We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tikka Palace

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Village Square Water Front Piaza | Hermanus, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
+27 28 312 2239
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

138 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 131: English reviews
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

Thank you for the delicious meals , we really enjoyed the food , the resturant setting and the genuine hospitality We will defnitely be back

Helpful?
Thank Mujahid I
TikkaPalace, Owner at Tikka Palace, responded to this review

We thank you for your kind Review. Hope to see you again. Regards More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2017

What a horrible place. Poor service - there was only one waiter who we had to look for all the time, even though there were only two other tables occupied in the whole restaurant. Complaining to the manager that the food is taking an excessive amount of time - 50+ minutes, just got an apology and a walk away, no... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DesiGuy2017
TikkaPalace, Owner at Tikka Palace, responded to this review

I know you People who like to eat Haram Food and who had a problem over Fish Fried, you are same STUPID Family giving us Stupid reviews, wish if I can see you again.......... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Starters were good. The Butter Chicken and Lamb Korma were a bit bland. Overall a disappointing experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank SueV256
TikkaPalace, Owner at Tikka Palace, responded to this review

Dear Patron, we are Shocked and Surprised with your Review, not once you mentioned about the food while eating at our Restaurant. We still thank you for your input. Kind Regards More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
134 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2017

We really enjoyed our lunch during the Hermanus busy season.The lunch menu was ample and the tikka marsala fantastic.You can buy great wines at the wine boutique downstairs and the food is very well prized and spiced.The owner is available for a chat specifically about cricket.I highly recommend this restaurant for a delightful meal.

Helpful?
Thank JBLEROUX
TikkaPalace, Owner at Tikka Palace, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Mam, Many thanks for your kind Review, hope to see you soon Kind Regards More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

We were blown away by the food and hospitality of Tikka Palace. Authentic, delicious food as good as any world class Indian restaurant. Thanks for the amazing meal. We absolutely loved it. We will be back Danny K

Helpful?
Thank DannyKJ23
TikkaPalace, Owner at Tikka Palace, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind Review. It was an honor to serve the World renowned Artist and South Africa's Pride. Mr Danny K. Please do visit us again. Regards More 

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

Be prepared to wait... Wait for service.... Wait for good food.... Wait to re-order because they ran out of prawns. ... Wait for them to find your veg biryani because they brought the chicken instead.. Wait for the bill....because someone is busy writing it ...using a pen !.. Wait for the taste ....... Still waiting

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

We dined as a family and in spite of everyone not knowing Indian food, we all ended up enjoying the food which is obviously prepared with personal attention. My prawn curry was excellent and good value. Overall a good experience.

Helpful?
Thank JohnVSA
TikkaPalace, Owner at Tikka Palace, responded to this review

Thank you Sir for your kind Review, hope to see you again. Regards More 

Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

My husband and I have been to this restaurant twice before, and was so pleasantly surprised by the good food that we wanted to take our family there. Although I have to say the first time we went there, we couldn't see a halaal certificate. So I asked the owner whether the restaurant was halaal and then already, the response... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank NO2017
TikkaPalace, Owner at Tikka Palace, responded to this review

Shame on you that just over a Fish dish you and your Idiot Family made such a Scene in our Restaurant, Luckily we have in house Cameras and everything was recorded, let me remind you it will cost you dearly. Shame on you for Eating Haram food at Haram eateries. With what face you call yourself.......M.....? I rest your and... More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2017

Quality food. Authentic cuisine. Some of the terms that come to mind when describing Tikka Palace, Hermanus. A family run restuarant that offers a warm and personal welcome. The food was great!!! Aloo paratha to start with butter chicken and garlic naan as a main. It's definetly a place to eat. We so often choose the 'popular' franchise and never... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ridhwaan H
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2017

Waited almost an hour for our food, after which the very rude owner comes to our table to inform us that the food is on it's way, but there is one problem - they are out of fish, so 2 of us out of the party of 8, would have to choose a different meal. When asked why we weren't... More 

Helpful?
Thank MFO_CT
TikkaPalace, Owner at Tikka Palace, responded to this review

Thank you for your Bias Review. I am glad that I can give my side of story in response to your review. Firstly we were very very busy due to holiday season and most of our suppliers ran out of stock due to high demand. we had a big staff problem as most of our permanent Staff did not come... More 

Travellers who viewed Tikka Palace also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Tikka Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$5 - US$10
Cuisine
Indian, Pakistani, Vegetarian Friendly, Halal
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Good for
Groups, Kids, View, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Village Square Water Front Piaza | Hermanus, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Overberg District  >  Hermanus
  • Phone Number: +27 28 312 2239
Description
The Tikka Palace Restaurant in the Village Centre Hermanus offers exquisite traditional Indian & Pakistani cuisine by candle light. All at a reasonable rate! During whale season guests are also amazed by the performance of the whales in the ocean opposite Village Centre.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Tikka Palace and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Cape Town
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Tikka Palace staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?