We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
10th Avenue Grotto Beach | Voelklip, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
+27 28 314 1392
Website
Today
09:00 - 21:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 09:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

648 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 524: English reviews
surrey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was always a nice spot on Grotto Beach for a leisurely lunch but this year things were different. As we approached the cafe all we could hear was music blaring from loudspeakers on the opposite side of the road. This turned out to be a bar selling sushi from a caravan. It later transpired that it was part of... More 

Helpful?
Thank BsurreyUK
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

On our recent visit to Hermanus we went to Dutchie's three times in three days; for an evening meal , for lunch and for a drink. It was just right on every occasion. In fact the lunch ( Thai beef salad) was amazing. This place is a gold mine, very popular , and rightly so. If you're planning on eating... More 

Helpful?
Thank Glyn B
Chantal J, Public Relations Manager at Dutchies, responded to this review

Dear Glyn, Thank you very much for your lovely positive review, we appreciate your support and we hope that we will see you again in the future! More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
135 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We came here twice, once for lunch after a long hike in Fernkloof, and another time for sundowners on the beach. Grotto Beach is a gorgeous place, so the surroundings were quite nice. But we also were seated quickly, had a wonderful host and waiter. The host checked back twice during our lunch to ask if we were enjoying ourselves.... More 

Helpful?
Thank sypremeks
Chantal J, Public Relations Manager at Dutchies, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review! We are very glad your time with us was positive ! We appreciate the recommendation! Hope to see you soon again! More 

Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been to this place and sat outside for sushi and drinks many times, but last night was our first time having dinner here. The restaurant has a nice atmosphere, and food is ok, not great but not bad. The only bad thing I could say about the meal is that the french fries were dry and the fish... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter Takis M
Chantal J, Public Relations Manager at Dutchies, responded to this review

Dear Peter Takis Marakis, We apologise that your time with us was not positive. We could only have wished you would have brought this to the manager's attention while you were dining with us. As he clearly remembers coming to see if you were satisfied on two occasions and you did not mention any dissatisfaction. Our policy is to always... More 

North Carolina
Level Contributor
141 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great location right on the beach and obviously popular with the locals which is always a good sign. Great sea food. The menu is a bit limited but it doesn't matter as the food is good and excellent value. Staff very friendly.

Helpful?
Thank BallaghMan
Chantal J, Public Relations Manager at Dutchies, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review! We appreciate you taking the time and we hope to see you soon again! More 

Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Every evening at 6pm for its apperitif and sitting with your feet in that fine sand and watching the sun sets.

Helpful?
Thank Beautifull312
Chantal J, Public Relations Manager at Dutchies, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and rating! We hope to see you soon again! More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Dutchies font have a proper chef and the food was again not good fresh quality fair. Terrible oil smell in the air we waited long for menus and the tables not clean. Not good.

Helpful?
Thank Anali T
Chantal J, Public Relations Manager at Dutchies, responded to this review

AnaliT, Once again you have taken to Tripadvisor to try and hurt our business with inaccurate information and every review you say the same thing. This is the third time. Would you mind the next time that you come please reveal who you are so that we can have a conversation as to what is is making you so unhappy.... More 

cape town
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Amazing location on the beach however food offering was a bit limited. We all ordered fish and calamari which was a bit oily, would have been nice to see some other options. Ordered a starter which didn't arrive only after mains ... again service fairly good ( apart from missing starter ) and location unbeatable. Sushi bar across the road... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jonathanbmuir
Chantal J, Public Relations Manager at Dutchies, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time in giving us feedback Jonathan. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Living local, Dutchies is a great place to relax and meet up with friends for a snack or a meal. Lovely to visit for breakfast after an early morning walk on the fantastic Grotto Beach. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Also the menu is varied with daily specials all of which I find are value for money. Love... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris B
Chantal J, Public Relations Manager at Dutchies, responded to this review

Dear Chris, Thank you once again for taking the time to review us! We appreciate all the support and feedback. Hope to see you soon! More 

Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
314 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited as a family, whilst the children played on the beach we sat and had drinks in the setting sun. A lovely location right on the beach. Perfect. Staff really friendly and attentive. We only did drinks but several people around us had the sushi plates.

Helpful?
Thank GoLiveYoung
Chantal J, Public Relations Manager at Dutchies, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and rating! We sincerely appreciate it! More 

Travellers who viewed Dutchies also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Dutchies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$4 - US$26
Cuisine
Bar, Seafood, European, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, View, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 21:00
Monday
09:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 21:00
Thursday
09:00 - 21:00
Friday
09:00 - 21:00
Saturday
09:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 10th Avenue Grotto Beach | Voelklip, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Overberg District  >  Hermanus
  • Phone Number: +27 28 314 1392
Description
Stukje Nederland aan een zonovergoten strand. In de maanden oktober en november liggen de walvissen te paren of te baren in de baai. Huisgemaakte Kroketten, bitterballen en garnalen kroketten zijn hier de Hollandse specialiteit. Ontbijt , lunch en diner met uitzicht op het prachtige strand, de zee in een natuurreservaat.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Dutchies staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?