We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Morgenhof Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
R44, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
+27 21 889 2024
Website
Today
09:00 - 15:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 09:00 - 15:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

53 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 49: English reviews
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2017

We have been to the restaurant previously and stopped off for a lunch in their grounds and thoroughly enjoyable it was too. Friendly but informal staff and a good choice of food made for a pleasant lunch accompanied by a couple of glasses of their excellent Sauvignon Blanc wine......we bought back some bottles with us too! Two mains, two glasses... More 

Helpful?
Thank woodieslocksheath
Wine T, Manager at Morgenhof Restaurant, responded to this review

We are so very happy you had a wonderful time! Looking forward to having you back soon! Kind regards, Tayla Tasting Room Manager, Morgenhof Estate More 

Paarl, South Africa
Level Contributor
454 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2017

We chose the restaurant due to its convenient location just outside Stellenbosch. My vegetarian main meal with humus and tikka was absolutely outstanding and the fish of the day (kabeljou) was also very good. R13 for a glass of good Sauvignon Blanc - excellent value for money. The one guest forgot his laptop bag on the chair and they phoned... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emarie B
AnitaStreicherNel, Public Relations Manager at Morgenhof Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Emarie, Thanks for taking the time to write us a lovely review! We really appreciate it and we also agree that our offerings are both delicious and value for money! Regards, Anita More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2017

A pleasant and relaxed lunch,The cheese platter was devine The surroundings are very beautiful as is the stellenboch and Paarl area The Sauvignon Blanc was well priced and a beautiful bouquet Well recommend a stop here

Helpful?
Thank multiplace
AnitaStreicherNel, Public Relations Manager at Morgenhof Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - we also think our cheese platter is divine! ;-) Regards, Anita More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2016

We came in for lunch after an incredible day of horseback riding through wine country with Capetown Horse Riding. We dined on the patio among the peacocks and loved the dramatic backdrop: a view of this gorgeous wine estate. It does not get any better than this! We both had the filet and we shared a big ol' bottle of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jessica A
AnitaStreicherNel, Public Relations Manager at Morgenhof Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words and lovely review! We hope to welcome you back soon! More 

Heidelberg South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016

My son and I had a superb Sunday lunch at Morgenhof. It was a typical winter's day in Stellenbosch...rainy and cold, but we had a crackling fire and very good service, not to mention the generous portions (drinks and food), to cheer us up. The best port (fortified wine) that I have ever had... Portions are so generous, therefore we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Annelie G
AnitaStreicherNel, Public Relations Manager at Morgenhof Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review and yes our fortified wine is the best! More 

Cape Town
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2016

Morgenhof is a very pretty wine farm with an amazing underground barrel cellar. The wines are generally very good with the Cabernet Franc being particularly good. The wine tasting server was very knowledgeable on his subject. The lunch service was quite slow and the food was decent without being anything special. Overall a pleasant place to visit.

Helpful?
Thank atomic_mass
AnitaStreicherNel, Public Relations Manager at Morgenhof Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback - we appreciate it! More 

Kuils River, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2016

We had a great experience while also buying wine, the service is great and the food is excellent, will go back there anytime!!!

Helpful?
Thank 629johant
AnitaStreicherNel, Public Relations Manager at Morgenhof Restaurant, responded to this review

Hallo there! We would like to thank you for your review of our Estate recently! We hope to welcome you back soon again! ;-) More 

Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2016

lovely, nice people, nice views and nice food. We have been before and would certainly go again next time we are in Africa

Helpful?
Thank Deborah_L123
AnitaStreicherNel, Public Relations Manager at Morgenhof Restaurant, responded to this review

We are very pleased you enjoyed your experience with us and hope to welcome you back again soon! ;-) More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2016

Mothersday lunch Good antipasta starter pity about store bought bread. Disappointing not having all Morgenhof white wines available. Lamb cuttlets more fat then meat. Kudu Fillet dry with bland du. with springbok wontons dry and after being deepfried too long, Very average for high price meal with warm wine with ice added to chill

Helpful?
1 Thank jacqueso
AnitaStreicherNel, Public Relations Manager at Morgenhof Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Jacques, Sorry that you had a bad experience at Morgenhof yesterday. Very much to our disbelief we were faced with an unexpected power failure which lasted for several hours and resulted in many problems on the day, i.e not being able to bake fresh breads and serving warm wine. I assure you that this is not the norm and... More 

Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
76 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

Spoiled ourselves to a delightfully, romantic breakfast for our wedding anniversary. We were the only guests and received a beautiful glass of bubbly to celebrate our 24 years together. They set a table for us outside in the little courtyard with peacocks watching over us. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was divine! Perfectly poached eggs and... More 

Helpful?
Thank LizelDV
AnitaStreicherNel, Public Relations Manager at Morgenhof Restaurant, responded to this review

Lizel, Thanks for the kind words! We are very pleased that you had a great experience celebrating your wedding anniversary! Please call again soon for your "wintry lunch" - our winter menu is about to be launched in the next few weeks! ;-) Regards, Anita More 

Travellers who viewed Morgenhof Restaurant also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Morgenhof Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
African
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 15:30
Monday
09:00 - 15:30
Tuesday
09:00 - 15:30
Wednesday
09:00 - 15:30
Thursday
09:00 - 15:30
Friday
09:00 - 15:30
Saturday
09:00 - 15:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: R44, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Stellenbosch
  • Phone Number: +27 21 889 2024
Description
Morgenhof Restaurant is situated on the picturesque Morgenhof Estate - a few kilometres outside Stellenbosch on the R44 towards Klapmuts and Paarl. The Restaurant serves lovely light lunches and offers good value for money.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Morgenhof Restaurant and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Morgenhof Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?