. Kind regards, Angie More 

Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2017

Great meal and first class service. Would definitely go back . Very knowledgeable wine waiter and all staff were first class

Helpful?
Thank Vivien H
AngieSwail, Manager at The Conservatory, responded to this review

Dear Vivien, Thank you for the great feedback. We will see you again soon. Kind regards, Angie More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
188 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2017

Extensive menu with several unusual choices. The service is impeccable and the dishes are beautifully presented.

Helpful?
Thank A_regular_traveler57
AngieSwail, Manager at The Conservatory, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very positive feedback. I will definitely share it with the team. Kind regards, Angie More 

Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
285 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2017

The staff were very pleasant and efficient. The cheese soufflé starter was individually prepared (of course) but rather strong in taste. The steak main was beautifully prepared but very filling. Once again I found the panacotta dessert more like a mousse. Our meal was also unfortunately distracted by rather noisy groups on nearby tables.

Helpful?
Thank sagatourist
AngieSwail, Manager at The Conservatory, responded to this review

Dear Sagatourist, Thank you for your constructive feedback. We will definitely take a look at the table allocation of larger groups during service periods. Kind regards, Angie More 

branford
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

We were eager to eat here, and we had tried booking without success. So we were delighted to book a table for 4 for tonight earlier this week . When we arrived however the young hostess said we had no reservation. We originally had a 6:30 spot but had called this afternoon at 1 pm to see if it could... More 

Helpful?
Thank suehallam
AngieSwail, Manager at The Conservatory, responded to this review

Dear Suehallam, I am really dissapointed that you were not able to dine in our Conservatory restaurant. I want to thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and would like to apologize to you and your family for any inconvenience caused. We do value all our guests and i can assure you that corrective action has been taken.... More 

Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Cellars Hotel and naturally dined at this first class restaurant Wonderful staff, under the ever watchful eye of Dominic, the General Manager A large menu Everything we tried was superb In keeping with high standards there was a superb wine list Without question we shall return. Indeed , we are already preparing for 2018!

Helpful?
Thank VENETIAN2015
AngieSwail, Manager at The Conservatory, responded to this review

Dear Venetian25, Thanks for the great feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in 2018. Kindest regards, Angie More 

Cape Town
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2017

My husband and I had a wonderful dinner here. We had booked in advance and asked for the best table which was beautiful. The cheese souffle and prime rib were particular standouts.

Helpful?
Thank Nicole A
AngieSwail, Manager at The Conservatory, responded to this review

Dear Nicole, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your dinner at our Conservatory restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to try some of the other delicious items on our menu. Kind regards, Angie More 

New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile

My mother and I had lunch here on January 4th. First, I will say that the food was really excellent, and the surroundings lovely. But the service was absolutely appalling. It was not the kind of service one expects at a cafe, let alone a Relais and Chateaux property. The young woman who seated us was pleasant but, during our... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank crulezim
AngieSwail, Manager at The Conservatory, responded to this review

Dear Crulezim, Thank you for your feedback regarding lunch at our Conservatory restaurant. I can assure you that every single point mentioned in your review has been addressed with the team- as this is definitely not the kind of service we want any of our guests to experience. I would like to apologize on behalf of our team for any... More 

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2017

We were resident in the Cellars , and enjoyed every meal we had at the Conservatory. Breakfasts are served on the patio overlooking the garden, and the a large carte on the evening is varied and good quality

Helpful?
Thank Ian F
AngieSwail, Manager at The Conservatory, responded to this review

Dear Ian, Thank you so much for your review. Much appreciated. Kind regards, Angie More 

Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

In preparation for a meeting we were planning at Cellars Hohenort we decided to have lunch at The Conservatory. From the friendly and efficient staff to the food this was one of the best restaurants I had visited. The food was outstanding; cheese soufflé, springbok and catch of the day. Together with the coffees came small sweets - all delicious... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank HMBWHK
AngieSwail, Manager at The Conservatory, responded to this review

Thank you so much for a lovely review. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Angie More 

Travellers who viewed The Conservatory also viewed

 
Constantia, Cape Town
Constantia, Cape Town
 

Been to The Conservatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$25 - US$40
Cuisine
European, Contemporary, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Highchairs Available
Good for
Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, View, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 93 Brommersvlei Road | The Cellars-Hohenort, Constantia 7806, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Constantia
  • Phone Number: +27 21 794 2137
Description
The Conservatory, situated adjacent to the historic Cellars-Hohenort cellar, offers diners unparalleled garden vistas from both the sun-drenched terrace and the indoor tables. Carefully constructed around a giant 300-year-old oak tree, The Conservatory is one of Constantia's finest daily breakfast, lunch and dinner venues. Here the head chef creates hotel classics alongside modern and seasonally influenced dishes. The Conservatory menu places a great emphasis on fresh produce from both The Cellars-Hohenort gardens and local green-friendly suppliers, and this gives it the unique ability to showcase a true taste of the Constantia Valley. Friendly service and an award-winning wine list ensure that The Conservatory offers guests and locals an exceptional everyday dining experience.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Conservatory staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?