We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Noordhoek Farm Village, Village Lane | Noordhoek Village Farm, Noordhoek 7979, South Africa
+27 21 789 1390
Website
Today
12:00 - 15:00
18:30 - 21:30
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 15:00
Tue - Sat 18:30 - 21:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

753 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 678: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2015 via mobile

My friends and I discovered The Food Barn on my 25th birthday while taking a drive around Chapman's Peak. Walking in we thought it a bit pricey and decided to have only starters but after tasting the starters we were hooked and ended up having the full 3-course lunch with accompanying wines. I compare every meal I've had since to... More 

Helpful?
Thank VanessaAnnSmith
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2015 via mobile

Absolutely LOVE spending evenings trying all the Tappas, all carefully prepared and beautifully presented. Definitely recommending for anyone after a culinary treat!

Helpful?
Thank Kerry816
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
751 reviews
406 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 762 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2015

We were in this area only three days and the restaurant was serving dinner only on Saturday. So, we made a reservation that night because we did not want to have a three or four course meal with wine during lunch. We were sure glad we did. We arrived at 8.p.m. and the place was packed. The ambiance of the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SunnyW358
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2015 via mobile

Booked it because of good looks of the menu and good reviews here. Unfortunately experience was bit different. First: everyone on the table should choose either a La cart or set menu. We were 10 people and no way to have 8 sets and 2 a La carte. Why remains a mystery. My guess set menu portions are bigger than... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Alex B
Pete_de_Bruin, Owner at The Foodbarn Restaurant, responded to this review

Firstly; it is an accepted practice for restaurants to insist that the entire table experiences a tasting menu. You are right though that the portion sizes are smaller but I suspect you don't understand why. One of the reasons for a tasting menu is it offers guests an opportunity to have a smaller portion of many dishes; thereby trying more... More 

Lausanne
Level Contributor
178 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2015 via mobile

We visited as a family last Saturday lunchtime. We hadn't made a reservation but there were some free tables so we were immediately seated. My wife and I opted for the three course bistro meal accompanied by wine. I enjoyed chicken liver pate followed by line fish of the day (yellowtail) which was excellently presented. We finished off the meal... More 

Helpful?
Thank Whirob
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
225 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2015

Three of us went to The Foodbarn for Sunday lunch. I wasn't expecting much with the name but what a pleasant surprise! Excellent menu, good wines and service that was perfect. This is on my personal list of Capetown's top restaurants! I haven't been to every one but I will be back to this one!!

Helpful?
Thank TKrieg
Cape Town
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2015

We thought that no reservation was required for a mid-week lunch in a quiet village but were lucky to get the last empty table. Two starters of ravioli and camembert cheese followed by rack of lamb and sea bass. How we managed to find space for the stunning deserts we don't know. All the food was superbly presented and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank OldButNew
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2015

The Tapas meal was very well presented and everyone of the dishes were excellent. There were dishes for Vegans and Vegetarians as well, which made the visit even easier. Very good quality food , great flavours, and service excellent.

Helpful?
Thank lyn v
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
104 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2015

Excellent! Service was friendly and efficient and the food was top class. We really enjoyed the Karoo Lamb as well as the well paired wines. Overall and exceptional experience.

Helpful?
Thank Pezza1507
Hampton Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2015 via mobile

We were taken here by a guide on a tour to Cape Point and the food was absolutely delicious with amazing local produce. They also have 50% off food in the week which made it incredible value for money!

Helpful?
Thank XikiBen

Travellers who viewed The Foodbarn Restaurant also viewed

Constantia, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Constantia, Cape Town
 

Been to The Foodbarn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$100
Cuisine
French, European, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 15:00
Monday
12:00 - 15:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:30 - 21:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:30 - 21:30
Thursday
12:00 - 15:00
18:30 - 21:30
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
18:30 - 21:30
Saturday
12:00 - 15:00
18:30 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Noordhoek Farm Village, Village Lane | Noordhoek Village Farm, Noordhoek 7979, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Noordhoek
  • Phone Number: +27 21 789 1390

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Foodbarn Restaurant and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Cape Town Central, South Africa
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Foodbarn Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?