We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ocean Basket

Marine Drive | Shop 49, Village Square, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
+27 28 312 1313
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent30%
  • Very good40%
  • Average18%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“seafood” (67 reviews)
“prawns” (41 reviews)
“kingklip” (16 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 PM - 10:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Sushi, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Marine Drive | Shop 49, Village Square, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were so disappointed with our experience that evening. Granted it was a busy time of year (2nd Jan) but the restaurant was not full and the manager (I think?) was sitting behind the counter with his head buried in the computer the whole time...More

Thank JennyandMarc2016
Ocean Basket H, Owner at Ocean Basket, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Sorry about the not so good service you recieved. As you admitted the 2nd of Jan is rather very busy. We will look into the matter and rectify the problem. Thank you for bringing to our attention.

Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited Ocean basket in Hermanus on 26 December 2017 for lunch. The restaurant was fairly busy as per usual. Our waiter unfortunately was not the greatest. He came to take our order and once we were done telling him what to order, we asked...More

Thank Liezl K
Ocean Basket H, Owner at Ocean Basket, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for bringing it to our attention. We will deal with the issues and rectify the matter. We will make your next visit the way it should be. Many thanks for you positive input

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Im not a huge Ocean Basket but the Hermanus branch is on another level. Top place. Our waitress was well knowledgeable, friendly, quick. Eventhough she warned us that our food might take long, it came relatively faster than we thought it would. The view is...More

Thank LiezlW74
Ocean Basket H, Owner at Ocean Basket, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We thank you for your kind review. You make us proud of what we do.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Part of a chain but always reliable. Tasty plates of seafood with no-nonsense presentation. Good value.

Thank Ashsaw
Ocean Basket H, Owner at Ocean Basket, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Many tanx we love your review

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The area maketh the meal - not sure why everything tastes better at the beach. Well run and good service

Thank Eloize M
Ocean Basket H, Owner at Ocean Basket, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for you r kind review, we love to have customers like you

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We eat here regularly, but on Sunday 31 December 2017 the food (or the chef?) was not up to standard. The fish was dry and the portion about half the normal, the calamari was the equivalent of a rubber tyre and the prawns were small...More

Thank Johann K
Ocean Basket H, Owner at Ocean Basket, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Sorry for your not so happy visit to us. We will do better next time

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we choice this restaurant for the view over the bay and the whales ! But I have to tell you the service was perfect and the fish really tasty ! I recommend this place if you be there.

Thank JEROFOR
Ocean Basket H, Owner at Ocean Basket, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Many thanks for your kind review. Customers like you make us proud of what we do

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a restaurant with a great location and average food. The service is absolutely terrible. Fist, if you phone to make a booking, they will gladly do it, when you arrive, there is no booking and when you ask they don't take bookings. Oh...More

Thank suzanne842014
Ocean Basket H, Owner at Ocean Basket, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We apologize for your not so happy visit. We DO NOT TAKE BOOKINGS. Yes we open at 12.00 and our staff also need to eat. Pity that your wait outside had put you in a bad mood.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Usually if you go to a Franchise you expect the same quality meal. Ocean basket is usually a good meal at a good price. Had the seafood platter for one. The hake and prawns were average and the calamari very rubbery as it was over...More

Thank DurbanHappyWanderer
Ocean Basket H, Owner at Ocean Basket, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Sorry your meal was not what you expected, we will do better next time

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were a group op six (me, my wife, our 2 children and 2 grandchildren). Two orderderd fried fish, two ordered grilled fish, and two ordered calamari and chips. The calamari was OK, the grilled fish mediocre, but the fried fish tasteless and quite inedible....More

Thank Christo001
Ocean Basket H, Owner at Ocean Basket, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We apologize for the unpleasant visit, we will look into the matter and rectify the fish issue.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 11 hotels in Hermanus
Quarters Hermanus
238 reviews
.17 km away
Harbour House Hotel
999 reviews
.20 km away
The Marine Hermanus
755 reviews
.22 km away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
730 reviews
.30 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Betty Blue Bistro
415 reviews
.09 km away
Pear Tree
985 reviews
.04 km away
Fisherman's Cottage
1,024 reviews
.14 km away
Fusion Restaurant
794 reviews
.05 km away
Nearby Attractions
Hoy's Koppie
103 reviews
.67 km away
Lembu Gallery & Studio
62 reviews
.20 km away
Cape Whale Coast
36 reviews
.43 km away
The Whale House Museum
133 reviews
.11 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
John K
7 August 2016|
Answer
Response from Ocean Basket H | Property representative |
Must be mistaken
-1
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$4 - US$15
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, View, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Marine Drive | Shop 49, Village Square, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Overberg District  >  Hermanus
  • Phone Number: +27 28 312 1313
  • E-mail
Description
We are FAMOUS for our FISH, FANTASTIC SERVICE and FRIENDLY PLACE. . Come enjoy Mediterranean platters, seafood, prawns, vegetarian stir-fries, great salads and many more! From your table you have a magnificent view over the ocean and the Walker Bay, watch the whales frolic in the ocean, from our restaurant. We are upstairs, 2 levels of expansive views.Our meals are very well priced, offering the Best Value and we have a great selection of local wines. Don't miss out on a fabulous experience, visit the Ocean Basket today!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing