We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Marine Drive | Shop 49, Village Square, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
+27 28 312 1313
Website
Today
12:00 - 22:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

370 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 301: English reviews
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

And the worst waiter and staff award goes to .... The worst meal we had while visiting South Africa. We arrived in restaurant at 7.30pm, where upon the waiter kept trying to get us to order off the specials board as it would benefit him. Two of us ordered the same meal, one had the hake as per menu description... More 

Helpful?
Thank digger42
Ocean Basket H, Owner at Ocean Basket, responded to this review

I do apologize for your unhappy visit with us. Thank you for your feedback we do value your review. We did the needed investigation and the waiter was in the wrong. The needed steps were taken so that such an episode will not happen again. Once again we do apologize for the waiters incompetence More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The good offering is decent. The restaurant is clean and the staff are friendly. Our waiter was very slow and I had to wait for several minutes to catch her eye in a restaurant that isn't that full. The meal itself was good and I will go back again. The view of the ocean is a big plus.

Helpful?
Thank 863bradfordl
Ocean Basket H, Owner at Ocean Basket, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review will get the waiters to step up the service. Much appreciated for your input so that we can improve the service More 

Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been in this restaurant the second time, the food was this time not so good. The good thing about this restaurant, you can eat fish for small money.

Helpful?
Thank markus515
Ocean Basket H, Owner at Ocean Basket, responded to this review

sorry about the second time round we will look into the matter at least the price was to your liking More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had such a disappointing visit here after having always had great experiences in Ocean Basket. Firstly the service was not great, the ladies at the counter were more interested in talking to each other than helping customers which meant we had to ask 3 times for the bill. The food was not a patch on what it normally is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Morgan R
Ocean Basket H, Owner at Ocean Basket, responded to this review

Thank you for the review we will take note and improve the service and standard of our fair. We appreciate your input and will make work to improve More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Too many calories, unhealthy and tasteless food. A pity for this beaufull spot. Plus is the price, maybe because of this?

Helpful?
Thank Irene A
Ocean Basket H, Owner at Ocean Basket, responded to this review

Sorry that you did not like your choice. Grilled, no starch, salad and bottled water cannot be to unhealthy or to much calories.Try it next time will be tasty. More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I'm Italian and I've been here with my family and friends and we were quite sotiesfied. The place was nice and staff was too. But it took ages for our oders to arrive and they arrived at differnt times so that while some of us were eating salads some were served of their main courses and so and so. Some... More 

Helpful?
Thank Francesca M
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Seafood with a view you cannot ask for better. The calamari heads are my favorite ... I have tried a number of their dishes but my favorite favorite is the calamari heads

Helpful?
Thank kleintjievandyk
Ocean Basket H, Owner at Ocean Basket, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words we love customers like you More 

Strathroy, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

This place does fish and not much else. Nothing complicated. The staff is friendly but not as attentive as I would like.

Helpful?
Thank Chris D
Ocean Basket H, Owner at Ocean Basket, responded to this review

Thank you for your advise we will get the service to be more attentive More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2016

went to this ocean basket last week. serves good quality fish. service is very good and view of sea is excellent. will return

Helpful?
Thank kmoonsamy
Ocean Basket H, Owner at Ocean Basket, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review you make us proud of what we do More 

Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2016

The food is very good including the local line fish. Service is good, quick and the waitrons are friendly and helpful.

Helpful?
Thank Steve L
Ocean Basket H, Owner at Ocean Basket, responded to this review

thank you we do appreciate your review and like to have customers like you More 

Travellers who viewed Ocean Basket also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Ocean Basket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$4 - US$15
Cuisine
Seafood, Sushi, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View, Kids, Groups, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Marine Drive | Shop 49, Village Square, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Overberg District  >  Hermanus
  • Phone Number: +27 28 312 1313
Description
We are FAMOUS for our FISH, FANTASTIC SERVICE and FRIENDLY PLACE. . Come enjoy Mediterranean platters, seafood, prawns, vegetarian stir-fries, great salads and many more! From your table you have a magnificent view over the ocean and the Walker Bay, watch the whales frolic in the ocean, from our restaurant. We are upstairs, 2 levels of expansive views.Our meals are very well priced, offering the Best Value and we have a great selection of local wines. Don't miss out on a fabulous experience, visit the Ocean Basket today!

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Ocean Basket and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Ocean Basket staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?