We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Jordan Restaurant

Stellenbosch Kloof Road | Jordan Wine Estate, Stellenbosch 7604, South Africa
+27 21 881 3612
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent71%
  • Very good19%
  • Average7%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“mussels” (56 reviews)
“souffle” (35 reviews)
“bread” (39 reviews)
Closed Now
International, Delicatessen, Grill, Diner, Wine Bar, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Stellenbosch Kloof Road | Jordan Wine Estate, Stellenbosch 7604, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,060)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

171 - 180 of 842 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

Amazing restuarant with fantastic service. The meal the family had was out of this world. Great menu choices. The setting is really nice and not many better ways to spend an afternoon.

Thank Michael M
Reviewed 21 December 2016

Beautiful setting with delicious food and spectacular views, everything that you want when lunching in the Winelands. The starter and main course were so good, sadly there was no room for dessert. Will have to go back. The lady who served us was excellent and...More

Thank Bld211
Reviewed 21 December 2016

We ate breakfast 3 times at The Bakery, as we were staying at the Jordan Suites (highly recommended). The setting is beautiful, the view spectacular. The first 2 days, our breakfast was excellent and we enjoyed scrambled eggs and smoked trout and the health breakfast,...More

Thank Bld211
Thea v, Manager at The Jordan Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2017

Thank you for your review of the Jordan Bakery and for bring to our attention the bad service you experience on your last day at the estate. We take all reviews seriously and to heart. I have spoken to the team regarding complaint to ensure...More

Reviewed 20 December 2016

The menu is very limited. Stick to cold meats and/or cheese or something which doesn't require cooking as these would be difficlut to ruin. I opted for 'linefish' which was hake - I beg your pardon, that's not 'linefish'. It was priced as linefish though...More

Thank Fastidi0us
Thea v, Manager at The Jordan Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

Thank you for the review, and for taking the time to contact us directly regarding your meal at the Bakery. Thank you for bringing to our attention your unfortunate experience. This is no way represents what Jordan stands for or what we offer to our...More

Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

This was a family visit with two teenage and two younger children, so we were not in the main restaurant but the terrace on the lower level. The food was delicious - we had hake, beef burgers (enormous and perfectly cooked) and chicken salad. The...More

Thank calvin40
Reviewed 18 December 2016

Jordan is a top-rated restaurant, and so many times, so many people have been deceived by the hype attached with that tag... But not Jordan. It's setting is stunning. Sitting on the veranda outside is lovely (weather permitting). The appetizers of bread and dips is...More

Thank trevori77
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

We requested an outside table and when we arrived we were not disappointed. A big table was set under the large willow tree with the mountains and the pond as the picturesque backdrop. Our waiter Jasper was excellent, explaining the menu and the choices succinctly....More

Thank MichMJohannesubrg
Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

Hard to beat this restaurant. The service was great, the food was tops and the venue was perfect with a great view over a valley with wine fields. Pricing was a bit expensive however it was worth it.

Thank tsolano
Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

We went there for lunch recently and just loved to food, staff and beautiful view. It is really lovely out there👍🏻

Thank samanthacK4156WO
Thea v, Manager at The Jordan Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2016

Thank you so much for the review. We are so pleased you had a wonderful experience at The Bakery at Jordan. We look forward to seeing you back at Jordan soon. Regards The Team at Jordan Wine Estate

Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

Fine dining in a casual atmosphere - at least during the day. The food was creatively prepared and served. We had a 27-hr roasted lamb which just melted in your mouth and herb crusted beef. Both were excellent.

Thank STH2014
Nearby HotelsSee all 17 hotels in Stellenbosch
Spier Hotel
2,092 reviews
4.93 km away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
963 reviews
5.88 km away
Devon Valley Hotel
716 reviews
7.83 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch
382 reviews
8.50 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Zevenwacht Country Restaurant
112 reviews
2.20 km away
Panarottis Zevenwacht
6 reviews
4.36 km away
The Guinea Fowl
10 reviews
3.80 km away
Mugg and Bean
9 reviews
4.68 km away
Nearby Attractions
Zevenwacht Cellar & Vineyards
47 reviews
2.26 km away
Saxenburg Wine Estate
35 reviews
4.36 km away
Jordan Wine Estate
256 reviews
.01 km away
Eagle Encounters South Africa
438 reviews
4.82 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
10 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from vincentBel53 | Reviewed this property |
On the terras, all have quite good view
Alex P
6 December 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Christine L | Reviewed this property |
No this is not really child friendly at all - the main restaurant is really 'fine dining' so nothing on the menu for youngsters. It has to be booked weeks in advance and as one of the award winning restaurant in SA it is... More
Lynne R
3 March 2015|
Response from Steve D | Reviewed this property |
Hi, I am sure they are open for dinner on Friday but have no idea how busy they are. I suggest you give them a call.
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
9:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
9:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
9:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
9:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
9:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
9:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
9:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Stellenbosch Kloof Road | Jordan Wine Estate, Stellenbosch 7604, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Stellenbosch
  • Phone Number: +27 21 881 3612
  • E-mail
George Jardine from his Cape Town buisness has opened a new restraunt
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing