We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fat Fish

124 York Street, George 6529, South Africa
+27 44 874 7803
Website
Share
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good26%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“fish” (62 reviews)
“kingklip” (27 reviews)
“mussels” (20 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Sushi, European, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
LOCATION
124 York Street, George 6529, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Always such a treat at The Fat Fish in George. The food is from the highest quality and the service is very professional.

Thank AndreaK4377
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had excellent service and a delicious luncheon, will be back soon for more of the yummy meals on your menu.

Thank MandyJ657
NicolaA2080, Manager at The Fat Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear MandyJ657 Thank you for the lovely review. We will pass on your compliments to the team. Looking forward to seeing you again as promised! Kind regards, The Fat Fish

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Based on previous trip advisor recommendations we chose to visit this restuarant. The one slightly negative is the signage it is very difficult to read the script the Fat fish has chosen for their name you nearly drive past the venue. The restuarant is beautifully...More

Thank karmal962
NicolaA2080, Manager at The Fat Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Karmal962 Thank you for taking the time to review The Fat Fish in George. Your feedback is most valuable and we have noted your concern regarding the signage. Unfortunately, the restaurant is slightly tucked away behind tourism and further signage on York street is...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I think it was the best meal during our 4 weeks trip in SA. Seafood curry and a fish platter (can’t remember its name, but it was recommended by a waiter as one of the most popular dishes). Food was exceptionally delicious, rich flavours. A...More

Thank J_Jurate
NicolaA2080, Manager at The Fat Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear J_Jurate What a wonderful review - thank you! We shall pass on your complements to the chef and the rest of the team. Do hope to see you again should you return to our beautiful part of the world. Kind regards, The Fat Fish

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nice quiet atmosphere outside, good wine list and fish menu is excellent - seafood curry was delicious.

Thank ChristelleKristee
NicolaA2080, Manager at The Fat Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Christelle Thank you for that short but fabulous review of the Fat Fish in George! Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, The Fat Fish

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

By virtue of the name of this restaurant, my fish choice of beer battered hake and chips put a smile on my face. The overall dishes available on the menu convinced me to go back another day.Our waitron was most attentive and her knowledge of...More

Thank D4742QYtonym
NicolaA2080, Manager at The Fat Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience of The Fat Fish and for the wonderful compliments all round. Do hope to see you again when next you are in George. Kind regards, The Fat Fish

Reviewed September 13, 2018 via mobile

Ok guys this was right on the money. Superb evening and completely family friendly. Service was pleasant and efficient. The food was absolutely excellent. Each main was as good as the last, finger licking good. I can't recommend this restaurant higher top class.More

Thank Voyager776960
NicolaA2080, Manager at The Fat Fish, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2018

Dear Voyager776960 Thank you for that wonderfully comprehensive review! So encouraging to hear we ticked all the boxes and thank you for including the fact that we are most definitely a family friendly restaurant. Looking forward to seeing you again soon! Kind regards, The Fat...More

Reviewed September 4, 2018

Monday night and the restaurant had many tables occupied - a good sign that it is a popular place to dine. We had the Mushroom Arancinis with hake & chips - the arancinis were very tasty and the hake well fried and fluffy - beautifully...More

Thank RudiBosbouer
Nicola A, Manager at The Fat Fish, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2018

Dear Rudi Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Fat Fish and for the wonderful compliments which we will pass on to the team. Do hope you will make the most of our Winter Specials running up until the end...More

Reviewed September 2, 2018 via mobile

I’ve read previous reviews and do not agree regarding price - knowing the cost of fresh seafood and quality ingredients - a certain amount of objectivity is needed, these ingredients are expensive! My wife and I enjoyed the chowder to start which we shared, calamari...More

Thank PiccoloManagement
Nicola A, Manager at The Fat Fish, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2018

Dear PiccoloManagement Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Fat Fish in George, for your wonderful compliments regarding the quality of your meal as well as your acknowledgement that our pricing is not expensive but entirely in line with the...More

Reviewed August 30, 2018

The service is professional and the food is excellent, but at a price. A special place for a special occasion.More

Thank Lorraine v
Nicola A, Manager at The Fat Fish, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2018

Dear Lorraine Thank you taking the time to review your experience at The Fat Fish in George and for the wonderful compliments regarding the quality of our food and service. We will soon be celebrating our 3rd anniversary in George and maintaining that consistency in...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 9 hotels in George
Protea Hotel George Outeniqua
169 reviews
.18 km away
Oakhurst Hotel
91 reviews
.22 km away
Town Lodge George
82 reviews
.30 km away
Protea Hotel George King George
317 reviews
1.58 km away
Nearby Restaurants
101 Meade Street Restaurant
538 reviews
.50 km away
Travel Bugs Garden Restaurant
224 reviews
.27 km away
La Capannina
480 reviews
.08 km away
Nearby Attractions
Outeniqua Transport Museum
385 reviews
1.50 km away
Robertson Brewing Co.
97 reviews
1.05 km away
Garden Route Botanical Gardens
75 reviews
1.10 km away
Dutch Reformed Mother Church
29 reviews
.63 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Megan K
August 26, 2018|
Answer
Response from NicolaA2080 | Property representative |
Hi Megan. We are open 7 days a week 11:30 - 22:00. Kind regards, The Fat Fish
0
Votes
Lusinda V
December 10, 2016|
Answer
Response from Simon A | Property representative |
Dear Lusinda Thank you for the enquiry, unfortunately I have all my staff for this season. Kind regards Simon
0
Votes
Grant D
March 25, 2016|
Answer
Response from Leoni K | Reviewed this property |
casual but not scruffy
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$10 - US$20
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 124 York Street, George 6529, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  George
  • Phone Number: +27 44 874 7803
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing