We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mugg and Bean

Shop 15-17, West End Mall | Main Street, Knysna, South Africa
+27 44 382 7104
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent14%
  • Very good22%
  • Average31%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible22%
16 Feb 2017
“M&B used to be one of my favorites.”
3 Jan 2017
“Avoid during the season”
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Cafe
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Shop 15-17, West End Mall | Main Street, Knysna, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2017

I used to really enjoy going to M&B. I started going in 2004 when I was in Nelspruit for an extended period of time. The value was excellent for the type of food they made. I feel they continue to make good healthy food, but...More

Thank Jon B
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

Popped in for breakfast for 2 as not too busy with about 6 empty tables. Staff friendly and coffee arrived reasonably quickly before a lengthy wait - after numerous enquires and no breakfast in sight after 45 mins in a half filled place we left...More

Thank Maldoug
Curtis P, Manager at Mugg and Bean, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2017

I am sorry that you had a bad experience and, contrary to what you may think, management were extremely concerned about the bad service on that particular day. So much so that we decided to close the shop at 11am, to prevent further problems. Unfortunately,...More

Reviewed 12 August 2016

As always Mugg & Bean delivers with superb coffee an excellent choice of food & muffins that cannot be resisted in a variety of flavours. All I can say is get this coffee chain to the UK quickly and I will run a one as...More

1  Thank united01
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Absolutely TERRIBLE!!! This is a CLASSIC and recipe has been BADLY misinterpreted. If you cannot do it true to the REAL Croque, rather exclude it from 5he menu. It's ham not bacon. It's a real cheese/mustard sauce. Not microwaved processed cheese which ended up a...More

Thank Maureen N
Mugg B, Owner at Mugg and Bean, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2016

I must admit that I am a bit surprised that Maureen ordered Mugg & Bean's Croque Madame if she is suck a stickler for tradition and CLASSIC dishes. It states very clearly on the menu what is in it : 'Back bacon, tomato and rocket...More

Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

Had a muffin and croissant with cheese and jam. The coffee was what made our visit special as they were beautifully decorated. I ordered the double shot, but I think that just means a bigger cup of weak coffee. Waitress was friendly.

Thank June v
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

We went here on out guides recommendation and were disappointed. We had brunch and other than the skillet the food was average. Service was attentive. Prices are a bit on the higher side as compared to South Africa.

1  Thank Sompan
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

Mugg and Bean @ Knysna Mall has the most delicious coconut, carrot, ginger soup. Taste: just what i needed, warm hearty even better than moms soup. Thank you Mugg & Bean.

1  Thank MargieRichterWilmot
Reviewed 1 July 2016

Friendly staff made up for a generous but disappointing cheese cake, which was not helped by the over-sweet blueberry jam topping. Could not finish it :(More

1  Thank wwkudu
Mugg B, Owner at Mugg and Bean, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2016

Its good to hear that our staff were friendly - thank you, I will pass it on. As far as the cheese cake is concerned, the reason that we don't automatically add the topping (as some branches do) and leave it up to the customer...More

A TripAdvisor Member
82
Reviewed 3 June 2016 via mobile

If you are hungry then the Mugg and Bean is the place for you. Generous sized servings including vegetarian options. The cappuccino is one of the best I have tasted with the quality being the same on each visit. (Thank the barrister). Andrewe and Debbie...More

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 22 April 2016 via mobile

I love the Mugg and Bean and would die for the Lemon Meringue. The waitress informed me that I had the last slice. Although tasty it was not up to the usual standard and smaller than expected- it should not have been served. Rest of...More

1  Thank Dave1408
Mugg B, Owner at Mugg and Bean, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2016

Hi Dave. I am sorry that you had a bad experience at our establishment and really wish that you had asked to speak to a manager as this would have been sorted out immediately. I personally noticed yesterday with the Lemon Meringue that after cutting...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Butterfly Blu Restaurant
302 reviews
4.84 km away
Riverdeck Restaurant
24 reviews
6.20 km away
Pembreys
403 reviews
5.76 km away
Kilzer's Kitchen
147 reviews
7.66 km away
Nearby Attractions
Brenton on Sea
425 reviews
4.84 km away
Buffalo Bay
398 reviews
.47 km away
Margaret's Viewpoint
83 reviews
4.01 km away
Goukamma Nature Reserve
71 reviews
5.59 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Mugg and Bean staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Highchairs Available
Good for
Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Shop 15-17, West End Mall | Main Street, Knysna, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Knysna
  • Phone Number: +27 44 382 7104
  • E-mail
Description
Situated Central. Convenient for afternoon lunch or Business meetings.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing